Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
No Quote in First post Details »
No Quote in First post
Mod Version: 2.1.0, by CarpHunter (Member) CarpHunter is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 50
Released: 03 Oct 2007 Last Update: 03 Nov 2007 Downloads: 253
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Re-usable Code  

This is my very 1st mod so pls be gentle.

Why?
I was looking for this kind of mod for my own forum. My moderators and I where really getting sick of editting posts of users that always included the quote of the first post (and some of them are really huge). I made a little modicfication to the forum that disabled the quoting of the first post in thread.
Only drawback the modification had was that it is was on "all" forums and not only selected ones.

What does this hack do different?
I made a product that disables the Quoting/Multi Quoting of the first post. This can be set on/off per forum.

vBulletin version supported?
Because of the nature of the mod it's only for vb3.6.0 and up. As of this version the hooks used are all implemented.

Installation
Simply import the product and presto.
It will add
  • Plugins: 4
  • Phrases: 2

Upgrade
If you are upgrading simply follow these guide lines.
  • Upgrading from v1.x.x:
    Uninstall old product first before importing new (this because of complete rewrite of plugin)
  • Upgrading from v2.0.0:
    Simply import new plugin and 'allow overwrite'


Screenshots
  1. Forum Manager
  2. Normal Postbit View
  3. Legacy Postbit View

Version history:
  • v1.0.0 - First public release
  • v1.1.0 - Included postbit_legacy support
    Totally forgot about the postbit_legacy template. It's now included in the new version.
  • v2.0.0 - I completely redid the code.
  • v2.1.0 - Changed the way the plugin checks for the first post. This change makes it more compatible with Atakan KOC's Chiefpost mod

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	noquote_forumperm.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	30.8 KB
ID:	70543   Click image for larger version

Name:	noquote_postbit.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	70544   Click image for larger version

Name:	noquote_legacypostbit.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	70550  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Private Messages Enhancements Quote Post in PM Makc666 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 48 09 Mar 2009 11:40
New Posting Features Quote Post in PM Boofo Modification Graveyard 15 29 Mar 2008 09:16

  #16  
Old 04 Oct 2007, 07:26
lonelime lonelime is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by pspmaster93 View Post
<removed>
it doesnt even work!... i installed it but there is no option in vbulletin options for it.
you noob ...

and please respect other people works ....

Last edited by davidw; 29 Oct 2007 at 22:48. Reason: cleaning up
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04 Oct 2007, 07:27
lonelime lonelime is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Thanks for the hack ..

i was looking for something like this ...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16 Oct 2007, 10:33
Artes_Marciales Artes_Marciales is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Installed Thanks!!!

Last edited by Artes_Marciales; 16 Oct 2007 at 11:26.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23 Oct 2007, 00:36
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
vBulletin version supported?
Because of the nature of the mod it's only for vb3.6.0 and up. As of this version the hooks used are all implemented.
Doesn't work with 3.6.5
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 29 Oct 2007, 00:30
CarpHunter CarpHunter is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Björn
Originally Posted by Smoothie View Post
Doesn't work with 3.6.5
Ure absolutely right.
I forgot to change the dependency to vbulletin 3.6.0.
Changed this now so just download the plugin again and try again. I just tested it and it should work fine now.

Thnx for reporting
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 29 Oct 2007, 18:36
lazydesis lazydesis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
is it possible to include an option where we can enter all the forum IDs in which we want this hack enabled at one place ..instead of going to every forum and enabling the option

thanx for this hack its awesome
__________________
http://www.lazydesis.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03 Nov 2007, 07:10
giotmuadong's Avatar
giotmuadong giotmuadong is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
how come it doesn't work if I turned on my "Show first post on every thread page"
otherwise, it works perfectly fine
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03 Nov 2007, 20:40
CarpHunter CarpHunter is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Björn
Thnx for reporting.

Seems that Atakan KOC's mod resets the status of postcount. I use this value to determine the post is the first so it can disable the buttons.

I made a new version of the mod that fixes this problem (simply download v2.1.0 and it should work ok now).

I know use a different value to determine if the post is the first post.

Last edited by CarpHunter; 03 Nov 2007 at 20:55.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04 Nov 2007, 17:55
giotmuadong's Avatar
giotmuadong giotmuadong is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by CarpHunter View Post
Thnx for reporting.

Seems that Atakan KOC's mod resets the status of postcount. I use this value to determine the post is the first so it can disable the buttons.

I made a new version of the mod that fixes this problem (simply download v2.1.0 and it should work ok now).

I know use a different value to determine if the post is the first post.
thank you, it's working now .. you're the man
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 01:56
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by CarpHunter View Post
Ure absolutely right.
I forgot to change the dependency to vbulletin 3.6.0.
Changed this now so just download the plugin again and try again. I just tested it and it should work fine now.

Thnx for reporting
works, installed, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 29 Nov 2007, 21:44
Geck079 Geck079 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Awesome mod, just what I was looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 19 Jan 2008, 11:21
SNATCH3R's Avatar
SNATCH3R SNATCH3R is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Real name: Rajesh
Thanks for this....gr8 mode...workin fine with 3.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04 Apr 2008, 15:50
lazydesis lazydesis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
you can use a simple template modification of postbit or postbit_legacy .. instead of installing the plugin


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
http://www.lazydesis.com

Last edited by lazydesis; 04 Apr 2008 at 15:55.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03 May 2008, 22:48
CarpHunter CarpHunter is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Björn
This plugin also makes it to be turned on or of in selected forums. You're template edit is active in all the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07 Jul 2008, 01:05
c.oper c.oper is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Does this one works in 3.7.x ???
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: