Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB AJAX Cron Details »
vB AJAX Cron
Mod Version: 1.1.4, by Code Monkey (Member) Code Monkey is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (11 votes - 4.64 average) Installs: 222
Released: 12 Aug 2006 Last Update: 19 Aug 2006 Downloads: 647
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files  


This is such a small but useful mod that I decided to give it away free. This mod will replace your sheduled task image code at the bottom of your pages and run your sheduled tasks via an AJAX call.

AJAX is asyncronous and offers true background running of sheduled tasks. This does not change anything with the actual tasks or the scripts that run them. It merely replaces the method that initiates the running of those scripts.

There are no template edits of any kind. Simply upload the files to your forumhome directory and import the product xml file.

This should work in any vb or custom script in any directory.
Full support will only be given at vbmodder.com

I will support it here as time permits.


Enjoy

Don't forget to click install if you use it.




******************************************
Do not use this with vb 3.5x! There is a difference in the cron table.
The 3.5x version can be found here







Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Board Optimization True Asynchronous Cron Jobs using Javascript [!AJAX]. No more hanging page loads. Analogpoint vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 72 15 Dec 2015 16:23
[Not tested] vB-Cron invoked by server cron Brad vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 6 25 Jul 2007 03:20
vB AJAX Cron Code Monkey vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 12 19 Aug 2006 16:12

  #46  
Old 14 Aug 2006, 02:12
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Ah, I see. No fishing in my mod thread Bollie.
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 15 Aug 2006, 03:12
ferrarislave ferrarislave is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
how do I import the feed?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 15 Aug 2006, 04:32
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Import the feed?

You mean the product xml?

Just go into your plugin manager and click on products (not plugins) and then at the bottom of the product list click the add product link. Then use the browse button to find the file on your hard drive then click install/import or whatever its called.
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 16 Aug 2006, 16:42
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
If anyone is using a plugin that needs the cron_start hook (I have never seen one) please let me know. This mod will break it if it does since it's not using cron.php where the hook exists. If this is a problem for anyone I will have to come up with a work around. I doubt it but you never know.
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 17 Aug 2006, 23:32
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
/me clicks Install.

Thank you very much, not only is this cool in its own, but it also solved a problem I had to deal with which vBulletin Support was not able to figure out; why cron jobs didn't run on my particular setup.
This, however, runs them perfectly. Im going to vBulletin.com to petition this becoming a stock vB feature.

Edit: http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=196660

Last edited by Revan; 17 Aug 2006 at 23:40.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 00:22
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Well, it only breaks the cron_start hook because I am using a different script than cron.php. I could always add my own hook.

I wonder if there is a way to divert vb to look there for cron_start. hmmm...
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 00:39
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
New version 1.1.2

Added ajax_cron_start hook. Now if you should ever have a plugin that uses the cron_start hook simply change it to use the ajax_cron_start hook.
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 04:07
briansol's Avatar
briansol briansol is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Brian
Thanks for the update
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 11:03
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
Originally Posted by Code Monkey
Well, it only breaks the cron_start hook because I am using a different script than cron.php. I could always add my own hook.

I wonder if there is a way to divert vb to look there for cron_start. hmmm...
If that's the problem, why not just add cron_start instead of ajax_cron_start in your ajax_cron.php?
Since you are rendering the vB default cron.php useless, whatever code would be executed in cron_start would be executed in your file instead.
Or am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 18 Aug 2006, 14:18
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Is it that easy? I have never looked at how vb knows where the hooks are so I have no idea. I was planning on researching that this weekend.
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 19 Aug 2006, 00:03
libertylounge's Avatar
libertylounge libertylounge is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Awesome. Installed.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 19 Aug 2006, 02:24
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
New Version 1.1.3

Now it will just use cron_start hook if you have a plugin that uses it. Aparently vb doesn't actually care where the hook is located.

Live and learn.

Code Monkey


Thanks go to Revan for the heads up.
__________________
Gaming Forums

Last edited by Code Monkey; 19 Aug 2006 at 02:27.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 19 Aug 2006, 16:11
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
New Version 1.1.4

This will now degrade gracefully when browsers have javascript turned off. When a browser has javascript turned off the default vb method will be implemented to ensure the cron runs.

Code Monkey
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 19 Aug 2006, 18:06
derekivey derekivey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Derek
Nice hack Code Monkey .

/me clicks install.
__________________
Please do not PM or IM me for support or my hacks, or vBulletin questions.
Use my hack threads for support instead, please. All PM, or IM requests will be ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 19 Aug 2006, 21:53
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Thank you very much.
__________________
Gaming Forums
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: