Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
phpBB3Auth - Migrate phpBB3 user/password to VB4 Details »
phpBB3Auth - Migrate phpBB3 user/password to VB4
Mod Version: 1.00, by MoreLinux (Coder) MoreLinux is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (11 votes - 4.55 average) Installs: 29
Released: 08 Jul 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 252
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

For all the phpBB3 administrators who want to migrate their phpBB3 to VB4 and hate the idea that the users have to use the "Forgotten your password?" method to logon to the new VB4 board.

The idea heavily borrowed from the ipbAuth mod created by viarun.

The solution I implemented is that I first hash the password the phpBB3 way and check the hashed password against the entry in phpbb3.users table. When the hashes are the same I use the normal VB4 method to store the password in the VB4 database.

Because I don't like to destroy the original phpBB3.users table I added an extra field "PWD_Synced" to the table and use that field to remember that a password was already synced.

We are running this mod on our brand new VB4 forum http://www.astroforum.nl and it work perfect. 330+ phpBB3 users already migrated their password to the new board.

Many thanks to viarun and malcolmx in his LDAP Auth Plugin. THANKS guys!

Installation instructions:
  • Add the field "PWD_Synced" in the phpBB3 table phpbb_users. You can use the following statement.
    "ALTER TABLE `phpbb_users` ADD `PWD_Synced` BOOL NOT NULL DEFAULT '0';"
  • copy phpBB3Auth directory to your vb forum installation directory
  • change the path to controller.php directory in phpBB3-plugin.xml
  • copy the hooks_phpBB3.xml to FORUM_ROOT/inclucdes/xml directory
  • in login.php do:
    search for:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    insert below:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • activate plugin system (if not done already) in admincp
  • in admin cp import the product file "phpBB3-plugin.xml" at "Download / Upload" Plugins
  • re-check if the include for controller.php is right
  • in includes/class_bootstrap.php search for:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    change:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    to:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • test the product

Important information

In my documentation I forgot too mention that it is best to install the plug-in after you migrated the data from phpBB3 to VB4. You can leave the phpBB3 database on-line and when you go live the users start to login on VB4 and automagically the password gets migrated to VB4.

Detailed installation instructions and all files needed are in the zip file.

Have fun with it,
MoreLinux

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 02 Aug 2011, 06:22
Thomasmp Thomasmp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
amazing

Last edited by Thomasmp; 03 Aug 2011 at 05:55.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 13 Sep 2011, 04:23
Mr GRiM's Avatar
Mr GRiM Mr GRiM is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I wish I knew about this mod a couple of months ago, Impex sucks and I have lots so many many members because this wasn't included
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 25 Jan 2012, 18:42
kisanjong kisanjong is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
excellant - thankyou

Originally Posted by Alright_Guys! View Post
I just picked out some lines to help me coding a password updater. Works great!
sounds interesting please explain this more
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08 Feb 2012, 16:01
VictoriaS VictoriaS is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Hi, sorry if I'm being a bit dim but I don't understand this:

'copy phpBB3Auth directory to your vb forum installation directory
change the path to controller.php directory in phpBB3-plugin.xml'

Is the phpBB3Auth directory the folder called 'auth' that sits within the includes directory on phpbb? If so do I copy across the whole of that folder to my vBulletin installation inside the 'install' folder or somewhere else?

Where then do I need to put:

phpBB3_functions.php
phpBB3config.inc.php
controller.php

I'm fine with the rest of it. Any help anyone can give would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Victoria
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 13 Feb 2012, 17:45
VictoriaS VictoriaS is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Bump!

Can anyone shed any light on this please?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 19 Feb 2012, 10:01
MoreLinux MoreLinux is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
@VictoriaS, the directory is called phpBB3Auth and it is put into the forum root directory.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 20:03
volantis volantis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I cannot get this to work. When my path to controller.php is anything other than /phpBB3Auth/controller.php it tells me cannot connect to database. When i have it set to /phpBB3Auth/controller.php it doesn't seem to work, but does let you try to login and tell you the password is incorrect.

I see others had this problem and then figured it out, but didn't post the solution in this thread.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 20:17
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Did you copy the phpBB3auth directory to your forum directory (the same one with forum.php)?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 20:19
volantis volantis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
Did you copy the phpBB3auth directory to your forum directory (the same one with forum.php)?
Yes, I did. I have the modified phpBB3-plugin.xml file in there as well.

My guess is something is up with the path to controller.php, but that's just a guess. Thanks for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 20:22
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
OK, I looked at the code a little and it looks like you need to edit the phpBB3config.inc.php file to set the database information for the db that has the old passwords (seems to be missing from the installation instructions).

I'd put the path back the way you had it when you were getting the db error - I think you had it right.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 20:36
volantis volantis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
OK, I looked at the code a little and it looks like you need to edit the phpBB3config.inc.php file to set the database information for the db that has the old passwords (seems to be missing from the installation instructions).

I'd put the path back the way you had it when you were getting the db error - I think you had it right.
That's embarrassing that I didn't even think about where the data would be coming from. I may have it connecting to the DB...I'll get some people to test it and report back here either way for future reference.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 20:52
volantis volantis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I'm still getting unable to connect to DB. It doesn't show any error message after the message, which seems odd.

I reset the include path to be ./phpBB3Auth/controller.php which is what came out of the box.

config file info:
$phpBB3DbHost='<localhost>';
$phpBB3DbName='<dbname>';
$phpBB3DbUser='<dbuser>';
$phpBB3DbPass='<dbpwd>';
$phpBB3DbPrefix='phpbb_';

I feel like it's really close to working....anyone have an idea?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 21:11
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
I'm pretty sure you need to change all those entires like <dbname> to be an actual value, for instance <dbname> would be the user name that you use to connect to the database. If it's the same database server that you're using for vbulletin, then I guess they would be the same values that you have in your config.php.

ETA: oh, I just looked at the "out of the box" values and I see that you did change them...so where did you get those values? They look kind of strange with <> aoround them.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 25 Feb 2012, 21:54
volantis volantis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
I'm pretty sure you need to change all those entires like <dbname> to be an actual value, for instance <dbname> would be the user name that you use to connect to the database. If it's the same database server that you're using for vbulletin, then I guess they would be the same values that you have in your config.php.

ETA: oh, I just looked at the "out of the box" values and I see that you did change them...so where did you get those values? They look kind of strange with <> aoround them.
It was operator error typing in the db passwords. I wasn't thinking and left the <>.

So for others having problems:
- You must set the DB settings for the phpBB server in the config file
- The correct path for controller.php is likely ./phpBB3Auth/controller.php
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 24 Apr 2012, 14:54
zag2me zag2me is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thanks for this, saved me a lot of effort!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: