Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21 Nov 2007, 04:56
neverstop neverstop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Slow loading script problem.

Hi,

I have a script from an advertiser that produces a geo-targetted text link. The problem is the script is slow to load which delays loading the rest of my site, as this code is placed in the header. Is there some way I can have the script load last, but still have it show in the header?

Here is the relevant code from the advertiser.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Cheers,
Ian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 Nov 2007, 13:28
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Try:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the defer tag should make the browser handle it after the page has been rendered
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 06:57
neverstop neverstop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Hi,

Apparently the defer attribute does not work in firefox.

I am hoping to find a solution using css position maybe? or javascript even?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 17:23
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Put this where you want the ads:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Put this at the very bottom of the footer.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 20:50
neverstop neverstop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Hi,

After making those edits, nothing shows up where the adsplaceholder div is, and the myads div shows at the very bottom of the footer...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 21:57
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Hmmm, I just did a test and it worked for me.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 23:21
neverstop neverstop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Any ideas what I could be doing wrong? These edits seem pretty simple...

So just to be clear I added the adsplaceholder div in my header, with nothing between the div tags. And added the myads div + the javascript in my footer. The ad shows where the myads div is placed, and nothing shows up where the adsplaceholder div is...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 23:34
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Ok, I just tested it again.

I added this to the very bottom of the navbar template

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And the following to the very bottom of the footer template

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Try that.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22 Nov 2007, 23:42
neverstop neverstop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Yup that worked! Sure beats using a ghetto transparent iframe.!

Thanks alot!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: