Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
PHPSpellchecker for VB2.x! (Beta) Details »
PHPSpellchecker for VB2.x! (Beta)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Raz (Member) Raz is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2006 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 13
Released: 14 Jul 2002 Last Update: Never Downloads: 2
Not Supported Is in Beta Stage  

OK, finally here is the code for the PHPSpellchecker!
If you find any bugs, please post your findings here

Check out the Zip file for more info.

Enjoy!
Raz

Note: You will require PSpell (inc ASpell) installed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
[Beta Release] VB2 TranslateIT V1 Dave# vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 3 27 Aug 2001 06:48

  #16  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 00:09
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
Originally posted by Prince

(btw, I just asked my web host to install the pspell libraries and they had it done within 24 hours.)
hmm...sounds like a fitting idea, I will try. My host (vervehosting) seems to be fairly quick on their support.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 00:21
Prince Prince is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
any ideas on the blank pages Raz?
__________________
www.ironmagazineforums.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 01:01
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Justin J. Rebbert
Question: I thought I had understood from the earlier thread that this would require aspell. Maybe I misunderstood. Now you say it requires pspell. What's the difference? I've also heard of ispell. Will any of them work? Does it have to be specifically pspell? I already asked my webhost to install aspell.
__________________
-Justin J. "JJR512" Rebbert
www.JJR512.com: Chat about anything!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 01:18
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
I've only read in this thread (and also the readme) that it requires Pspell. No where does it mention Aspell or Ispell ...

Can anyone explain the differences, I'm not aware of them either..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 01:28
Paul Paul is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.pspell.php

aspell, an open source library, includes pspell support for php. You can get it at aspell.sourceforge.net or www.aspell.net. I believe, although I may be incorrect, that ispell was originally intended for use with perl. Installing the aspell libraries is all you need to do. The aspell developers call it "A More Intelligent Ispell".

Installing it depends entirely on your server platform, version of php, and the level of access you have with your server. If you host your own site on your own server that you have full, unrestricted access to, then you should understand how to add libraries to php. If you have no idea how any of this works, chances are you have a shared server or managed account that you're paying someone else to maintain for you. If that's the case, contact your hosting company's support staff and request that pspell support be compiled into php by compiling with the --with-pspell[=dir]. Direct them to the aspell.sourceforge.net site as well.

If they do not understand how to do this, or are unwilling to do this for you, then take this as a wake up call that you need a more competent host and switch to a company that is more responsive to your needs and is more familiar with the technology they are using to host your web site. It might seem like more trouble than it's worth for a spell checker, but in all honesty, if they don't understand this stuff, they're in the wrong business.

You cannot add pspell support to php without root access to your machine. If you are mailing out a monthly check to some company for their "web hosting plan" then chances are you cannot do this yourself, unless you have a dedicated server with root access.

Last edited by LoveShack; 15 Jul 2002 at 01:33.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 02:10
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
Thnx for sharing us that info LS
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 07:14
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
Wow this is pro, I just got a response back from my host saying they installed Pspell, sweeeet. Defiantly fast. ^_^

edit:

ack! drat, they told me it's installed but the pop-up window is giving me this error:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

help?

Last edited by Velocd; 15 Jul 2002 at 07:25.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 07:40
Chen's Avatar
Chen Chen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
That error means they didn't install the library correctly.
__________________
Chen Avinadav
Formerly vBulletin.org Owner and Founder

chen@avinadav.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 09:00
Raz's Avatar
Raz Raz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
They may have installed the pspell libraries, but they will also need to recompile PHP with pspell support i.e. with the --with-pspell[=dir] directive.
__________________
~Raz~
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 09:03
Raz's Avatar
Raz Raz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally posted by Prince
any ideas on the blank pages Raz?
Send me a test account (via PM) and I'll check it out.
__________________
~Raz~
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 16:13
Prince Prince is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Hey Raz, is it possible to run the spell check from another domain?
I have two sites (a separate domain/account for my forums) and I was wondering if I could run the spell checker from my other account to save resources on the forums account.
__________________
www.ironmagazineforums.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 21:35
Raz's Avatar
Raz Raz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Nope, it has to be installed on the domain that it will be used on.

The only reason for this is because of the way IE has set permissions for modifying forms.
__________________
~Raz~
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 15 Jul 2002, 22:26
diettalk's Avatar
diettalk diettalk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Do you have a screenshots?
__________________
John
diet support at diettalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 16 Jul 2002, 02:52
Virix Virix is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally posted by LoveShack
http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.pspell.php
If they do not understand how to do this, or are unwilling to do this for you, then take this as a wake up call that you need a more competent host and switch to a company that is more responsive to your needs and is more familiar with the technology they are using to host your web site. It might seem like more trouble than it's worth for a spell checker, but in all honesty, if they don't understand this stuff, they're in the wrong business.
I disagree, if the host is this willing to just try something out on a production box, then I wouldn't trust my data with them...

What if they install something that causes wide spread data coruption, 'whoops, it was a customers request...'

You don't install everything a customer wants.. Thats why it shared hosting.. If you want certain software, get a dedicated box...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 16 Jul 2002, 03:44
Paul Paul is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally posted by Virix


I disagree, if the host is this willing to just try something out on a production box, then I wouldn't trust my data with them...

What if they install something that causes wide spread data coruption, 'whoops, it was a customers request...'

You don't install everything a customer wants.. Thats why it shared hosting.. If you want certain software, get a dedicated box...
I don't want to continue on an irrelevant tangent, but I think it's understood that a hosting provider is not going to put untested modifications on their servers without doing proper research and testing.

A decent hosting company will certainly try to cater to their customer's needs as much as they can to a certain extent. There are competent services out there that will do this for you.

And with regard to data, any half-decent company will regularly backup your data.

If anyone is interested in finding such companies, try the hosting forum over at vBulletin.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: