Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ Rotation Iframe adverts Details »
UKBL ~ Rotation Iframe adverts
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (3 votes - 4.00 average) Installs: 16
Released: 21 Mar 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 78
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

UKBL ~ Rotation Iframe adverts


Now you can add timed rotational adverts 468 x 60 Banners or any other size you want, anywhere on your forums, You can add it in more than one template and have as many different rotating ads as you want.

DEMO SITE: http://hearts4horses.net/member_forum/upload/index.php



This hack works in two parts, some of the code is written by Dyamic Drive so please keep the credits intact if you use.

Installation

1. Download the iframeads.zip

2. Firstly open the advertiser.txt file in notepad and find the following


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then change My forum url for yours and also the size of the ads that you'll be showing (I've shown it in red)

Thats all you need to do on that file so now save your edits and open the adverts.htm file in notepad.

You'll see the first part of the code is like this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The only bit you need to change is the very begining


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is the delay for each ad, if you want to change the time that each add shows edit the Var delay, so if you wanted each ad to show for 3 seconds, you'd change this value to 3000

now we come to the addition of the Advertising banners.

First you need to do a little bit of work, making each banner clickable and pointing to an url, so for this we'll use a simple bit of code below


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Its really easy, You just add the url to the front of the code and the Image url goes in the second part, Do that for all your adverts and you should get something like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Notice two additions to the code also, First is the target="_blank" this makes sure that the ad opens up in a new window, otherwise we'll have the url opening in a 468x60 window, Not good at all, so make sure this remains, after each url

Secondly, we have added border=0 to the end of the Image url, This prevents a url border from showing, so make sure this is added to each advert code.

Once you've made all your ads clickable then ad them to the end of the adverts.htm code like my example below


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've only shown 4 adverts but if you add another block befor the end </div> like below, you'll be able to add unlimited ads


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats its, just save the file and we're ready to upload.

A quick tip to see if your adverts.htm file is working, just click on it in your desktop and you'll see your ads rotating

Now, for the uploads

Firstly, The adverts.htm file which you've just added your ads to, need to go into the forum root directory, once uploaded you can test it by going to http://yourforum.com/adverts.htm

You should see your banners rotating, if so then alls well

Next we need to go to our admin cp and in your styles header, we need to add the small call up file which we saved as advertiser.txt. So open up this file again in notepad and copy and paste to the end of your styles Header.

Now when you go to your forum you should see your ads rotating nicely.

You can be more adventurous and add the call up code to any template you want, each time your adds will show anywhere in your forums, You can of course duplicate the code and with an additional .htm code on your forums root, you'll be able to have more banners showing, different sizes etc..

Hope you enjoy this simple addition

If you click Install then i'll support you 100%


If you've installed this on your site, drop me a PM and i'll add it to the Live Demo at the begining of this post

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	adverts.png
Views:	155
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	96793  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ Scrolling Forum News In iFrame UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 42 31 May 2012 10:16
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ Newsticker IFrame in Navbar UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 57 17 Jan 2010 01:17
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ Advertising iFrame on Forum Home UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 7 05 May 2009 21:18
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ Newsticker IFrame in Navbar UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 1 14 Mar 2009 16:25
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ Scrolling Forum News In iFrame UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 1 01 Mar 2009 15:27

Comments
  #2  
Old 21 Mar 2009, 13:15
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
reserved
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Mar 2009, 21:45
Jasem's Avatar
Jasem Jasem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: www.menokia.com
Good work, thank you......

Installed
__________________
games
Forum Nokia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13 Jul 2009, 16:50
maidos maidos is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
your mod is not working at all if i use js script code from adsense

pleasehelp

Last edited by maidos; 16 Jul 2009 at 11:16.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 Jul 2009, 14:15
maidos maidos is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
itmessup the firefox and disable every forum threads

Last edited by maidos; 16 Jul 2009 at 11:16.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Aug 2009, 06:36
bmckinley's Avatar
bmckinley bmckinley is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Bill
Thumbs up Thank you

Another UKBL winner. Installed and used in the vb Side Column mod. Works great!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Aug 2009, 15:36
frankabrahams frankabrahams is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
doesn't works for me on 3.8 i could've done something wrong. The url works fine but when i add it, it makes a mess of the whole header.

Last edited by frankabrahams; 02 Aug 2009 at 15:43.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03 Aug 2009, 15:13
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by bmckinley View Post
Another UKBL winner. Installed and used in the vb Side Column mod. Works great!
Thanks, Your site is great and i'll add it as a demo

http://hearts4horses.net/member_forum/upload/index.php

Great work, with such a simple hack, well done
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03 Aug 2009, 15:19
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by frankabrahams View Post
doesn't works for me on 3.8 i could've done something wrong. The url works fine but when i add it, it makes a mess of the whole header.
Did you add the ads to a new file in your Forum root called adverts.html ?? basically all we're doing is adding an i-frame to our forums which reads the adverts.html file where you add the ads.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 21:00
SaTaNaSsO SaTaNaSsO is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
i've got the same problem as maidos...
chrome and explorer visualize all correctly but firefox show only the advertising and then the footer, all forum is cutted away...
any solution?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 22:57
River_rush River_rush is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Chas
just a small non important related thing but your forum Horse Rescue Organzation of the Month is missing an "i"
__________________
EscortRSCosworth.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08 Aug 2009, 00:42
bmckinley's Avatar
bmckinley bmckinley is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Bill
I added an "i" or You have and eye for an "i"

Thanks River Rush for the eye on my "i". Updated.
__________________
Perpetual Newb...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Aug 2009, 16:07
yeku's Avatar
yeku yeku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Hello friend UKBusinessLive, you know if works with TradeDoubler to insert link?

thank
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08 Aug 2009, 18:05
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by yeku View Post
Hello friend UKBusinessLive, you know if works with TradeDoubler to insert link?

thank
Hiya Buddy,

Not tried with TradeDoubler, But why don't you give it a go and let us know. The beauty of these mods is the fun we have adapting them to our sites.

Try it and let us know, and perhaps i'll add it to the first post as an extra (credits to you!!)

Don't forget to click installed!!

Have fun

Gerry
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 Aug 2009, 22:53
yeku's Avatar
yeku yeku is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Well, I must say that it works with TradeDoubler links.

I completely replaced by this line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And put the link and TradeDoubler:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and works perfect, I have changed var delay=5000 a 7000, seems more appropriate ..


greetings

Last edited by yeku; 08 Aug 2009 at 23:51.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: