Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Display Avatar Thumbnails in WGO on Forum Home Details »
Display Avatar Thumbnails in WGO on Forum Home
Mod Version: 0.05a, by Sarteck (Coder) Sarteck is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.x Rating: (6 votes - 3.83 average) Installs: 18
Released: 25 Jul 2012 Last Update: 31 Jul 2012 Downloads: 170
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code  

Created on and tested with 4.1.11, although it will probably work with most other versions.

This Modification allows an Admin to make Avatar thumbnails display in the Who's Online portion of the What's Going On section (usually located at the bottom of the Forum Home).

This modification allows the Admin to specify maximum height and/or width to the thumbnails. It also allows an Admin to specify a specific image to use as a default thumbnail for those users without avatars. Alternatively, it allows for an Admin to decide if Users withut avatars should jsut have their username displayed as normal.


Included in the settings (and disabled by default) is an option to "give credit" to CleverBaka. All this does is add a link to my forum in your forum's footer. It's entirely optional, but I hope you'll give credit if you don't mind the tiny bit of clutter in your footer.





To install, simply import the provided XML file in your Product Manager.



You have full permission to modify this to suit your needs, and I'm always open to input.





What this Modification does [Technical]:
--adds fields to the query that searches for logged in users.
--adds table joins to the query that searches for logged in users.
--does not add any queries
--replaces the "Marked Up Username" with an image of the user's avatar.



Update (25.JUL.12) [0.02a]
  • Added "title" attribute to Image element so that Username shows when hovering your mouse cursor over a thumbnail
  • Added Product URL.
  • Added Version Check URL.
Update (26.JUL.12) [0.03a]
  • Options now successfully install. (Sorry 'bout that guys.)
Update (26.JUL.12) [0.04a]
  • Fixed a bug that was not showing the currently logged in user.
  • Got rid of some unnecessary testing code.
Update (31.JUL.12) [0.05a]
  • Added an option that allows an Admin not to display commas between the avatars.







Screenshots:



Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 25 Jul 2012, 09:11
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
This is my first "official" and "full" modification. Please be gentle.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Jul 2012, 17:22
faisaly.com faisaly.com is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Where are the options I am not seeing any options after uploading .xml in settings/options? also causes mysql errors using vB4.2.0...

o well nice try...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Jul 2012, 19:03
sadiq6210 sadiq6210 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Sadiq
Any screenshot?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Jul 2012, 23:58
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
@faisaly.com:
Options are in AdminCP ----> Settings ----> Options ----> Avatar -> WGO
As for 4.2.0, I dunno. This is for 4.1.x.

@sadiq6210:
Next time I got a decent number of members online at my forums, I'll take a screenshot or two. X3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 00:12
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Ah. I guess the settings did have to be saved separately. >_> My bad.

I'll add them into the product XML stuff when I figure out how, for now there's a vBulletin Settings XML that should work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 02:17
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Okay, now the Setting Group successfully isntalls. Sorry about that. X3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 02:32
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Another minor update.

Had some useless code left over from my testing that I deleted.

Also fixed a bug that made it so that the currently logged in was not showing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 02:44
thecore762 thecore762 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Are there any screenshots?
__________________
www.47r-squad.com BF3|CS:S|TF2|L4D2 Gaming community
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 03:09
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 05:21
thecore762 thecore762 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Thanks!
I like the idea, but instead of making the images rectangular I think they should be smaller and square, it would look a lot better I think.
__________________
www.47r-squad.com BF3|CS:S|TF2|L4D2 Gaming community
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 05:45
Donavaz Donavaz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: MR.ALIREZA

tanx but not work for vb 4.2.0
__________________
A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 06:09
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
@thecore, most users on my forum are crazy about "Vertical Avatars." X3 That's why most of them look rectangular. The actual shape depends on the user's avatar itself.

You can adjust "max-height" and "max-width"--do you think I should set an option to allow Admins to force height and width, so that all avatars are square? It wouldn't be a hard thing to do, but it would distort avatars that aren't already square, so I didn't bother including the feature.



@Donavaz:







X3
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29 Jul 2012, 01:30
Sarteck's Avatar
Sarteck Sarteck is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
From the inception thread for this mod:

Originally Posted by B!tCH PLeAsE! View Post
Installed! Great job on this @Sarteck! What's the best way to style these avatars? I also don't want to have the comma in between the avatars, do you know how I can remove those without breaking anything? lol
Hmm. I'll release the option for it on my next plugin update, but you could just add the line in your "[Display]" PHP code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I think so, anyhow.

Last edited by Sarteck; 29 Jul 2012 at 01:35.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Jul 2012, 12:14
qpurser qpurser is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Really like your idea and considering to use it on our forum but when there are hundreds of users online it will take up a lot of space.

Based on your knowledge how to code this plugin would it be possible to have another Mod or option in your actual Mod that would display only the "friends/buddy's" and instead of the Avatar their profile picture?

Just a thought

Michael
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: