Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Survey: Add a full-featured survey tool to your forum Details »
vB Survey: Add a full-featured survey tool to your forum
Mod Version: 2.0, by Spikeman (Member) Spikeman is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (8 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 118
Released: 26 Apr 2009 Last Update: 27 Apr 2009 Downloads: 962
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations  

What this hack does:

This hack will add a full featured survey application system to your forum. You can survey your members opinions on various topics, or allow usergroups to create their own surveys.

Credits: John W. Holmes: Author of UCCASS Survey.
tamarian who initially released this hack for vB3.0 - 3.5 before I ported it to 3.6 - 3.8 outstanding work by him.

Application Features: See the UCCASS site for full details.

http://www.bigredspark.com/survey.html

The UCCASS offers some advanced features such as branching conditionals (allows hiding/displaying questions based on specific answers), result filtrations and much more.

Integration features:
Replaced authentication with VB's user database
Set permissions per usergroup, for admin/edit/create/take and view results priviliges.
Replaced config files with vB admin settings
Applied vB style to the UCCASS templates (it uses Smarty)

vB Survey added features: (some will be ported back to UCCASS)
Added anonymity option. If a survey is not anonymous, members can see how other members answered.
Added Hide/unhide survey option. This is useful to send surveys to specific users or usergroups.
Added Date answer types (D), with dropdown lists for day, month, year to ensure correct date entry.
Added REGEX control for new answer types, to control the answer format.
Added size control for single like text answers and REGEX answers.

Liscense: The original UCCASS Survey application is released under a modified GPL Liscense (Aferro GPL) : http://www.bigredspark.com/survey/license.txt (or look under the /docs directory in the zip file)

Installation difficulty:
2 mins, all done via product file.

Installation:

* Unpack the included file
* Copy survey.php to your main forum directory
* Copy the survey directory into your forum directory (cannot change the directory name)
* Install the Product-Survey.xml
* The product file will also install all data for the 2 default surveys to get you started.
* Go to AdminCP => vBulletin Options => Survey System Options - and set the options for access and other settings
* If you get permission errors, change file permissions for the survey directory and its contents to 744, and the owner/group to apache:apache (or, some servers are setup to nobody:nobody):

cd /path/to/main/forum

chown -R apache:apache survey

chmod -R 744 survey

Notes:

1. The "do not remove" comment on the copyright link in the footer is from the original UCCASS footer template. You may contact the original author, John W. Holmes, for permission to remove the copyright notice, he's willing to talk according to their support forum.
2. If you use FTP to upload the survey directory, you might have problems with subdirectories under /survey/smarty/template_c due to the directory names with % signs. In this case, you can delete all the directories under template_c (but not the template_c directory itself). Those subdirectories will be recreated automatically when the templates are read.


Please click Install if you have installed this mod.


1. All tables, templates, phrases etc are installed via product file.
2. Support for wol has been added.
3. Some bugs fixed with the UCCASS system

I would grateful if you did click Install if you use it. Remember you only get notified of updates if you Install

Demo Here :- http://www.beta-tester.co.uk/iphone/survey.php please note the Demo may have restrictions as it is a live board. You may or may not be able to test the survey as a guest, this will not affect your sites as generally why would you want guests taking a survey on your site, you would never get a true survey result, I have only enabled this on my board so as to get the ball rolling and you guys can see it. you should all be able to see results page though.

If you have the older 3.5 Hack installed you MUST uninstall that before installing 3.8

Translations:-
Arabic - patch developer

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions vB Survey: Add a full-featured survey tool to your forum Spikeman vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 251 25 Sep 2015 05:00
vB Survey: Add a full-featured survey tool to your forum tamarian vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 274 21 Dec 2007 04:35
vB Survey (UCCASS Survey app integration) tamarian vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 101 31 Jul 2006 18:25

  #31  
Old 10 May 2009, 17:38
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by silly rabbit View Post
Spikeman, just wanted to say 'nice job', adaptation to vB, working great on 3.8.2

I added the "custom url" redirect at survey end back in, it seems to be working fine after limited testing. To accomplish in "\survey\templates\Default\edit_survey_properties.tpl":

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

After Add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Everything else seems to be intact, working fine!

Thanks! Rabbit
Fixed in next release
__________________
Regards

Last edited by Spikeman; 05 Jun 2009 at 08:45.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 23 May 2009, 15:56
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
When I click on values, I get:
The requested URL /display_answers.php was not found on this server.

PS, I'm getting the error as a Guest:
The following surveys are available. Click on a link to begin taking the survey. Some surveys may be restricted to specific groups:

There are no surveys available at this time.
I did selected that the Guest usergroup can take surveys. Please make it IP locked, should solve some issues that you already took the survey.

EDIT:
When I wish to preview a Survey I already made, I'm getting:
You have already completed the requested survey.
I love this plugin btw, thanks!

Last edited by Skyrider; 23 May 2009 at 16:29.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 23 May 2009, 17:58
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by FF|Skyrider View Post
When I click on values, I get:
The requested URL /display_answers.php was not found on this server.
Check that that file has been uploaded to server.

PS, I'm getting the error as a Guest:

The following surveys are available. Click on a link to begin taking the survey. Some surveys may be restricted to specific groups:

There are no surveys available at this time.


I did selected that the Guest usergroup can take surveys. Please make it IP locked, should solve some issues that you already took the survey.
If you take a look in survey.php, this will allow guests to take surveys.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to:-


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



This will allow surveys to be taken more than once.

Find this line in survey/classes/survey.class.php around line 129, comment these lines out.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That should do it
__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 23 May 2009, 19:26
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Thanks, I'll try. But I'm sorry, display_answers.php is not in the zip file you uploaded on this thread. I checked both.

EDIT:
Just edited survey.php and changed the 0 setting to 1 (even tried copy/pasting), and I still get:
The following surveys are available. Click on a link to begin taking the survey. Some surveys may be restricted to specific groups:

There are no surveys available at this time.
And yes, I checked "Available Survey", for registered people there is 1 available. I also added everyone within the usergroup list to the allow to take survey list.

PPS, the "admincp" folder you added within the zip file is empty.

Last edited by Skyrider; 23 May 2009 at 19:41.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 27 May 2009, 10:17
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
pm me your site details and I will take a look.
__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 27 May 2009, 12:18
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Nadeem Qadir
wonderful mod.
installed and nominated for MOM.

please tell me what code should i add in the navbar to have this option display there as [survey]

thanx
__________________
Family Bunker
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 21:30
BlackJacket's Avatar
BlackJacket BlackJacket is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: V
Originally Posted by Spikeman View Post
pm me your site details and I will take a look.
Could i install this outside my forum directory?

www.mysite.com/survey.php

Thanks for the great mod.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 01:56
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by Nadeemjp View Post


please tell me what code should i add in the navbar to have this option display there as [survey]
Add this to your navbar template where you want it to appear


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 02:05
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by NittoMOD View Post
Could i install this outside my forum directory?

www.mysite.com/survey.php
I have not tested it, however you will need to change the variables in survey.php to begin with and take it from there. If you need help on the changes let me know.
__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 02:20
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by FF|Skyrider View Post
When I click on values, I get:
The requested URL /display_answers.php was not found on this server.
My bad i just re read this! There is no display_answers.php nor should there be, so I do not know how you are getting this as I cannot replicate the error.

Can you go to my demo and see if you get the same error from my board. http://www.beta-tester.co.uk/iphone/survey.php
__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 03:51
BlackJacket's Avatar
BlackJacket BlackJacket is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: V
Originally Posted by Spikeman View Post
I have not tested it, however you will need to change the variables in survey.php to begin with and take it from there. If you need help on the changes let me know.
I need help with the changes, lol.

PM what you need. Thank you so much for your help. It is greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 10:06
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Nadeem Qadir
Originally Posted by Spikeman View Post
Add this to your navbar template where you want it to appear


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
thank you very much for the help
__________________
Family Bunker
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02 Jun 2009, 10:07
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by NittoMOD View Post
I need help with the changes, lol.

PM what you need. Thank you so much for your help. It is greatly appreciated!
PM sent
__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03 Jun 2009, 12:53
Spinball's Avatar
Spinball Spinball is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Is it possible to embed the survey results within a post? Or below it?
__________________
AVForums.com the UK's largest audio visual home consumer electronics forums. Now using Xenforo because vB5 is not suitable for large forums and vB3 and vB4 are no longer being developed.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03 Jun 2009, 19:00
Spikeman Spikeman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Gareth
Originally Posted by Spinball View Post
Is it possible to embed the survey results within a post? Or below it?

I am looking into making the results available within the ACP, also auto creation of thread when new surveys are posted allowing for a much greater control over permissions, users can then access the survey link from the thread with the inclusion of an invite system for greater control (for Example) invite 100, 200 random users to take survey over a specified time period.

These are just my thoughts, I have some code that is already done its just all a time factor
__________________
Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: