Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 00:51
MichelangeloITA's Avatar
MichelangeloITA MichelangeloITA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Real name: Michelangelo Fonti
Everything messed up after moving to new hosting HELP!

Hi all guys,

I had to move to a new webhosting so I did a backup copy of my DB (80MB gzip compressed).

When I restored it everything were "cleaned": no posts, no users, no hooks, just a fresh installation of vB4.

Via Phpmyadmin everything looks fine, but I don't know where I fail :\

P.s. Before backup I run vB4.0.8, after I installed vB4.1.0 pl2.

P.p.s. Sorry for my bad english ._.

Michelangelo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 04:31
Brak710 Brak710 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Make sure your configuration files and stuff are referencing the proper DB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 13:51
MichelangeloITA's Avatar
MichelangeloITA MichelangeloITA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Real name: Michelangelo Fonti
Yes, it does, I can install/upgrade vB, I think I should upload vB4.0.8 and then upgrade to 4.1.0 :\
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 19:40
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You say you were running 4.0.8 and then installed 4.1. Did you run the upgrade.php script on the database after importing it?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 22:03
MichelangeloITA's Avatar
MichelangeloITA MichelangeloITA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Real name: Michelangelo Fonti
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You say you were running 4.0.8 and then installed 4.1. Did you run the upgrade.php script on the database after importing it?
Yes I did but it failed so I *STUPID ME* directly installed vB4.1.0.

Is there any way to downgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 22:58
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Downgrade to 4.0.8 from 4.1.0? Why? Your posts aren't going to suddenly appear if you did a fresh install.

To get back your posts/threads/users, create a new database, give your mysql user permission to it, upload the correct files to the server, create a config.php file that points to this backup database. Now see if your site is back up.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 23:08
MichelangeloITA's Avatar
MichelangeloITA MichelangeloITA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Real name: Michelangelo Fonti
Ahhhhh so my mistake was to have uploaded DB first instead of forum files?? ._."

New DB + user => uploading forum files via FTP => restoring data in the new DB + config.php, ok?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11 Jan 2011, 01:08
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It's OK to upload the files before the database, just don't run the upgrade script before you have the database imported (or you will end up doing a fresh install).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11 Jan 2011, 01:50
MichelangeloITA's Avatar
MichelangeloITA MichelangeloITA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Real name: Michelangelo Fonti
Ok Lynne thank you so much
I did everything with Mysqldumper, but now I get this during the upgrade process:

Database error in vBulletin 4.0.8:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT * FROM vbusergroup ORDER BY title;

MySQL Error : Table 'dbname.vbusergroup' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Request Date : Monday, January 10th 2011 @ 08:38:45 PM
Error Date : Monday, January 10th 2011 @ 08:38:45 PM
Script : http://www.mydomain.it/install/finalupgrade.php?step=1
Referrer : http://www.mydomain.it/install/finalupgrade.php
IP Address : xx.xxx.xxx.xx
Username :
Classname : vB_Database
MySQL Version : 5.0.91-community
@[email protected]

--------------- Added 11 Jan 2011 at 03:12 ---------------

Solved

Thank's Lynne and Brak710

Last edited by MichelangeloITA; 11 Jan 2011 at 03:12. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: