Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #1306  
Old 09 Jan 2011, 15:18
DIBBLE DIBBLE is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
How do i add certain forums to the additional page? And would i be able to remove them from my index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #1307  
Old 09 Jan 2011, 18:30
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by DIBBLE View Post
How do i add certain forums to the additional page? And would i be able to remove them from my index.php?
Add them in what way - a link? This is just a php page, so put in whatever php you need/want to do what you want. Or, if you just want a link, just put the link in the template.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #1308  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 04:46
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by DIBBLE View Post
How do i add certain forums to the additional page? And would i be able to remove them from my index.php?
It sounds like all you want is hidden forums.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1309  
Old 25 Jan 2011, 15:35
pulsionpleinair pulsionpleinair is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Hi,

I never Create a new file and create the template. Any one cant help me to do that and include that on vbulletin?
Reply With Quote
  #1310  
Old 27 Mar 2011, 15:22
Hummell Hummell is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Here are the errors I'm getting on the page I created. Can someone please tell me what I've done wrong?

Warning: fetch_template() calls should be replaced by the vB_Template class. Template name: navbar in [path]/includes/functions.php on line 4097

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/ludawgs/public_html/tos.php(42) : eval()'d code on line 1

Warning: fetch_template() calls should be replaced by the vB_Template class. Template name: terms_of_service in [path]/includes/functions.php on line 4097
Reply With Quote
  #1311  
Old 27 Mar 2011, 15:53
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by Hummell View Post
Here are the errors I'm getting on the page I created. Can someone please tell me what I've done wrong?
What you did wrong was follow instructions for an article written for vBulletin 3.x when you have vBulletin 4.x. Please see the vBulletin 4 articles section for a comparable article- there are some significant differences in programming between the two when it comes to templates.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #1312  
Old 27 Mar 2011, 17:25
Hummell Hummell is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
@#%@#

Took me forever googling around to find this. Could I please ask if you can point me in the right direction?
Reply With Quote
  #1313  
Old 27 Mar 2011, 20:43
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
It was the very first thread in the VB4 Articles Section:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228112
[HOW TO - vB4] Create your own vBulletin page.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #1314  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 04:56
ilrglen's Avatar
ilrglen ilrglen is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Glen Kohut
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
What you did wrong was follow instructions for an article written for vBulletin 3.x when you have vBulletin 4.x. Please see the vBulletin 4 articles section for a comparable article- there are some significant differences in programming between the two when it comes to templates.
WOW!!! Good to know. I have thousands of new pages created on my 3.x site. I guess I'm now stuck with it instead of upgrading to 4.x.
Reply With Quote
  #1315  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 14:29
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Thousands? That is impressive...

But yeah, the way templates are called (and cached) changed... Once you get the hang of it it's not too bad but it will mean a manual edit to every php file you have that calls a template (which is probably all of them.)
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #1316  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 18:42
ilrglen's Avatar
ilrglen ilrglen is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Glen Kohut
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Thousands? That is impressive...
Well, I have been running my site for over 10 years now. Converting the site over to the new format has been a heck of a job with a little still to go. I'd hate to start that process all over again. If I did would the required changes be required only in the php file or the template as well?
Reply With Quote
  #1317  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 18:57
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Both. Honestly, in your situation, I'd recommend using either the CMS (so hopefully you'd be converting one last time only) or creating just one framework page that pulls it's content data from a custom database table. This way, it'd be easier for future conversions. But, of course, I don't know what kind of pages we're talking about.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #1318  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 22:32
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
VB4 uses table-less design so depending on how much existing code you rely on in your templates could mean a lot of work. Also all template conditionals and variable uses in templates has changed.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #1319  
Old 29 Mar 2011, 14:33
ilrglen's Avatar
ilrglen ilrglen is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Glen Kohut
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
Both. Honestly, in your situation, I'd recommend using either the CMS (so hopefully you'd be converting one last time only) or creating just one framework page that pulls it's content data from a custom database table. This way, it'd be easier for future conversions. But, of course, I don't know what kind of pages we're talking about.
We are working on a new setup that will draw content from a database but even that is taking time to assemble. For now I am doing it the hard way. My web site collects photos of and information on every Lamborghini car ever built so there are 20,000+ potential pages to create. Database will be simpler once it is all ready to go.
Reply With Quote
  #1320  
Old 20 Apr 2011, 14:43
soundbarrierpro soundbarrierpro is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Anybody know how to make these pages searchable in google or other search engines? I've added the meta data to each of the templates for the pages I've created. However, I get no results when I search in google even when I enter the entire URL.

Thank you, any help is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: