Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration Details »
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration
Mod Version: 1.6, by davidw (Coder) davidw is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (7 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 117
Released: 02 Mar 2009 Last Update: 09 Apr 2009 Downloads: 631
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations  

This is no longer supported - however I will be working on a 4.0 compatible version of this.

This is the same version as 3.7 as I've had a few reports that it works just fine in 3.8. Plus, I have it running on 3.8 with no issues.

Step 1:
You may have to resetup your adsense. If you do, you will get a new pub ID - this one includes your previous pub and tacks on your GALT (which is set up when you resetup your adsense account). I used www.christianboards.org and www.google.com (so it would search my site and the web - you can choose only your site, or any location that is web-accessible for results)

Example: partner-pub-0123456789012345:lnucfbm5dtp

If your partner-pub ID does not look like the example, you will see an error.

Also, keep in mind, all sites you put into the box for the adsense (one per line) will be integrated into the search and the search results.

Step 2:
Edit your searchresults.php file.
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Put your correct value.

Example: chdir('/var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/forums/');

Step 3:
Upload this file your forum's root. An example of your forum's root is below.

Example: http://www.yoursite.com/forums/searchresults.php

Step 4:
Install the product
Go to Admincp => Plugins & Products => Manage Products => [Add/Import Product] => Browse for product-davidw_vb_google_search.xml => Import

Step 5:
Configure your Admincp options
Go to Admincp => vBullitin Options => vBulletin Options => Find vB Google Search (Adsense) then click [Edit Settings]
Edit your new Partner-pub ID (the one you just had reset up - see example in red above), Google box width, iframe widthfor your results (I use 800 in the screenshot, but you can change this based on your needs), and the full URL to your searchresults.php.

NOTE! If you do not enter these in, you will see errors.

Step 6: Optional
Edit 1 template:
Admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates (on your style) => Search Templates => search_forums => under $navbar, add $google_siteadsearch

Step 7: Optional (for vBAdvanced 3.x only)
vBa CMPS => Default Settings => Main Options => Portal Output Global Variables

Add these variables:
template_hook
google_navadsearch
homeurl

=> Save

vBa CMPS => Edit Modules => Search Forums => Select Action => Copy Module

Main Options
Module Title Google Search site / Forums
Template To Include search_google

Module Wrapper Template Options
Form Code Replace default code with
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Click Save
Edit locations where you want to set this active to.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp.jpg
Views:	799
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	95706   Click image for larger version

Name:	cmps.gif
Views:	1146
Size:	4.8 KB
ID:	95707   Click image for larger version

Name:	navbar.gif
Views:	1112
Size:	7.2 KB
ID:	95708   Click image for larger version

Name:	searchphp.jpg
Views:	1066
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	95709  

Click image for larger version

Name:	searchresults.jpg
Views:	1681
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	95710  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Integration with vBulletin vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration davidw vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 267 08 Apr 2013 20:49
Integration with vBulletin CFM: Google AdSense for Search Integration Throtex vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 80 05 Aug 2011 22:42
Add-On Releases Google/Adsense Site Search Navbar Integration davidw vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 85 06 Mar 2009 17:34
Add-On Releases vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration davidw vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 171 27 May 2008 12:53
Integration with vBulletin google adsense search automatic integration Delphiprogrammi vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 28 09 May 2008 00:02

Comments
  #2  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 01:12
The3rdNipple The3rdNipple is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
-Edit-
Reserved for mod?

Last edited by The3rdNipple; 02 Mar 2009 at 01:29.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 01:13
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Nice mod, I've wanted to integrate the google search in one of my forums

thanks
-Brandon
__________________

I've been supporting vBulletin and Wordpress for over a decade, contact me for any assistance.
Interested in DNA testing or drug testing information, look here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 01:29
The3rdNipple The3rdNipple is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Good Job!

Can you make it so that it disables the default search and you must use Search With Google?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 01:32
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
Originally Posted by The3rdNipple View Post
-Edit-
Reserved for mod?
I don't do that. I have reservations about reserving the first post but I won't get into that.

Originally Posted by The3rdNipple View Post
Good Job!

Can you make it so that it disables the default search and you must use Search With Google?
You could always do a template edit and remove the code that controls it. If you are unsure of which, let me know.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 03:18
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Vinayak
Hii..

Just wanted to know if its okay to display adsense for search in the Search popup box as in your 3rd screenshot.

Originally Posted by Adsense Programme Policy
No Google ad or Google search box may be displayed in a pop-up, pop-under, or in an email.
I remember digitalpoint forums used to have this sometime back, but they have removed it now from the popup box.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 13:05
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
Screenshot 3 is a drop-down box - it is part of the navigation system. A pop-up or pop-under is free-floating and can usually be disassociated with the current browser (will create a new instance of a browser page). Prior to creating this modificaiton, I checked the Program Policies to ensure this would comply.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 14:59
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Working great, thankyou.
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09 Mar 2009, 13:37
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
Just one thing, my search box for vBadvanced cmps is a little wide knocking my forums out a little, how can I adjust the size?
__________________
talkGEEK | Burnley Online
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 Mar 2009, 14:17
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
You can adjust that in the admincp options.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24 Mar 2009, 09:19
ecihanuysal's Avatar
ecihanuysal ecihanuysal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
installed..

but when i tried to search some words which include special characters ",,ğ,Ğ,İ,,,ş,Ş,,", i had an error without reason description.

Can you solve it please
__________________
AdliVaka
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Mar 2009, 13:09
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
This is something I'll have to investigate. I just got back. Give me a little bit. I believe it has to do with ISO encoding but let me see.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Mar 2009, 14:51
Jasem's Avatar
Jasem Jasem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: www.menokia.com
Good work, thank you!

Installed
__________________
games
Forum Nokia
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30 Mar 2009, 19:56
karel1985 karel1985 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Karel B.
Step 7: Optional (for vBAdvanced 3.x only)
vBa CMPS => Default Settings => Main Options => Portal Output Global Variables

Add these variables:
template_hook
google_navadsearch
homeurl

=> Save

vBa CMPS => Edit Modules => Search Forums => Select Action => Copy Module

Main Options
Module Title Google Search site / Forums
Template To Include search_google

Module Wrapper Template Options
Form Code Replace default code with
Code:

<form action="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/searchresults.php" type="hidden" name="search" target="_blank">

Click Save
Is it possible to change the width of the search box? Its strech my column out...
__________________
Dutch Pc Helpforum - www.pc-helpforum.be
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30 Mar 2009, 21:40
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: David
Your admincp options should give you that ability.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Christianboards.org * Web Design * CIW Certified * My hacks

Check my hacks to see which ones are marked as re-usable.

Please do not contact me through my site for vBulletin matters. These issues should be handled on vBulletin sites. I am not the only person who handles the contact us mail for my site.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: