Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Display Member Weather Details »
Display Member Weather
Mod Version: 1.00, by AWMGolfer (Member) AWMGolfer is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.4 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 10
Released: 25 Sep 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations External Content  

This is the first time I have done anything like this but it will allow you to display your members local weather using weather.com.

First you need to create a new profile field that is a single-line text box called Zip Code. It can remain a private or public field, whatever you would like. Make note of the field number.

Then, go to http://www.weather.com/services/oap/...r-widgets.html and choose from the two variations and put in just anything for a location, then select get code. You will be given something like this:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/04758?template=GENXV&par=3000000007&unit=0&key=twciweatherwidget"></script></div>

You need to replace the zip code with this, $bbuserinfo[fieldXX]

Make sure to change the XX to the field number.

Then go into your templates and place the following code anywhere you want the weather to be displayed.

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['fieldXX']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[fieldXX]?template=GENXV&par=3000000007&unit=0&key=twciweatherwidget"></script></div></if>

Again, don't forget to change both of the red parts to match the field number.

Hope people find this of use, be kind as this is the first time I've done this

Here is a screenshot!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vB Weather: Give your members current weather and forecasts! JJR512 vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 143 15 Aug 2002 21:12

Comments
  #2  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 12:25
blackberry's Avatar
blackberry blackberry is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Sheem
any screen shot?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 13:48
AWMGolfer AWMGolfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Thanks for reminding me, just added it!
__________________
http://www.maineforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 14:36
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
nice idea and i did exactly what you wrote but nothing is showing.my field # is ok too.any idea

ok i got it for some reason when i put this <if condition="$post['fieldXX']"> in the begining then it doesn't show,when i remove this then its ok?

Last edited by apiasto; 27 Sep 2009 at 15:04.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:11
AWMGolfer AWMGolfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I see what I did, change

<if condition="$post['fieldXX']">

to

<if condition="$bbuserinfo['fieldXX']">

Updated original code.
__________________
http://www.maineforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:20
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
all right kool its working now thnx. one thing i wanna ask how about like if i wanna put a place from asia where zip code is not common.in otherwords when i try to put just city name it shows error saying invalid location code.is there a way to over come that so user can just put their city name to get weather.thnx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:29
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
all right kool its working now thnx. one thing i wanna ask how about like if i wanna put a place from asia where zip code is not common.in otherwords when i try to put just city name it shows error saying invalid location code.is there a way to over come that so user can just put their city name to get weather.thnx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:30
BigDog56 BigDog56 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Not working for me either.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:31
AWMGolfer AWMGolfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
You would need to go to weather.com and put in your location. The link will show something like this..

http://www.weather.com/outlook/trave...raveler/local/FRXX0076?lswe=Europe&from=searchbox_localwx

They would enter the code right before the question mark, the part in red.
__________________
http://www.maineforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:32
AWMGolfer AWMGolfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
What isn't working?
__________________
http://www.maineforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:41
BigDog56 BigDog56 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Can you be more specific on exactly what you need to put in the profile fields?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:44
BigDog56 BigDog56 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
this is what I have
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['field36']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field36]
?template=GENXH&par=3000000007&unit=0&key=twciweatherwidget"></script></div></if>
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:44
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
all you gotta do is put pfofile field id # which you will get after creating one
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:46
BigDog56 BigDog56 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by apiasto View Post
all you gotta do is put pfofile field id # which you will get after creating one
Done that and it's not showing.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 15:49
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by BigDog56 View Post
this is what I have
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['field36']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field36]
?template=GENXH&par=3000000007&unit=0&key=twciweatherwidget"></script></div></if>
it looks ok ,i guess now you have to make entry in the field by going to your cp panel and putting your zip code.it should be available where you saved it in profile field catagory like edit your details

mine is working here
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: