Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 16:29
alex818 alex818 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
NavBar, Adding/Changing Main Links?

How do we modify the navigation links? "Home, Blog, Forums, What's New"

Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Templates -> Navigation/Breadcrumb Templates -> navbar


Where in the code should I add more links?

Ex. Gallery, Store, Events

Thank you,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 16:40
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
There are a few mods and a couple of articles on adding tabs to the navbar. They are all slightly different but I'm sure one of them is what you want, just try a search.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 16:51
alex818 alex818 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
There are a few mods and a couple of articles on adding tabs to the navbar. They are all slightly different but I'm sure one of them is what you want, just try a search.
I am learning the terms so I can search correctly

Search .org or com?
"navbar tab" title search?

If you have any recommended links then please let me know.

Thank you!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 17:59
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
vB4 articles are here - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=242 You can easily spot a couple about the tabs in there.

Do a search on "tab*" or "navbar" in "4.0 Mods" "titles only" to find a bunch of mods regarding the navtab.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 20:35
alex818 alex818 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
thank you,



I found 2, is there anyway to add links without a plug-in?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228313


Can you just code the navbar template?
I think correct term is that I want to "add another link to a submenu"

I am used to just dropping in HTML so this is new to me.

thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 21:47
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
If you just want to add to the submenu, then use this article - [HOW TO - vB4] How add sub-menu drop down to the navbar (tab Forum) It shows how to do it via a plugin or template mod. If you do it via plugin, then you don't need to worry about updating your navbar template every time you do an upgrade.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16 Jan 2010, 22:38
alex818 alex818 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
very sorry, I need to add a menu, NOT a sub-menu.

Can this be hard coded in the navbar?

--------------- Added 16 Jan 2010 at 23:50 ---------------

I go this to work

I was checking the INDEX.php file, not the FORUM.php file.
not sure why the changes did not apply there

Last edited by alex818; 16 Jan 2010 at 23:50. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 00:22
fanyap fanyap is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
They made it WAY too difficult to add links to the navbar. Whoever coded the navbar template / header structure did not do it the most efficient / flexible way. It's very poorly done.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 00:27
alex818 alex818 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I go this to work for FORUM.php, not INDEX.php without a plugin, I dont even know how to use plug-ins. I know HTML and come CSS but this is still pretty annoying

Last edited by alex818; 17 Jan 2010 at 00:35.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding links into the navbar ultimatearco vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 7 25 Nov 2008 18:10



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: