Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Registration form AJAX enhancements Details »
Registration form AJAX enhancements
Mod Version: 1.1.7, by FractalizeR (Coder) FractalizeR is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.0 Rating: (65 votes - 4.72 average) Installs: 832
Released: 09 Jun 2008 Last Update: 24 Jul 2008 Downloads: 5068
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

What does it do?
  • Checks for username validity as you type it in registration form
  • Checks for email validity as you type it in registration form
  • Checks for password validity as you type it in registration form
  • Suggests good passwords
  • Shows strength of your password as you type it in registration form
Points of interest:
  • No template or code changes. All is done using VBulletin Product API.
  • Only several custom phrase is used. All others are taken from VBulletin. So, product localization is VERY easy.
  • All validity checks are implemented using VBulletin API

How to install?
  • Unpack archive into forum root
  • Install *.xml file via Admin Control Panel (Product management)

What is NOT done:
  • No checks implemented for entering captchas as it may seriously lower forum anti-spam security


How to update to latest version?
Overwrite all files by new ones from latest zip and reimport product XML file via Admin Control Panel with "Allow Overwrite" option checked.

Version history:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ajaxreg_demo.jpg
Views:	7044
Size:	63.2 KB
ID:	82112  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 19:01
taxick taxick is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Thomas
Nice - Thx for this nice hack!
__________________
My Site: http://www.wub.nu
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 19:21
AlexanderT's Avatar
AlexanderT AlexanderT is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Nice hack. I only had a quick glance at the code. One note: It's recommended that you sanitize the $_POST variables before using them (following vB's guidelines):

$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array(
'field' => TYPE_NOHTML,
'value' => TYPE_NOHTML,
'value2' => TYPE_NOHTML,
));

And then use the appropriate sanitized variables (e.g. $vbulletin->GPC['field']).
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 19:39
Skavenger Skavenger is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
edited.

Last edited by Skavenger; 10 Jun 2008 at 01:06.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 19:54
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Vladislav
If you are using custom skin, just replace /images/rating filenames in ajaxreg.js with the images you like.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 19:55
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Vladislav
2Skavenger:
Please execute REPAIR TABLE vb_post on your MySQL server. It is not caused by my mod. Just MySQL crashed on your server on some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 19:57
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Vladislav
2AlexanderT:
Thank you for suggestion. I will do as you say.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 20:01
redraider redraider is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by AlexanderT View Post
Nice hack. I only had a quick glance at the code. One note: It's recommended that you sanitize the $_POST variables before using them (following vB's guidelines):

$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array(
'field' => TYPE_NOHTML,
'value' => TYPE_NOHTML,
'value2' => TYPE_NOHTML,
));

And then use the appropriate sanitized variables (e.g. $vbulletin->GPC['field']).
Great hack ... but I second the above advice. Could you please upgrade your code with the above?

Thanks

Last edited by redraider; 09 Jun 2008 at 20:09.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 20:02
avsunforum avsunforum is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 20:05
Legende Legende is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by FractalizeR View Post
If you are using custom skin, just replace /images/rating filenames in ajaxreg.js with the images you like.
Won't show up either? Seems something wrong with folder.

Greets
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 20:22
AdrianH AdrianH is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by Legende View Post
Won't show up either? Seems something wrong with folder.

Greets

Likewise , I tried this edit to give the correct path but the images do not show.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 21:15
DJTREX DJTREX is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
nice ...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 21:52
tafreeh's Avatar
tafreeh tafreeh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Real name: DON
Before installation i n gotta ask some question... i m already using a similar hack,
i think its this one: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=144869

or here is the live demo for my hack: www.tafreehmela.com/register.php

so i want to know, if u want your hack, do i need to upgrade or uninstall my current one and install urs...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 23:08
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
FractalizeR, the rating images show up only in FireFox, but not in internet explorer. That may be why others do not see the ratings.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09 Jun 2008, 23:28
Doctor Death Doctor Death is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Same issue here. Custom Skin, no stars. Good looking mod tho.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10 Jun 2008, 00:51
ecihanuysal's Avatar
ecihanuysal ecihanuysal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
installed the mod, but i am using a turkish character system on my vB. so some letters became a problem at the registration. when i typed an existing user name, here your hack couldnt find any error about it. i tried it with the letter "".

some possible related letters(special characters) are: ,Ş,İ,,Ğ,,,ş,,,ğ,ı

so can we solve it?
__________________
AdliVaka
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:26.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: