Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Database Backup Pro (Lite) for vb 3.6 Details »
vB Database Backup Pro (Lite) for vb 3.6
Mod Version: 2.12, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (41 votes - 4.66 average) Installs: 582
Released: 18 Sep 2006 Last Update: 10 Oct 2006 Downloads: 3334
Not Supported Auto-Template Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

When vb 3.5 first came out I was using this backup system on my vb 3.0 - and having nothing better to use - I converted it to work on vb 3.5 (here) and since then I have cut it down and adapted it for vb 3.6.

The original version was by Trigunflame and the rights to the code were bought by Zoints (D.Chapman) in January. A while ago David gave me permission to release my adaption, but until now I haven't got round to it. Trigunflame did mention a few months ago he was working on a new version, but nothing ever appeared.

I have stripped out much of the extra stuff that I do not use (or indeed, could not get to work). This is a simple (lite) version that does a php based dump of your database either as one file, or one file per table. It's been in use on our forum since the day 3.6 was installed.

Notes:
* I will not add anything new to this, or spend vast amounts of time supporting it.
* This is a Lite version to allow people to use the basic 3.0 backup functionality on 3.6.


History:

v2.10 : First internal version.
v2.11 : Bug fixes, some code changes.
v2.12 : Initial Public Release.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #481  
Old 14 Dec 2007, 00:14
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
That depends on the shutdown setting.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 14 Dec 2007, 03:36
control1110 control1110 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
So what your telling me is I can set it so it will not shut down the forum at all and still perform the backup with no problem? Also will it delete the old backup file once the new one is created?
__________________
vb 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 14 Dec 2007, 12:20
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by control1110 View Post
So what your telling me is I can set it so it will not shut down the forum at all and still perform the backup with no problem?
Yes. That's how I run it.

Originally Posted by control1110 View Post
Also will it delete the old backup file once the new one is created?
No (unless the backup file name is the same).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #484  
Old 14 Dec 2007, 17:38
control1110 control1110 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
ok thank you for your help
__________________
vb 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #485  
Old 15 Dec 2007, 09:31
yeku's Avatar
yeku yeku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Not Installed Paul...no working, sorry
Reply With Quote
  #486  
Old 16 Dec 2007, 00:40
silvermerc silvermerc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Ross
If installed like it says in the readme and when i try and run the task it says

Database Backup

An error occured during the MySQL backup. Details (Could not open Destination SQL file for writing.)
but i dont understand why its saying it cant open the sql file, I dont want it to open it I want it to make 1 and save all the tables there :S

Iv set it to save to /home/(username)/backup which is chmoded to 777

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #487  
Old 16 Dec 2007, 01:03
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
1. That error means it isn't able to open a new file to write the backup. Since you've already said that the current backup directory is write-enabled, I'd assume it can't find the directory you've specified.

2. See if it will work under the forum directory - it may be balking at a configuration above the forum root.
Reply With Quote
  #488  
Old 16 Dec 2007, 11:27
silvermerc silvermerc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Ross
I fixed it! Turns out it didnt work because I forgot the / at the begining on the file path :P Thanks djbaxtor
Reply With Quote
  #489  
Old 16 Dec 2007, 22:57
control1110 control1110 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
can this script be set to do multiple back ups a day?
__________________
vb 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #490  
Old 16 Dec 2007, 23:48
control1110 control1110 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
im looking at vb scheduled task and I am trying to figure out how to set my backup to do a backup every 4 hours but I can't figure it out. any help would be great. Thanks
__________________
vb 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #491  
Old 17 Dec 2007, 10:33
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
I don't think you can set a vb cron to run every 4 hours.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #492  
Old 17 Dec 2007, 14:04
yuriy yuriy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
What is the point of this if I can backup my db in phpmyadmin?? or in terminal??
Reply With Quote
  #493  
Old 17 Dec 2007, 14:15
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by yuriy View Post
What is the point of this if I can backup my db in phpmyadmin?? or in terminal??

1. it's more convenient/easier

2. it's automated
Reply With Quote
  #494  
Old 17 Dec 2007, 15:17
Sevo Sevo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Ok I know this may be a lame question but I am new to this so here it goes...

I am trying to make the back up folder but I dont want it to be seen by the public... where in the root do i put it so the public cant see it. are all the forum folders able to be see by the public?

my root is
sitename/

all those folders after the / are able to be seen correct?

sorry for the questions but I am just new to this

thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #495  
Old 17 Dec 2007, 18:07
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by yuriy View Post
What is the point of this if I can backup my db in phpmyadmin?? or in terminal??
If you can't see the point then you don't need to worry about using it .....
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:33.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: