Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Add Facebook "Like" button to your threads [vB 3.8.x] Details »
Add Facebook "Like" button to your threads [vB 3.8.x]
Mod Version: 1.00, by hubie (Member) hubie is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (24 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 224
Released: 23 Apr 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1326
Not Supported Template Edits  

This mod is based on this, but working on vB 3.8.x.

As was said there: Facebook has just launched their latest "Like" button to developers to use on any site. What this does is utilizes the Advertising module to add the "Like" button to the first post of each thread. Please see screenshots to get an idea.

DEMO

IFrame Method

There is two kind of "Like" button (IFrame Method):

- With a smallest counter at his side *

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


- With a largest counter (and names of people who have clicked) *

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

*Change show_faces=false for true if you want to see faces

Installation:

Go to your Postbit/Postbit Legacy template and search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And add below the code that you previously selected according your favorite button style.

If you want that the button only appears in first post of a thread, add this variables at the beginning and end of the code that you previously selected:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

*You should add these variables, otherwise the button will be displayed in every post, which makes no sense.



XFBML Method (recommended)
This is a richer way to send the contents of your board to Facebook, because it gives to users the possibility to add more information and also an image of your site is displayed on their FB wall (see the screenshots below).

Installation: (provided by cdoyle, thanks mate )

You'll need to register your app here: http://developers.facebook.com/setup/, and get an ID to place into the code below.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Internet Explorer browser fix: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...5&postcount=70

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For additional information on this button and different parameters please visit http://developers.facebook.com/docs/...e/plugins/like

Remember to click Mark as Installed if you use this modification

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	faceb1.jpg
Views:	4738
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	116200   Click image for larger version

Name:	faceb2.jpg
Views:	2580
Size:	6.9 KB
ID:	116201   Click image for larger version

Name:	faceb3.jpg
Views:	3083
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	116202   Click image for larger version

Name:	fbk1.jpg
Views:	3405
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	116518  

Click image for larger version

Name:	fbk2.jpg
Views:	2577
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	116519  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Add New Facebook "Like" button to your threads ericgtr vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications 252 16 Sep 2014 03:30

  #136  
Old 16 Oct 2010, 15:25
Nova99 Nova99 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Thanks... sure enough they were there in the Analytics... switched back to the iframe for now.
According to posters on the two sites I linked to in my previous post the iframe button is also affected with this, so that wont help.
I have removed the "Like" button and wont add it until FB confirms that the bug has been fixed.
Had hundreds of pages pr. day that where affected by this according to Google Analytics, and when I removed the button none of the fb_xd_fragment links shows up in the logs there anymore.

It's really bad that FB have put a priority 5 on this, since it's a pretty serious bug.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 16 Oct 2010, 15:46
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
damn... thanks.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 27 Oct 2010, 12:55
fxwoody's Avatar
fxwoody fxwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Nice! I'm using it and it works A1 with the IFrame.
Tho, i didn't put it under the control as it's to low, i switch it in my posbit-legacy under Icons&title


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Better like this i think
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cover1.jpg (23.8 KB, 49 views)
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 28 Oct 2010, 12:26
soundbarrierpro soundbarrierpro is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I don't get it.

I'm using this code. It posts to my fb page. but no topic link. Just a link to my domain name. That's it.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 29 Nov 2010, 14:27
DannyITR DannyITR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I'm using the Iframe code with my site correctly inputted and nothign happens. Nothing is showing up in my posts in IE or FF. I saw a few other people with the same prob but nobody answered. I'm using the correct postbit template.

Why is nothing showing up???
__________________
www.montrealracing.com
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 29 Nov 2010, 15:58
Garamond's Avatar
Garamond Garamond is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Coders who never update a bugged product and/or never answers questions from users should be banned from ever posting any modification again

It's so pathetic I don't know whether to cry or laugh.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 29 Nov 2010, 16:25
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by Garamond View Post
Coders who never update a bugged product and/or never answers questions from users should be banned from ever posting any modification again

It's so pathetic I don't know whether to cry or laugh.
Hold up... Look at that stats of this mod, over 100 people marked it as installed... hundreds more probably use it but didn't mark it... There's just a couple people here with problems... For the vast majority of the people it works fine.

If programmers were never allowed to release a program with bugs we'd have no software at all- programs are too complicated to not have any bugs... Even something a simple as this has to deal with bugs that may be present in vBulletin itself or the whole of Facebook.

YOU'VE NEVER EVEN POSTED IN THIS THREAD BEFORE! - So what problems are YOU having with this mod because we don't all have ESP and are able to know the problem before you post it.

If you're commenting on the post made by the guy above you, I saw his post, I'm not the developer so I personally didn't want to comment, but this is what I was going to say:

Either the laws of physics have ceases to work in your general vicinity, facebook is down, or YOU made a mistake somewhere. It's one of those three options... None of those are the fault of the guy who released this mod.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 29 Nov 2010, 22:52
Garamond's Avatar
Garamond Garamond is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
BirdOPrey5: you act like I criticised you personally. I'm posting on behalf of the many people that never got any answers here from the author, and last time I checked YOU ARE NOT THE AUTHOR OF THIS MOD!
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 01:46
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
You say I have no standing to answer because I'm not the mod author... I say you have no standing to complain because you never posted in this thread before... so here we are... two people with no stake in either the start nor outcome of this argument.

Isn't that what the Internet is all about?

Seriously though... while I'm not the author I have released my fair share of mods and when I see people like you complaining about bugs and lack of support for completely free mods I have to vent... You get what you pay for... You dare suggest someone not be allowed to release a mod because they don't meet your time table for replies? (not that you ever even requested help in this thread.) I say look at the 100+ people who installed and use this no problem- you think they'd prefer he not release it at all because he can't keep on top of support requests? What makes it even more annoying to me is there is nothing wrong with this mod- if you follow the instructions (and facebook is working and your vbulletin is working) it WILL work- there is no doubt it my mind it will work... IF setup correctly.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 02:33
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by Garamond View Post
BirdOPrey5: you act like I criticised you personally. I'm posting on behalf of the many people that never got any answers here from the author, and last time I checked YOU ARE NOT THE AUTHOR OF THIS MOD!
maybe your retarded? It worked fine for me?

Just because the mod says its supported doesn't mean it's supported every day.

It's a free mod what do you expect.. jeez. If you paid for it, then you got a right to whine about it... right now you don't!!
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 11 Dec 2010, 18:25
malakaikingston malakaikingston is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Anyone know how I would make this appear on all posts but not pm's?
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 11 Dec 2010, 19:05
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
You can put the code in a conditional:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT =='showthread'">
code here
</if>
It won't show outside of the showthread.php file.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 11 Dec 2010, 20:09
malakaikingston malakaikingston is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
You can put the code in a conditional:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT =='showthread'">
code here
</if>
It won't show outside of the showthread.php file.
Thanks!

It worked!
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 11 Dec 2010, 20:32
malakaikingston malakaikingston is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
You can put the code in a conditional:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT =='showthread'">
code here
</if>
It won't show outside of the showthread.php file.
Do you know how I would get it to only show the subject of the thread and the website as opposed to the subject, title and website?

Like it is showing as "Movember Mo Grow Contest Poll VOTING!! - Silverfish Longboarding - The Longboard Skateboarding Commu on silverfishlongboarding.com."

I want it to just show "Movember Mo Grow Contest Poll VOTING!! on silverfishlongboarding.com."
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 11 Dec 2010, 21:10
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
In your headinclude you should have several "og" meta lines... one of them is for title and should be :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That's what mine is and it uses only the thread title as the subject.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:31.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: