Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Signature only on first post Details »
Signature only on first post
Mod Version: 1.00, by Zachariah (Coder/Designer) Zachariah is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.91 average) Installs: 208
Released: 17 Feb 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 528
Not Supported Template Edits  

Signature only on first post VB3.6x

This will cause each user's signature to be shown only on their first post on each page vs. on every post during a thread listing.

Originally Posted by Thug
Hi i was wondering if theres a hack where peoples sigs only show once per page?
In the postbit or postbit_legacy template,

Find :


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with this one:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There can be only one ! ~ The Highlander

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Signature only on first post Zachariah vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 134 14 Aug 2009 05:59

Comments
  #2  
Old 17 Feb 2007, 23:53
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
There is no changes in the code from the 3.5 version.

This simple template edit works on 3.x, 3.5x, 3.6x.
- If you have installed it before there is no reason to update.
- I placed this here for people who may not explore older hacks.
__________________
http://www.szone.us |

Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org

Last edited by Zachariah; 18 Feb 2007 at 00:08.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 00:35
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
I've been using this for quite a while (vB 3.6.4) and it works great, I use the version (3.5) you posted before this. (I know they're the same)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 00:43
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
I love it.
I still have a few 56k modem warriors that game on line, and many leave images on their personal setting as there are less to look at per page load.

__________________
http://www.szone.us |

Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 00:47
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
This should be a standard option in vBulletin. Either configured by the admin or the end user. I saw the other mod that allows users to choose, but I'd rather use this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 01:18
Tralala's Avatar
Tralala Tralala is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Zachariah View Post
I love it.
I still have a few 56k modem warriors that game on line, and many leave images on their personal setting as there are less to look at per page load.

Yours was the first hack I installed to allow "one sig per page" and I like it very much! I did want to clarify though, as I posted in the thread for the other (user-selectable) version, with regards to the "impact" this has for the 56k modem warriors:

If a poster (with a video or large picture sig) has many posts (and therefore, sigs) on a page, it wouldn't be any slower for a dial-up user to download the page than if that same poster only had one post (and therefore, one sig) on the page. It's not like the page has to download the same exact thing every time. It downloads the image once, and just displays it multiple times.

(IE: if I presented an HTML page showing one single image 20 times, it doesn't download 20 copies of that file for a reader, and the page doesn't take 20 times longer to download. It downloads that image once, the web browser is simply told to display it 20 times.)

I still like this customization, however, because it can make the page easier to read and cuts down on the sig clutter! (As you say, "less to look at" per page load.) But lest anyone be confused... it won't speed up downloading time for dial-up users, per se. It may speed up browser window rendering speed. But not downloading time.

I still like it, though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 03:19
Jorrit787 Jorrit787 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
It would be nice if this could be a standard feature of vBulletin.
__________________
EverythingKMC.com - A forum for the Kaiserslautern Military Community.
USAREURPracticeTest.com - Test your knowledge of the USAREUR Driver License manual for Germany.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 04:32
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by Smoothie View Post
This should be a standard option in vBulletin. Either configured by the admin or the end user. I saw the other mod that allows users to choose, but I'd rather use this.
Originally Posted by Jorrit787 View Post
It would be nice if this could be a standard feature of vBulletin.
Duh!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 05:07
Jorrit787 Jorrit787 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Originally Posted by Smoothie View Post
Duh!
What?
__________________
EverythingKMC.com - A forum for the Kaiserslautern Military Community.
USAREURPracticeTest.com - Test your knowledge of the USAREUR Driver License manual for Germany.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 05:30
Tralala's Avatar
Tralala Tralala is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Jorrit787 View Post
What?
Smoothie was making a joke that he'd already said the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 06:17
Jorrit787 Jorrit787 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Originally Posted by Tralala View Post
Smoothie was making a joke that he'd already said the same thing.
I'm aware that he already said it. I was merely adding my +1 to it.
__________________
EverythingKMC.com - A forum for the Kaiserslautern Military Community.
USAREURPracticeTest.com - Test your knowledge of the USAREUR Driver License manual for Germany.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 13:49
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
I always had an issue w/ signatures taking away from the thread's relevant information when reading 50-60 pages of posts, and seeing nothing but a bunch of self expression vs. participation in the debate.

I got to the point for 2-3 years of all that mess shoved in the member profile (where it belongs) and disabled signatures.

This allowed me to re-enable signatures.


Tralala,

There is less HTML to process per page of threads by the client browser, hence the page will load faster and "lag" less when scrolling up and down as there are less objects per page load.

(anyway my system lags less w/ my normal 20-30 windows open and 15 programs running)

__________________
http://www.szone.us |

Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org

Last edited by Zachariah; 18 Feb 2007 at 13:57.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 17:17
Tralala's Avatar
Tralala Tralala is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Zachariah View Post
(anyway my system lags less w/ my normal 20-30 windows open and 15 programs running)


I understand that and I very much appreciate it... but for folks to say "dial-up users are sure to love this" seems to miss the point. As if they are the only ones to see a benefit? As if duplicating sigs means the user has to download the same image multiple times?

I'm not putting down the add-on in any way, I use it and love it and think it should be available by default in the vBulletin core software. Precisely because it's not just for "dial-up modem warriors."
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 19:28
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
If you allow signatures on your forum, it's a constant battle keeping them acceptable in size. Don't matter to me if this does or does not affect page load times, it's never been an issue on my site. What it does do is clean up the post, so you're not seeing all that other nonsense that distacts from the actual posts.

I've been on some forums where the signatures allowed are these huge images, post after post with the same images. Very annoying if you ask me. This cuts the clutter to a minimum.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Feb 2007, 19:40
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Originally Posted by Tralala View Post
Precisely because it's not just for "dial-up modem warriors."
Oh yes I hear ya. I just got a kick out of the term
I can recall for many years wishing I could get a 9600, 14.4, 33.6, 56k .
I can recall only 12 hours left for this mp3 I found !

/me dances

Originally Posted by Smoothie View Post
I've been on some forums where the signatures allowed are these huge images, post after post with the same images. Very annoying if you ask me. This cuts the clutter to a minimum.
Exactly !
__________________
http://www.szone.us |

Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org

Last edited by Zachariah; 18 Feb 2007 at 19:45.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: