Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dropdown Menubox for Links/Urls Details »
Dropdown Menubox for Links/Urls
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.12 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 4
Released: 31 Dec 2008 Last Update: 04 Jan 2009 Downloads: 15
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

As a result of this post http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...82#post1697782

I've come up with a small modification that will allow admins to include a small dropdown box in the forum discription. With this mod you will be able to add a few or hundreds of urls and links without filling up your forum.




This is really easy, all you need to do is to copy the following code to notepad on your PC and save it as subnav.js


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or you can just download the zip file

then you need to upload the subnav.js file to your forums root directory.

The next stage is the code where you edit your urls etc...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Within that code you need to edit your urls and description in the option values


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've only done 4 in the above but you can add as little or as many as you need by simply adding more option values as in the code above.

Once you've saved your edit, you can upload it to a forum, what i did was to create a new forum called "Quick Links" and then paste all of that code into the Forum Description.

Thats all there is to it, Feel free to experiment with this and remember to post a link here if you want to show off your new dropbox.

Enjoy



*****************************UPDATE**********************************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE**********************************

12 January 2009

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank">UKBusinesslive Store</option>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site



Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	page22.png
Views:	10
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	91489   Click image for larger version

Name:	page23.png
Views:	21
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	91490  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Dropdown menubox for Links/URL's UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 17 07 Nov 2015 16:33
Forum Home Enhancements Dropdown Menu box for Links/Urls UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 62 28 May 2012 12:16

Comments
  #2  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 13:57
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Reserved

Please don't forget to click Installed, and if you use it, show us a link to your dropdown box

Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 31 Dec 2008 at 17:13.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 20:03
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Hmmm, going to test this for another purpose but thanks for the great idea UK, marked as installed just for helping out the community

(I'll pm you about it when done!)

Thanks!

S-MAN
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 20:07
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Thanks Mike Happy new year Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 20:14
Rene Kriest Rene Kriest is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Real name: King René II
W00t! This is awesome. A very cool and indeed great idea to cope with the small things of every day's life in my forum.

Thank you for this kind of inspiration. Maybe this is a good solution to handle my arcade games section a little better.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 20:16
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Rene Kriest View Post
W00t! This is awesome. A very cool and indeed great idea to cope with the small things of every day's life in my forum.

Thank you for this kind of inspiration. Maybe this is a good solution to handle my arcade games section a little better.
Thanks Rene,

They say the simple things are the best. Hope it works for you

Happy New Year
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 21:14
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Talking

Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Thanks Mike Happy new year Buddy
Same Here!

Do they have a thread up yet for wishing such? Let's go see and post if so!



Edit: Found it
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=200124
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 02:42
nalexandre nalexandre is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fantastico!!!!!!! Thx for sharing.


Obrigado.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Jan 2009, 02:51
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by nalexandre View Post
Fantastico!!!!!!! Thx for sharing.


Obrigado.
Thanks, Let us know how you got on
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04 Jan 2009, 15:24
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
*****************************UPDATE**********************************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE**********************************
Attached Files
File Type: xml quicklinks-VBA Module.xml (1.0 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12 Jan 2009, 21:39
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
12 January 2009

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank">UKBusinesslive Store</option>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site



Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: