Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[Product] AJAX: Username check on registration Details »
[Product] AJAX: Username check on registration
Mod Version: 1.3, by MrNase (Member) MrNase is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 RC1 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 55
Released: 29 Jul 2005 Last Update: 30 Jul 2005 Downloads: 115
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Code Changes Additional Files  

RC 1 only!
*Version: 1.3
`-> Fixed the instruction.
See this post for more information: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...3&postcount=13

*Version: 1.2

`-> Updated the instructions and fixed a bug in the plugin 'Get Username check setting'. Everyone who installed this hack will be informed.
`-> Important: Users running 1.1 or prior: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...16&postcount=7

* Version: 1.1
`-> Users who have this installed don't have to install it again.



Alright, here it comes.. The 3.5 version of my famous AJAX hack


This one is using the new Product Manager.
That means to you: All phrases, all settings, all plugins are added with one simple file import

Just one single click - isn't that great?



  • complete Product
  • phrases, settings, plugins added automatically
  • on-click uninstall *

It took me some time to figure out how vB3.5 ticks but it's working now. This was my first try on the new Product Manager ever so there might be some errors but I installed it 10 times (because it is so easy ) and it worked. You can even uninstall it with one simple click


It works exactly like vB3 version, there are some minor tweaks to the code but those only affect performance
There's only one really new thing: If the username is not taken, the user will see a message (with a green background) telling him that he can register the desired username.


Sadly the templates must be changed manually but.. There won't be any fun without some handicraft

There's detailed instructions how to install this beauty within the package but let me explain some things first:

In the package you'll find 3 files:
  • product-ajaxcheckuser.xml
  • instructions.txt
  • ajax_checkusername.js
The first one is the most important one. It contains all plugins, phrases and the queries to add the new setting. You can easily import that file with the new Product Manager in your AdminCP.

The rest is even easier: Copy the ajax_checkusername.js to your clientscript folder and then open instructions.txt for the template edits.


Iam short of time at the moment but I'll do my best to support this plugin (or product or..).. Just ask here in this thread. If you like to donate something (I got one for the first release of the script) send me a pm for my paypal address.


Anything more to say? Happy importing and _always_ do backups first!


Ah for those begging for a screenshot or demo.. As there has not much changend on the frontend please see this thread for more information: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=81531


btw. Iam going to get some sleep now.. It's 5 in the morning here

* this includes plugins, settings and phrases.. Files have to be removed manually and templates must be reverted manually.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
End-User Options Ajax Check Username MrNase vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 74 10 Sep 2008 10:13
AJAX: check if username exists on registration in realtime MrNase vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 73 25 Jun 2006 20:47
AJAX: check for banned email on registration and changing mail MrNase vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 20 03 Jun 2005 04:43

Comments
  #2  
Old 29 Jul 2005, 06:27
theArchitect's Avatar
theArchitect theArchitect is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Very cool. I will install it on my test board today.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29 Jul 2005, 11:33
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Please report if it's working


I updated it to version 1.1... It now uses the Product Manager even better. This does not affect users who have this hack already installed

Last edited by MrNase; 29 Jul 2005 at 11:50.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29 Jul 2005, 11:51
theArchitect's Avatar
theArchitect theArchitect is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by MrNase
Please report if it's working
It works great. Except:

You say to replace


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This creates a malformed conditional. What you need to do is to remove the </div> tag from the search item so it would look like this



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Apart from that everything works brilliantly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Jul 2005, 12:07
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Ah, ok Iam updating the instructions. Thanks for letting me know
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Jul 2005, 12:09
theArchitect's Avatar
theArchitect theArchitect is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by MrNase
Ah, ok Iam updating the instructions. Thanks for letting me know
Any time.

BTW, your avatar seems to have vanished.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Jul 2005, 12:21
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Instructions are up to date, and there's a small fix available..

This information is for everyone running Version 1.1 or prior:

Open the plugin 'Get Username check setting' and replace it's content with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



btw. it's time for a new avatar
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Jul 2005, 15:11
Scott MacVicar Scott MacVicar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Should consider using the built in AJAX functions in vbulletin_global.js since we've geared them towards all the XMLHTTPRequest browsers including the support of the buggy ones.
__________________
Scott MacVicar
vBulletin Developer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Jul 2005, 15:49
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
I tried that but without a proper documentation (I know, it will be ready when vB3.5 is stable) it was nearly impossible for me to get it working

When I have further information I might release a new version which is using the vBulletin functions
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Jul 2005, 15:55
prawn prawn is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
maybe this should be a build in function for the default release (guess it makes sense).

problem: i installed the plugin but it doesn't show up. what can it be?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Jul 2005, 17:24
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
It doesn't show up? Where? In the Product-Manager?



(Deutsch? Dann schreib mir ne PN )
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Jul 2005, 19:41
prawn prawn is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Thumbs up

Works flawlessly now under http://www.kornworld.de/board/ Nice job!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Jul 2005, 23:20
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Important change in 1.3.. This is for those who have the same problems as prawn had:

Open your template 'register'.

find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


and ADD ABOVE:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31 Jul 2005, 00:59
Scott MacVicar Scott MacVicar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Basically you'll find 3 functions needed for ajax compatibility.
// create the vb ajax object, the parameter is if its to be asynchronous or not
var xml_sender = new vB_AJAX_Handler(true);
// function to be called when ready state changes
xml_sender.onreadystatechange(myfunction);
// send the request
xml_sender.send('file.php', 'do=something&var=' + blahvar);

so when it changes myfunction will be executed.
__________________
Scott MacVicar
vBulletin Developer
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14 Aug 2005, 10:54
SkyShadow SkyShadow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Have anyone installed this hack on RC2?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: