Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Navbar Dropdown Menu Arrows Details »
Navbar Dropdown Menu Arrows
Mod Version: 1.00, by choccyclaire (Member) choccyclaire is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (1 vote - 1.00 average) Installs: 6
Released: 19 Jan 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code  

Will work on all vBulletin versions.


Description

This minor template edit will remove the arrows that are to the right of all links with drop down menus in the navbar.

Installation Time

About 30 seconds!



In the navbar template

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Only a small modification but I think it neatens up the navbar on certain styles.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	navbar.jpg
Views:	1124
Size:	20.2 KB
ID:	93082  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin Blog Blog dropdown menu in navbar Taragon vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 08 Dec 2008 11:53
Mini Mods Moderation menu (Navbar Dropdown) Roms vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 28 10 Sep 2007 04:17
Removing arrows from dropdown menu links SleekSkins vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 7 04 Nov 2006 13:06

Comments
  #2  
Old 19 Jan 2009, 23:58
lazydesis lazydesis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
any reason why people may want to remove it?

thanks.
__________________
http://www.lazydesis.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20 Jan 2009, 00:20
SwollenCranium's Avatar
SwollenCranium SwollenCranium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Originally Posted by lazyindian View Post
any reason why people may want to remove it?

thanks.
Not me .. Some of my users are so dumb I wonder how they even manage to log in sometimes, take away their arrows and other directional aids and they would be lost.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 Jan 2009, 09:28
KatieG's Avatar
KatieG KatieG is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I cannot see the logic in doing this, just seems pointless..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 Jan 2009, 11:33
RHWiRED RHWiRED is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
It's pointless, and how are people going to know what type of menu item it is? If it doesn't have an arrow, I wouldn't click it because I'd assume it was going to open a new page/tab on me.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Jan 2009, 11:54
choccyclaire's Avatar
choccyclaire choccyclaire is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Well I've had two of my buddies asked me how to do it and it works well on my custom skin.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Jan 2009, 15:09
thedudleys thedudleys is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Nick
not trying to bump, but had to check this out for a min thinking it would be good but this is like a complete opposite of what i had in mind, its like taking apart vbulletin rather than improving its look.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Jan 2009, 11:28
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
This is a support thread, not a discussion on whether you see the point to a mod. If you dont want to use it, feel free to leave this thread, not make unhelpful comments.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29 Jan 2009, 16:06
chick's Avatar
chick chick is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by SwollenCranium View Post
Not me .. Some of my users are so dumb I wonder how they even manage to log in sometimes, take away their arrows and other directional aids and they would be lost.
lol so true, my members also would be lost.
__________________
Thank you all, everything you do is appreciated!
vbSpill It 2009 - Anonymous Posting Mod
vbPenAward 2009 - Writers Pen Awards
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Jan 2009, 18:46
cdnbacon cdnbacon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
This is a support thread, not a discussion on whether you see the point to a mod. If you dont want to use it, feel free to leave this thread, not make unhelpful comments.
I know I'm also not helping much by replying but I just wanted to add that a mod should reset this poor guys addon rating. People are rating this addon based on its concept, not its execution.

Honestly people, who knows why someone would want this removed, but obviously someone did...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Jan 2009, 11:34
cavebox cavebox is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
In some templates the arrows don't come over very well (i know its a template thing), just because of that.............. Great work to bring it on for the people who want to know how to do this
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Feb 2009, 14:56
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peggy
In alot of styles, the arrows don't show well if you're replacing the default vB arrow.
Almost all of my custom clients ask me to remove it, and I have been for years.

Really, people are smarter than you think. All they have to do is hover over the word on the navbar to get the dropdown menu.
Good going choccyclaire.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 Mar 2009, 14:34
Warlock40 Warlock40 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by lazyindian View Post
any reason why people may want to remove it?

thanks.
Its a simple thing. The arrows don't always display the same in some browsers... at least customized themes. So it is an eye sore that is nice to easily remove.

Whether or not our users are stupid and can't figure it out is irrelevant to the fact that this post was helpful for a quick solution to an otherwise maddening template change during an update...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06 Mar 2009, 07:25
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
a simple template edit is better than this

in ADMINCP go to styles and templates
Click Style Manager
expand any of your custom styles
Select MAIN CSS

add the following to Additional CSS Definitions

.vbmenu_control img {
display:none;
}

or

.navitem img {
display:none;
}

or both, add these to each style and icon will go
you dont need to make any template edits
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: