Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Quick search pre-populated results: give your visitors quick thread suggestions Details »
Quick search pre-populated results: give your visitors quick thread suggestions
Mod Version: 1.00, by ibautocommunity (Coder) ibautocommunity is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.4 Rating: (4 votes - 4.00 average) Installs: 31
Released: 28 Aug 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 280
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

Product video demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOUq4Z6R7xI

This product integrates with the quicksearch drop down box in NAVBAR; and suggests popular threads while the visitor is typing in search keywords.

Read INSTRUCTIONS.txt for installation instructions.

NOTICE: To fine-tune and configure "relevancy threshold" you must edit /includes/cron/autocomplete-generate.php file. Default installation assumes you have a big discussion forums and suggests only threads which have more than 1000 replies or 1000 views. Edit this number, the query looks like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 21:41
ExplosiveGFX ExplosiveGFX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Mike
I don't understand this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Do I change this, or leave it like that? Hopefully I can get a response, you've replied to me in the past..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 21:55
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
Originally Posted by ExplosiveGFX View Post
I don't understand this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Do I change this, or leave it like that? Hopefully I can get a response, you've replied to me in the past..
See the number 1000?

This number means VIEWS/REPLIES need to be MORE THAN 1000 to get into the list. This works for BIG forums, but may not work on a small forum. If you have a small board you can change the 1000 to 100, and scale it even smaller to include all threads.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 22:06
ExplosiveGFX ExplosiveGFX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Mike
I changed it to "3" and tried it.. hmm, it's not working. I ran the scheduled task and it's saying on there, that it's not been run since january.

I'll try again tomorrow...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 22:12
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
Originally Posted by ExplosiveGFX View Post
I changed it to "3" and tried it.. hmm, it's not working. I ran the scheduled task and it's saying on there, that it's not been run since january.

I'll try again tomorrow...
You can look at the file system to physically verify that the cron task actually created the text file for you, in the directory you specified. Also have to make sure Jquery is included.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 22:20
ExplosiveGFX ExplosiveGFX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Mike
Well, actually, now I've looked for data.txt (I'd already looked, the code referenced it, I assumed it'd create it) it's not there.

DIR is CHMODDED to 777.

Could it be that I don't have SED on my server? How common is it on Linux/Unix Distros? This feature would be sweet for my site..

But Wait, RSS feeds and anything to do with scheduled tasks aren't working either.. looks like I have a conflict in mods.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 22:21
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
When you press RUN NOW button on that specific cron job it has to build the data file; if its not - sed is missing or your cron system is not working for some reason. This is a really simple mod.
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 22:28
ExplosiveGFX ExplosiveGFX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Mike
hmm, ok, so now the data_1256681036.txt files have appeared in my CHMOD'd dir, but still not autocompleting.

I'll go over the installation process and re-do it all..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 22:34
ibautocommunity's Avatar
ibautocommunity ibautocommunity is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Anders
Originally Posted by ExplosiveGFX View Post
hmm, ok, so now the data_1256681036.txt files have appeared in my CHMOD'd dir, but still not autocompleting.

I'll go over the installation process and re-do it all..
Oh, I see the problem. You are using the vBNexus product which also loads jquery. In your head template, remove the jquery line you've added for autocomplete product.

Remove this first line:

<script src="autocompfiles/jquery-latest.min.js"></script>
__________________
internetBrands auto-comm vbulletin development team
87+ auto vBulletin forums, 200+ Million pageviews per month: check it out!
be my friend on vbulletin.com: here!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 27 Oct 2009, 23:06
oddmud's Avatar
oddmud oddmud is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Ok,

I've got it creating the text file properly... now when I'm trying to use the search function nothing is happening.

I cut and paste the code in to the template, but still nothing.. it runs, but it does not work on the board.


Last edited by oddmud; 28 Oct 2009 at 01:15.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 28 Oct 2009, 01:51
ExplosiveGFX ExplosiveGFX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Mike
Originally Posted by oddmud View Post
Ok,

I've got it creating the text file properly... now when I'm trying to use the search function nothing is happening.

I cut and paste the code in to the template, but still nothing.. it runs, but it does not work on the board.

Same situation here.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 28 Oct 2009, 02:31
grey_goose grey_goose is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Same here. File created, autosearch.php edited... just no results.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 28 Oct 2009, 22:33
oddmud's Avatar
oddmud oddmud is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Originally Posted by ibautocommunity View Post
Oh, I see the problem. You are using the vBNexus product which also loads jquery. In your head template, remove the jquery line you've added for autocomplete product.

Remove this first line:

<script src="autocompfiles/jquery-latest.min.js"></script>
I've tried this too, still not working at all..
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 16 Dec 2009, 17:05
Ghostt Ghostt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
i have the same problem like ALL others here, just dont getting the autocomplete shown!

the autocomplete is genereted succesful and so on!...

is it maybe because i havent unix how can i check it?


i use version 3.8.4 , FreeBSD and "Sed" installed




2. problem:
it isautocompleting the searchtext but you get redirected to the topic! how to disable that redirection to the topic?
then it would be perfect

Last edited by Ghostt; 16 Dec 2009 at 19:05.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 17 Dec 2009, 12:14
Ghostt Ghostt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
no support=? :@
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 18 Dec 2009, 12:50
Ghostt Ghostt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Any Support In Sight Omg? Wtf!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: