Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] AJAX Threads v1 (vB3) Details »
[DBTech] AJAX Threads v1 (vB3)
Mod Version: 1.1.3, by DragonByte Tech (Coder) DragonByte Tech is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 33
Released: 30 Sep 2011 Last Update: 25 Apr 2016 Downloads: 262
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

AJAX Threads: What is it?
AJAX Threads brings your threads alive, making them automatically refresh without needing to reload the page.

Uses

AJAX Threads is the ideal product for forums with busy threads or which deal with any sort of "event" be that TV shows, sports or game releases!
AJAX Threads allows you to make topics "auto update" without the user having to refresh. This can give performance benefits when applied to threads which receive a lot of refresh requests, and can increase user participation.
Topics can be turned live by admins individually, or you can set whole forums to have their threads be live automatically. You can even allow only VIP usergroups to have threads refresh automatically to increase subscription numbers.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like this mod please hit the button to the right ---->

Please remember to click the, button to the right if you installed the mod ---->

What does 'Marking As Installed' do ?

* It helps you to stay on top of updates - members who have installed modifications will be notified by us whenever new updates are available.

*
For security issues - vbulletin.org will contact all members who have installed a modification whenever a security issue is brought to their attention.

* Marking a modification as installed also helps us know how many people are using our work, giving us extra incentive to provide more features and new modifications.

We appreciate the support!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Differences between Pro and Lite

Priority support & Product Demos available at: http://www.dragonbyte-tech.com/vbdownloads.php

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Translations available @ our forum
Support for translations handled by the translator in its respective threads only.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Major Features:

Automatically Refresh Threads: Users will now see new posts in "real time" without having to refresh the page

Performance Benefits: If your forum receives lots of refresh requests on threads being posted in often this can put a lot of strain on your server - AJAX Threads will greatly reduce server resources used in those situations by refreshing only the minimum information required.

Total Control: You can set threads individually or per forum. You can set particular usergroups to receive the benefit, and you can even have it apply automatically to popular threads!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Complete Feature List (Lite)
* vBOption: Enable Automatic Updates
* vBOption: Refresh Interval
* vBOption: Idle Timeout
* vBOption: Automatic Un-Idle
* vBOption: Enable Information Bar (Tells users how often the thread refreshes, whether they're idle, and how to un-idle, etc)
* vBOption: Maximum Shown Posts
* Ability for users to manually refresh threads if Automatic Updates are disabled (cannot refresh more often than Refresh Interval regardless)
* Ability for users to manually un-idle themselves if automatic updates are enabled and the Idle Timeout is reached
* Per-usergroup setting to determine if automatic updates are enabled
* Per-usergroup setting to determine if manual updates are enabled
* Per-category setting to determine if automatic updates are enabled
* Per-category setting to determine if manual updates are enabled
* "Live" image on forumdisplay for threads that have automatic or manual updates enabled
* Posts fetched by AJAX Threads are marked as read
* Per-usergroup "duration" before a thread goes "idle".


Complete Feature List (Pro)
* vBOption: Minimum Replies
* Per-forum setting to determine if automatic updates are enabled
* Per-forum setting to determine if manual updates are enabled
* Per-thread setting to determine if automatic updates are enabled
* Per-thread ability for administrators with the "Manager" permission to override forum / usergroup settings and either enable or disable automatic updates

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This mod displays a copyright notification in the footer of all pages which includes:
  • 1 Link to DragonByte Technologies homepage
  • 1 Link to Product Description page of this modification

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ajaxt_infobar_idle_vb4.png
Views:	574
Size:	2.6 KB
ID:	134585   Click image for larger version

Name:	ajaxt_infobar_manual_vb4.png
Views:	505
Size:	2.4 KB
ID:	134586   Click image for larger version

Name:	ajaxt_infobar_vb4.png
Views:	527
Size:	2.5 KB
ID:	134587   Click image for larger version

Name:	ajaxt_vboptions.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	130.7 KB
ID:	134588  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods [DBTech] Profile Hover v1 (vB3) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 32 14 Aug 2018 16:08
Chat Modifications [DBTech] vBShout v6 (vB3) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 691 22 Nov 2017 02:08
Major Additions [DBTech] vBDownloads v2 (vB3) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 103 19 Mar 2017 22:06
Forum Home Enhancements [DBTech] InfoPanels v2 (vB3) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 47 11 May 2016 23:24
Major Additions [DBTech] Forumon RPG v1 (vB3) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 57 12 Mar 2014 01:23

Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 10:16
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Looks like a good replacement for Live Topic- but can you elaborate on any known issues since this is still Beta? Has it been tested on all major browsers?

Thanks.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 13:34
Wonksta Wonksta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
What's the go on sites that get 30 - 40k visitors per day?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 13:37
xorex's Avatar
xorex xorex is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
if quick send posts, i got a chaos with numeric posts


[spoiler]

[/spoiler]


What's the go on sites that get 30 - 40k visitors per day?
R.I.P
__________________
В королевстве слепых и Урод король....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 14:43
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Looks like a good replacement for Live Topic- but can you elaborate on any known issues since this is still Beta? Has it been tested on all major browsers?

Thanks.
Their are no known issues at this time, it was private beta tested before releasing it public beta.

Originally Posted by Wonksta View Post
What's the go on sites that get 30 - 40k visitors per day?
I don't believe it should be a issue as it only works with replies to threads, but you could try it and see.

Originally Posted by xorex View Post
if quick send posts, i got a chaos with numeric posts
Does it still show like that if you manually refresh the page?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 14:56
xorex's Avatar
xorex xorex is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Does it still show like that if you manually refresh the page?
Yes, after manually refresh it was show correct
__________________
В королевстве слепых и Урод король....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 15:01
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Ok that will happen then as when it refreshes the page to view new content it does not refresh the browser, it just does the page, I am sure Fillip will see if that can be rectified though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 16:00
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
That can happen if the Quick Reply gets inserted in the very same second AJAX Threads is pulling new data, and your site happens to be running slow (making AJAX requests take a lot of time).

I doubt it's possible to fix.


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 21:54
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
v1.0.2
Fix: The mod would refuse to function on vBulletin 4.x if you were not using the "Suite" (i.e. lacked vBulletin CMS installed).
Fix: Hopefully fixed Quick Reply post duplication issues

A special note on the Quick Reply issue: It exist(ed?) because I wanted to make replies you made via Quick Reply show up if you had multiple tabs of the same thread open. If v1.0.2 does not fix it, I have devised an alternative method that should fix it.


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 23:33
xorex's Avatar
xorex xorex is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
A special note on the Quick Reply issue: It exist(ed?) because I wanted to make replies you made via Quick Reply show up if you had multiple tabs of the same thread open. If v1.0.2 does not fix it, I have devised an alternative method that should fix it.
In this version 1.0.2, the posts is not often duplicated (multiple tabs of the same thread open), only after 20-30 posts it started dublicate, before after 3-5

Thank you
__________________
В королевстве слепых и Урод король....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03 Oct 2011, 13:26
drsli's Avatar
drsli drsli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Dietmar
This addon works, as far as I could experience, with the main functionality. Thanks for providing us this alternative to "Live Topic".
I discovered an issue though: picture-links in signatures to external servers donīt work anymore. Links to the forum-server still show up with the picture, but the external links are shown just as plain clickable urls.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03 Oct 2011, 15:24
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Originally Posted by drsli View Post
This addon works, as far as I could experience, with the main functionality. Thanks for providing us this alternative to "Live Topic".
I discovered an issue though: picture-links in signatures to external servers donīt work anymore. Links to the forum-server still show up with the picture, but the external links are shown just as plain clickable urls.
That's not something I'm able to control. I do not attempt to construct my own postbit (only a placeholder), I tell vBulletin to refresh its own postbit using provided vBulletin functions.

This means any mod that does not correctly show its postbit data (which, at the time of writing, includes a few DBTech mods) needs their own fix, it's not a bug in this mod.


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03 Oct 2011, 17:45
drsli's Avatar
drsli drsli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Dietmar
Thank you for the quick answer!
I started a "naked" vbulletin-installation within mamp from my local harddisc with nothing more than this addon and all links to external sigpics worked flawlessly!
So I was aware of having to deactivate and activate some of my many addons on my live-forum to dig further into this issue. For some reason I just activated "Ajax Threads" again without deactivating any other mod. Surprisingly now all external signature-links are working too on my live-forum!
So disabling and reenabling "Ajax Threads" seemed to do something magic, what is far beyond my noobish explanation-facility. Anyway, Iīm glad, that it works now.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04 Oct 2011, 19:21
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
v1.0.3
Fix: Fixed the Quick Reply post duplication issue, pinky swear for realsies this time. I hope.
Fix: The mod will now function correctly for users with no privileges to reply to the thread.
Fix: The mod will now function correctly for forums that have Quick Reply disabled.
Change: The mod no longer attempts to refresh closed threads.


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Oct 2011, 14:50
TitanJeff's Avatar
TitanJeff TitanJeff is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Using 3.8.6 pl 1

I originally could not get this working until I disabled PassiveVid just in case others have difficulties and are also using that. It runs well now except for one thing...

When I quick reply to a post, any replies posted on the same page before repeats under mine as mentioned earlier in this thread. If I do a manual refresh, it removes the dupes. If a do an advanced reply, it's fine as well.

I would prefer to not turn off quick reply if possible. Maybe there's a way to have any new posts happen only when the page isn't refreshing? Would increasing the time between refreshes help?

Also, disabling the info bar in the CP doesn't remove the text for me.

This will be a very popular addition to my site. Thanks for making it and I hope you can help me with my problems.

Last edited by TitanJeff; 08 Oct 2011 at 00:02.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: