Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Datastore cache to WinCache - boost your vBulletin Details »
Datastore cache to WinCache - boost your vBulletin
Mod Version: 1.02, by hydn (Member) hydn is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 14
Released: 22 Mar 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Code Changes  

Also see: Wincache for vb 4.0.2

This allows you to use WinCache as a datastore cache in vBulletin. This also assumes that you have already installed Wincache version 1.1 or later. This is definitely your choice if you have already installed and enabled WinCache on your IIS server. Use at your own risk!

(See screenshot of stats below after 30mins up-time)

Prerequisites
  • a working php installation
  • a working vBulletin 3.8.x installation
  • a working WinCache 1.1 or Better.
Install the modification
  1. Add the following code to the end of class_datastore.php just above "?>"

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2. Set your config.php to use wincache for datastore:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Done!

Check the "User and Session Cache" section of your wincache.php (screenshot) in your browser to see stats!

Special thanks to the guys at Microsoft for their help! Official IIS support at http://forums.iis.net

Enjoy!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	wincache_datastore_stats.jpg
Views:	458
Size:	199.8 KB
ID:	114533  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Board Optimization datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin phpxcache vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 243 09 Jan 2010 21:36
Cache the datastore in the filesystem Stadler vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 61 01 Feb 2006 09:11

Comments
  #2  
Old 22 Mar 2010, 03:26
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22 Mar 2010, 12:02
puertoblack2003's Avatar
puertoblack2003 puertoblack2003 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
this also works with Apache on windows
__________________
Android Custom Creations
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22 Mar 2010, 15:45
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Yes it should. I have not tested and thus don't like to tell others to install something without knowing that it works
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22 Mar 2010, 20:38
Daryn Daryn is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Got this installed and it seems to be working. I don't think I've seen vB this fast before.

Just a note though, your code for class_datastore has the closing ?> at the end of it, that would end up being a double close if you pasted it as is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23 Mar 2010, 16:06
AzzidReign's Avatar
AzzidReign AzzidReign is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
This is great! Thx.
__________________
Xbox 360 Mods
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Mar 2010, 12:12
hollyboy's Avatar
hollyboy hollyboy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
is there a similar mod for linux server?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Mar 2010, 05:16
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by hollyboy View Post
is there a similar mod for linux server?
wincache is for windows servers only.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Mar 2010, 05:21
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
LinCache would be good.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Mar 2010, 01:15
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Will this work in VB4?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Mar 2010, 01:27
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by ps2wiz View Post
Will this work in VB4?
no sorry
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 Apr 2010, 21:32
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by hydn View Post
no sorry
How about 3.7?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06 Apr 2010, 15:09
Hostboard's Avatar
Hostboard Hostboard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Steven
Why do you recommend V1.1 or higher when it is a beta release. Shouldn't 1.0 work as well since that was the last stable release?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Apr 2010, 00:31
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by Hostboard View Post
Why do you recommend V1.1 or higher when it is a beta release. Shouldn't 1.0 work as well since that was the last stable release?
Use version 1.0 and let me know how that works out for you.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Apr 2010, 03:34
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by ps2wiz View Post
How about 3.7?
Will this mod work in a 3.7 board?

Originally Posted by Hostboard View Post
Why do you recommend V1.1 or higher when it is a beta release. Shouldn't 1.0 work as well since that was the last stable release?
Windows Cache Extension 1.1 for PHP is an incremental release that includes all the features from version 1.0 and adds support for user and session cache. The extension provides API's that can be used by PHP applications to store variables in shared memory. In addition the extension includes the PHP session handler that can be used by PHP engine to store session data in shared memory instead of file system.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:26.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: