Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
QuoteIt! - Quote Database Details »
QuoteIt! - Quote Database
Mod Version: 3.17, by Cap'n Steve (Member) Cap'n Steve is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (19 votes - 4.63 average) Installs: 205
Released: 02 Jan 2007 Last Update: 01 May 2008 Downloads: 1338
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

QuoteIt! version 3.1

I'm no longer able to put very much time into this mod, so I've set up a Subversion repository at http://www.vbulletinprogramming.com/projects/quoteit/ to allow others to help out. You can use the login "vbuser" with the password "vbulletin" to edit files. If someone would like to completely take over the mod, please contact me.


QuoteIt! allows you to have a database of quotes integrated with your forum. Users submit quotes that can then be voted on by the other users, using your choice of two rating systems. The average installation will show a random quote on the forum home page, but you can include it on any vBulletin page or on your portal home page.

If you'd like to see a demo, go to forums.monkeycrap.com.

Features:

Random Quote
- a random quote can be shown on any vBulletin powered page
- the administrator can set a default rating threshold that quotes must meet before showing up as the random quote
- a new random quote can be chosen at a specific interval of time, to reduce server load

Quote Database
- quotes can be searched, filtered, and sorted by many different criteria
- quotes have a "context" field that can be turned on or off to include more information about the quote
- quotes can be embedded in posts with bbcode
- each post and private message now has a "Submit to Quotes" link that allows users to quote things said on your forum more easily

Quote Ratings System
- quotes can be rated either plus/minus or on a scale from 1 to 5
- quotes below a certain total score or average score can be filtered out

Quote Management
- quotes can either be automatically approved or moderated
- the quote moderation que is like the que for posts, enabling the moderation of several quotes at once
- usergroup permissions are used for adding, editing, deleting, rating and viewing quotes
- most actions use AJAX to avoid page reloads

Don't forget to click install!

Currently known problems are listed here.

The files needed to edit the included images are attached to this post.

This hack is based on QuoteIt! 1.2, originally by magnus. The "submit post" feature was inspired by an addon by CtrlAltDel.

Older versions (no longer in development): QuoteIt! 3 for vBulletin 3.5.x | QuoteIt! 2.03 for vBulletin 3.0.x

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-list.gif
Views:	3944
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	58351   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-options.gif
Views:	1077
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	58352   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-moderation.gif
Views:	765
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	58353   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-bbcodes.gif
Views:	2809
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	58354  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-random.gif
Views:	2824
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	58355  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
QuoteIt! - Quote Database Cap'n Steve vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 419 23 Jun 2007 11:20
QuoteIt! 2.0 - Quote Management System Cap'n Steve vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 257 03 Aug 2006 06:03
QuoteIt! Quote Management System v1.2 magnus vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 376 14 Jul 2005 06:05

  #16  
Old 03 Jan 2007, 12:52
Saskia's Avatar
Saskia Saskia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Saskia
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
What version of vbulletin do you have? Are there any quotes in the database? What error do you get when viewing private messages?
I'm running vB 3.6.4. There weren't any quotes in the database yet, but I can't get to the page that will allow me to add them. Call me blonde but I didn't find the appropriate option in the AdminCP to add links through there. Is there an option for that? (If not, that would be a nice addition.)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03 Jan 2007, 14:38
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
I managed to install the hack now and its great but its messing up the "Quick Language Chooser". After installing it its adding nonsense to the language chooser.

After uninstalling its fine again so I think it has something to do with this hack.

BEFORE INSTALLATION:


AFTER INSTALLATION:


If I open the Language Manager in the AdminCP there is no third language.
When I edit one of the languages that are installed and simply press on save
the field is correct again.

I can life with that but I still think that there is a problem with this hack :-)
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03 Jan 2007, 15:50
Rick Rick is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Would you be interested in making another hack based on this same prinicple, but with photos instead of quotes??

It would be great to let users submit photos to be voted on
__________________
Rick Horwitz
"Serious Explorations"
Ford Explorer Problem Solving
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03 Jan 2007, 16:09
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
The PM bug is fixed, but I still can't reproduce the redirect problem. Any information would be helpful.
This happens when there are no quotes in the database and you try to go to the page, it just loops you trying to go to quotes.php?do=list over and over.


The only fix I could find was to manually type into the url /quotes.php?do=addquote

Then I added one in there, now it worked.


I am getting javascript issues when I click the edit button, and I can not get a random quote to show up on forum home.


Edit - I am also getting the language dropdown bug as listed above, but I only have 1 language installed to begin with. Selecting the "--a" option takes me to the "Who is Online" list.

Last edited by Calash; 03 Jan 2007 at 17:03. Reason: Added info
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03 Jan 2007, 22:04
Brew's Avatar
Brew Brew is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
I get this error when trying to install:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare cache_templates_with_file_cache() (previously declared in /path/public_html/forums/template_cache.php:2) in /path/public_html/forums/template_cache.php on line 2

version vB3.64

Any ideas what I should do?

Thanks!
__________________
The Ultimate Chiller
¨˜”°º•BREW•º°”˜¨
www.politicalforums.net
www.oldhouseforums.com
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03 Jan 2007, 22:20
Brew's Avatar
Brew Brew is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by Brew View Post
I get this error when trying to install:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare cache_templates_with_file_cache() (previously declared in /path/public_html/forums/template_cache.php:2) in /path/public_html/forums/template_cache.php on line 2

version vB3.64

Any ideas what I should do?

Thanks!
Nevermind....It was the Plugin Based Template Cache mod
__________________
The Ultimate Chiller
¨˜”°º•BREW•º°”˜¨
www.politicalforums.net
www.oldhouseforums.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 00:02
BuRuNDi BuRuNDi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Hello,

I got two problems

1- Can't enable the categories option
2- The random quote doesn't show up in the forum home
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 02:38
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Firen - There's a delete link on each quote. Make sure you give yourself permission to do that through the Usergroup Manager.

jluerken - That class must be part of another product, I don't know what would cause that error though.

Rick - You could use the [img] bbcode in quotes to do that if you wanted. It's not a great solution, but it should work.

BuRuNDi - What exactly is the problem with categories? Have you added a category?

To everyone who has a problem with the random quote, make sure you did the template edit right and make sure you have the random quote enabled in the options.

The redirect problem should be solved. I don't have the slightest clue what's causing it to add to the Quick Language Chooser, but I'll keep looking.

Last edited by Cap'n Steve; 04 Jan 2007 at 02:42.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 07:50
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Reporting quotes and notifying users of quote approval via PM are working now.

Originally Posted by Calash View Post
I am getting javascript issues when I click the edit button
What specifically are you doing, what's the error, and what browser are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 13:23
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I am getting a new error with the most recent download

http://www.necrotania.com/vb/quotes.php

Getting a 500 Service error.


Edit: The 500 error went away when I forced a quote into the database.

I still get the Javascript error, and the addition to the language bar. Also it just does not look right with the current skin.

Here is the javascript error


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

When I am on quotes.php and see the sample quote there is a "Delete this Quote" link followed by an Edit button. When I press the edit button the error shows up.

Browser is IE6. I have not tested from home yet where I have IE7

Last edited by Calash; 04 Jan 2007 at 14:05. Reason: I like pie
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 14:34
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Originally Posted by jluerken View Post
I managed to install the hack now and its great but its messing up the "Quick Language Chooser". After installing it its adding nonsense to the language chooser.

After uninstalling its fine again so I think it has something to do with this hack.

BEFORE INSTALLATION:


AFTER INSTALLATION:


If I open the Language Manager in the AdminCP there is no third language.
When I edit one of the languages that are installed and simply press on save
the field is correct again.

I can life with that but I still think that there is a problem with this hack :-)
I found out that when I open the Language Manger and correct the problem it turns off the Hack. There is definetly a problem with v.3.0
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 16:23
Amiga Harrison Amiga Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I'm getting some strange behaviour with QuoteIt! on my forum.

I'm running the newest version of this on vB 3.6.4

The first is the Quote Filtering Options. In Firefox if I move the mouse over any of the Categories listed in the selection box I get a popup alert box appear showing that categories description. I cannot select any of the categories in the list as each time I move the mouse over any of them this popup box appears. However in Opera this doesn't happen and I can select categories from this list without a problem.

The second problem is editing a quote entry. Again this is in Firefox and I haven't yet tested this in another bowser. When I click on the edit quote button nothing happens. If however I select to open the link in a new tab or window then it will load the editing window.

Then once I have finished editing a quote and save it I get the following error:

Found
The document has moved here.

Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04 Jan 2007, 21:16
nelstaresthero nelstaresthero is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
none of my pictures work, i tried re-installing and manually dropped them in their respective locations on the server with no luck...

suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05 Jan 2007, 01:18
Amiga Harrison Amiga Harrison is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by nelstaresthero View Post
none of my pictures work, i tried re-installing and manually dropped them in their respective locations on the server with no luck...

suggestions?
Do you mean the pictures that come with QuoteIt! ? The quotation marks, submit button etc? Are you using a custom template with it's own set of images on your forum? If so you will need to copy the QuoteIt! images into the relavant places within your custom templates image directory.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05 Jan 2007, 04:46
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
nelstaresthero - Amiga's right. Each style has its own images directory. You could right-click the broken image and select properties to find out where it is.

jluerken - What did you do to correct the problem that uninstalled the hack? When I select "Rebuild All Languages", just the problem goes away.

Calash - Your problem is that responseXML is spelled wrong. I don't know how that happened though, since it's not like that in any of my files. Just reupload all the files.

everyone getting the 500 server error - I've made a change to the redirects. If it still doesn't work, you need to talk to your host because your server is sending an extra status code.

Anyway, the popup on the categories list is fixed and the Quick Language Chooser should be, too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: