Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 29 Mar 2020, 08:48
Outlaw Mantis Outlaw Mantis is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Login not registering

Hello. I have received some reports from my members. When they have "logged in", after the logging in page and they return to the index, the index page is the same as it was before. It still shows them as guests. It takes a lot of refreshes to display that they've logged in. Apparently, sometimes when entering threads it finally shows that they have logged in. What is causing this problem? I doubt it's a cookies thing. I tried with incognito and I see the same problem, something that was never apparent previously.

My forum is running vBulletin 4.2.3. Any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29 Mar 2020, 13:58
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Maybe you have some sort of caching plugin installed on the forum or caching module such as Varnish/nginx attached to the web-server?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Mar 2020, 15:47
Outlaw Mantis Outlaw Mantis is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Hi Dave, thanks for the suggestion. Maybe that's right, but off the top of my head I'm really not sure what could be doing this. I don't have many plugins that suggest caching. Quite a lot of DragonByte stuff though. Maybe the DragonByte SEO plugin? My forum relies on that though as it's been indexed on Google/other search engines through it. It's an Apache VPS, by the way.

Do you offer a service to fix these things? Unfortunately I'm stumped (not to mention busier due to recent events) and maybe it would be a fairly quick job for you.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Mar 2020, 15:59
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
What about [DBTech] DragonByte Optimise? That's a cache add-on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31 Mar 2020, 16:59
Outlaw Mantis Outlaw Mantis is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Originally Posted by Skyrider View Post
What about [DBTech] DragonByte Optimise? That's a cache add-on.
Are you saying it might be the cause or possibly resolve the issue? I never tried that one. (Which is surprising as I like their products. Maybe I missed it.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31 Mar 2020, 17:25
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Not sure if it would resolve your issue, as it may be the cache settings in the config.php file. But you mentioned you use a lot of DBTech's add-ons, so I assumed you were using the optimize one as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: