Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Star Sign Mod v1a Details »
Star Sign Mod v1a
Mod Version: 1.A, by TheSupportForum (Coder/Designer) TheSupportForum is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.3 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 10
Released: 17 Sep 2008 Last Update: 18 Sep 2008 Downloads: 74
Not Supported Additional Files  

=======================
Star Signs V1
vBulletin 3.7.3--
Author (c)
Simon Hind
Tutorials4you
Author Contact
http://www.tutorials4you.co.uk/
17/09/2008 - Date of Update
=======================



=======================
LICENCE
Star Signs V1
vBulletin 3.7.3
--
LICENCE - do not modify the documentation or the links,
please also leave the comment tags which show tutorials4you.co.uk in the comments
=======================



=======================
Change Log
--
=======================



=======================
About
--
The modification will show a drop down in the usercp
Thus, from the drop down the user selects his/her Star Sign
The postbit include will display it each of the users threads
=======================


=======================
Installation
--
**********************************
STEP 1 - Upload starsigns to your server
**********************************

Upload the folder "starsigns" to your images/buttons - this is deauflt template not other templates
or
Upload the folder "starsigns" to your images/templatefoldername/buttons - do not create folder name templatefoldername

You should be able to access it using the URL (web address)

http://www.yoursite.com/your-forum/i...tons/starsigns
**********************************
STEP 2 - Admincp setup
**********************************

AdminCP > User Profile Fields > Add New User Profile Field > Single-Selection Menu
--
Fill in the following forms with these details..
--
Title: Star Signs
Description:Add Star Signs to your profile
Profile Field Category: (Uncategorized)
Options: Open the list.txt and copy and paste the whole file in here
Set Default: None
Display Order: 5 (Or whatever else is there)
Field Required: Yes, at registeration and profile updating
Field Editable by User: Yes
Private Field: No
Field Searchable: No
Show on Members List: Yes
Allow user to input their own value for this option: No
Max length of allowed user input: SKIP
Field Length: SKIP
Regular Expression: SKIP
Display Page: Edit Your Details
--
SAVE


change fieldxx to the fieldnumber for example 5

to find the field number follow these instructions
AdminCP > > User Profile Fields > User Profile Field Manager
--

User Profile Fields in Area: Edit Your Details
Title / Profile Field Type
(Uncategorized)
Star Sign
Name

under name should show field name




**********************************
STEP 3 - Template Configuration and Edits
**********************************
-=-=-=-
THIS IS FOR POSTBIT NOT LEGACY(below)
-=-=-=-
AdminCP > > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Edit Templates > Postbit Templates > postbit
--
FIND
#########################
<div>$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]</div>
#########################
ADD BELOW
#########################
<!-- Simons StarSign Start -->
<if condition="$post['fieldxx']">
Star Sign: <img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/starsigns/$post[fieldxx].gif" alt="Star Sign" border="" />
</if>
<!--// Simons StarSign End -->
#########################
--
SAVE

-=-=-=-
THIS IS FOR POSTBIT LEGACY(below)
-=-=-=-
AdminCP > > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Edit Templates > Postbit Templates > postbit_legacy
--
FIND
#########################
<div>$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]</div>
#########################
ADD BELOW
#########################
<!-- Simons StarSign Start -->
<if condition="$post['fieldxx']">
Star Sign: <img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/starsigns/$post[fieldxx].gif" alt="Star Sign" border="" />
</if>
<!--// Simons StarSign End -->
#########################
--
SAVE

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.GIF
Views:	657
Size:	4.3 KB
ID:	87014  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 17 Sep 2008, 01:27
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
nice i ma try it,is there any other choice of pictures?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17 Sep 2008, 01:30
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
working on at tomorrow

imgaes are to big, and will offer dark, light images and 50x50 pixel size
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17 Sep 2008, 01:44
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
kool i will wait thnx for reply
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Sep 2008, 18:39
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
update made to images and alot smaller, will be working on changing location of info but not for a week or 2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Sep 2008, 04:03
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
ok thnx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 Sep 2008, 12:46
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Nadeem Qadir
hello simon i have installed as per your instructions.
however, inspite of the fields showing up in the user cp, i selected my loccation like japan and my star as cancer and sacved the changes. but there do not appear on the posts i made on the forum. i wanted to know where do these images appear? and if they are supposed to appear on every post i make, then why is it not appearing?
__________________
Family Bunker
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Sep 2008, 14:35
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Nadeem Qadir
I am not getting the proper image

As shown in the image, the country flag is appearing fine but the star sign is not.

also, can you please guide me as to how i can shift the POWER below sign and country? (I mean in the new line)

thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png 1.png (6.0 KB, 887 views)
__________________
Family Bunker
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Sep 2008, 18:32
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Nadeemjp View Post
As shown in the image, the country flag is appearing fine but the star sign is not.

also, can you please guide me as to how i can shift the POWER below sign and country? (I mean in the new line)

thank you
where did you place the images (which folder in public_html)

dont forget you need to change the route in
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/starsigns/$post[fieldxx].gif" alt="Star Sign" border="" />

$post[fieldxx].gif ( fieldxx needs to chane to the field number for the custom field name created)

reply for more support

if you email me your postbit template i'll do it for you
hinds@iams.islington.sch.uk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Sep 2008, 20:42
Nadeemjp Nadeemjp is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Nadeem Qadir
dear simon
yes i changed the route as accordingly.
i shall mail you the postbit and postbit legacy codes. i did it exactly the same manner as the country flags. i know i am missing something out but couldnt put my fingers on.

i have put the folder in images/buttons/starsign
__________________
Family Bunker
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Oct 2008, 20:36
PAKIDIL PAKIDIL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
installed (y).
and nadeem its the code problem you didnt add buttons i think try this coding

<!-- Simons StarSign Start -->
<if condition="$post[fieldXX]">
Star Sign: <img src="images/buttons/starsigns/$post[fieldXX].gif">
</if>
<!--// Simons StarSign End -->

WHERE XX IS YOUR FIELD ID
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19 Oct 2008, 00:09
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by PAKIDIL View Post
installed (y).
and nadeem its the code problem you didnt add buttons i think try this coding

<!-- Simons StarSign Start -->
<if condition="$post[fieldXX]">
Star Sign: <img src="images/buttons/starsigns/$post[fieldXX].gif">
</if>
<!--// Simons StarSign End -->

WHERE XX IS YOUR FIELD ID
Nadeem has already been sorted out, i doen this for him myself as i created this template edit

i done this ages ago
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19 Oct 2008, 15:21
PAKIDIL PAKIDIL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by simonhind View Post
Nadeem has already been sorted out, i doen this for him myself as i created this template edit

i done this ages ago
okay but when i visited this thread his post was the last one and no replied from ya .its good that you have sort it out but i have also posted for all others who are viewing this thread it might help them
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19 Oct 2008, 15:59
TheSupportForum TheSupportForum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by PAKIDIL View Post
okay but when i visited this thread his post was the last one and no replied from ya .its good that you have sort it out but i have also posted for all others who are viewing this thread it might help them
thanks
okay, i some more ideas on template edits like this one, soem more comming soon
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23 Oct 2008, 17:17
PAKIDIL PAKIDIL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
images are too large is it possible if someone can make starsign small with written form uper or lower like charm or some small word description defining the star
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: