Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] Modification Version Checker v1 (vB4) Details »
[DBTech] Modification Version Checker v1 (vB4)
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by DragonByte Tech (Coder) DragonByte Tech is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (13 votes - 4.85 average) Installs: 40
Released: 21 Sep 2012 Last Update: 03 Dec 2014 Downloads: 145
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Translations  

What is Modification Version Checker?
Modification Version Checker from DragonByte Tech is a modification designed to automatically check for new available versions for all vBulletin modifications (even non-DBTech mods) that supports the "Check Version" feature in vBulletin, and display them in a visually attractive, tabulated manner on the Admin Control Panel Home page.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like this mod please hit the button to the right ---->

Please remember to click the, button to the right if you installed the mod ---->

What does 'Marking As Installed' do ?

* It helps you to stay on top of updates - members who have installed modifications will be notified by us whenever new updates are available.

*
For security issues - vbulletin.org will contact all members who have installed a modification whenever a security issue is brought to their attention.

* Marking a modification as installed also helps us know how many people are using our work, giving us extra incentive to provide more features and new modifications.

We appreciate the support!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Other addons available @ www.DragonByte-Tech.com/forum


Feature List
  • Automatically checks for new versions of all supported mods every day via the "Daily Cleanup" cron job
  • Displays outdated products in a block on the AdminCP home page
  • Handy link in the AdminCP menu to manually check for updates for all mods

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	versionchecker.png
Views:	325
Size:	22.2 KB
ID:	141365  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods [DBTech] Modification Version Checker v1 (vB3) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 6 21 May 2015 00:42
Hacks Version Checker eXtremeTim Modification Graveyard 23 02 Apr 2006 07:15

Comments
  #2  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 00:06
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
The following mods from DragonByte Tech have received hotfixes to support Version Check URL and can be downloaded free from www.dragonbyte-tech.com (vBulletin.org updates coming with the next natural version update):
  • Auto Discussion Thread Creator
  • Username Change
  • vBQuiz
  • vB Optimise
  • Copyright Management
  • Thread / Post Bookmarking
  • vBDownloads
  • Profile Hover
  • Random Questions
  • DragonByte Gallery
  • User Status & Moods
  • vBNotifications
  • vBNavTabs
  • vBSlider
  • vBAnalytics
  • User Spotlight
  • Thread Ratings
  • vBNominate
  • vBEditorTabs


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 07:41
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Installed on vB 4.2 PL2.

1. Does not show me a table with any info
2. Creates a new Box in the AdminCP with a "Check all versions" link but the box has not title which looks strange.

So I see the mod is not producing errors but I do not see a table either.
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 08:32
Mukashi's Avatar
Mukashi Mukashi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Liam Pomfret
As above, plus I get the following error when I try clicking on the "Check all versions" option under the "Plugins & Products" menu.

Warning: mysqli_query() [function.mysqli-query]: (42000/1064): You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ') GROUP BY userid' at line 1 in [path]/includes/class_core.php on line 1391
__________________
Webmaster, Bulbagarden.net / Bulbapedia
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 13:50
Alex@bulletin Alex@bulletin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Alex
re

Originally Posted by jluerken View Post
Installed on vB 4.2 PL2.

1. Does not show me a table with any info
2. Creates a new Box in the AdminCP with a "Check all versions" link but the box has not title which looks strange.

So I see the mod is not producing errors but I do not see a table either.
The table is on the ACP Main Page http://abcdefgh.com/admincp/index.php?do=home
Like this. I can see it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 13:52
Alex@bulletin Alex@bulletin is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Alex
German Translation

Hey there, I made my homework and managed it to translate a whole bundle of 4!!! phrases, this mod contains for you

Here is it:
Attached Files
File Type: xml dbtech_versioncheck_Deutsch (Sie).xml (891 Bytes, 22 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 13:59
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Originally Posted by jluerken View Post
1. Does not show me a table with any info
This is 100% normal if you do not have any outdated products installed. The table only shows up if there are any new versions to alert you to.

It will appear below the "Useful Links" section in the AdminCP home page.

Originally Posted by jluerken View Post
2. Creates a new Box in the AdminCP with a "Check all versions" link but the box has not title which looks strange.
Can you please post a screenshot?

Originally Posted by Mukashi View Post
Warning: mysqli_query() [function.mysqli-query]: (42000/1064): You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ') GROUP BY userid' at line 1 in [path]/includes/class_core.php on line 1391
Please disable all other plugins running on cron_script_cleanup_daily and verify that you do not receive this error any more.

If so, re-enable them one-by-one and re-check the page until you receive the error again. That mod would be the culprit

If you still receive the error after disabling all plugins, please try turning off the Plugin / Hook system via vBulletin Options and re-check the page.

If you still receive the error, you have discovered a bug in vBulletin (unless you've modified your vBulletin files).


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 15:38
Hostboard's Avatar
Hostboard Hostboard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Steven
What's the difference?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=255054
Works with your stuff too although might only phone home here while this beacon's back to your site on your products?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 16:15
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Originally Posted by Hostboard View Post
What's the difference?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=255054
Works with your stuff too although might only phone home here while this beacon's back to your site on your products?
The main difference is the fact that our table will correctly update when you install an update, whereas that mod will not

For instance, if you have 20 out of date mods and update 1, our mod will update its table to display 19 out of date mods.

I don't understand what you mean by "beacon's back to your site on your products", sorry


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 17:45
Hostboard's Avatar
Hostboard Hostboard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Steven
Uninstalled other version checker, removed files.
Installed yours and boom...

Disabled.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 18:39
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Yeah I got the same issue on another forum I followed the exact same steps with. I can't explain why it happens, but it works if you uninstall our mod and re-install it.


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 21:11
Hostboard's Avatar
Hostboard Hostboard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Steven
Well if it helps at all, the database error occurred on 4.2pl2 I was unable to get an error on 4.1.12pl1 So it is something with the newer version of VB But confirmed, uninstall, reinstall, re-run daily cleanup CRON and it is all good
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Dec 2012, 21:23
Snowhog's Avatar
Snowhog Snowhog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Real name: Paul L
Downloaded and installed. Question: Can you modify this so that when it's run, either manually or via the CRON, it always presents the block with a comment "All MODS are up to date" when they are, instead of only appearing and listing outdated MODS? The administrator would have to acknowledge/close the window. I like seeing a report, whether positive or negative.
__________________
"It is a capital mistake to theorize in advance of the facts." - Sherlock Holmes
Kubuntu Forums . Net | ZB BLOCK | StopForumSpam
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Dec 2012, 22:06
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Unfortunately that cannot be done. It was a design decision between the way the other version checker does things and "my" way.

I chose to go with the current way because I prefer to spot alerts, not "everything is okay" messages. Going with the "other" way would mean I would have to dismiss the "everything is okay" message once a day - not something I want to do.

Also, the "other" way does not support removing a product from the list of outdated mods once an XML file has been imported, which I felt was a serious design flaw.

Dual method with support for switching is unlikely to be added if I'm honest - it would take up a lot of development time without making that money back.


Fillip
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02 Dec 2012, 22:10
Snowhog's Avatar
Snowhog Snowhog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Real name: Paul L
Understood. Had to ask.

But, how are you supposed to know that it is in fact working, if all MODs are up to date?
__________________
"It is a capital mistake to theorize in advance of the facts." - Sherlock Holmes
Kubuntu Forums . Net | ZB BLOCK | StopForumSpam
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: