Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Jun 2017, 15:11
Cody.9791 Cody.9791 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Upgrading from 4.2.3 to 4.2.5

What steps do I need to take to upgrade from 4.2.3 Patch Level 2 to the newest 4.2.5? Is it worth the upgrade?

I've already did a complete backup of the home directory and database.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30 Jun 2017, 16:29
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
1. Backup everything.
2. Overwrite current files with new files.
3. Go to /install/upgrade.php and follow steps.

It's definitely worth the upgrade, I recommend to use PHP 7 for a significant performance boost.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Jun 2017, 17:08
Mattwhf Mattwhf is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
It is worth if you want to use PHP 7 for vB 4.
The choice is yours and just some minutes you can upgrade to 4.2.5
__________________
Web Hosting Forum - Learn web hosting and offer your hosting services for FREE!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Jan 2019, 20:10
tbellik tbellik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Anyone here ?
I will upgrade my site from 4.2.3 ?to 4.2.5 but I have worry about my plugin and postbits.

If I say overwrite all of them, isnt delete my plugin and postbit and some changes in css or my theme
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Jan 2019, 21:25
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by tbellik View Post
Anyone here ?
I will upgrade my site from 4.2.3 ?to 4.2.5 but I have worry about my plugin and postbits.

If I say overwrite all of them, isnt delete my plugin and postbit and some changes in css or my theme
Your installed products/plugins will not be overwritten or deleted, and any customized templates will also not be overwritten. You will simply be warned that they may be out of date. I left my customized templates as they were with no bad effects.

With vB 4.2.5, you will no longer have the option to use cookie based thread read marking, but the database marking is vastly superior in my opinion and I was using it for years anyway.

Upgrading from 4.2.3 to 4.2.5 should go smoothly. Of course, be sure to backup your site first.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Jan 2019, 22:11
tbellik tbellik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Your installed products/plugins will not be overwritten or deleted, and any customized templates will also not be overwritten. You will simply be warned that they may be out of date. I left my customized templates as they were with no bad effects.

With vB 4.2.5, you will no longer have the option to use cookie based thread read marking, but the database marking is vastly superior in my opinion and I was using it for years anyway.

Upgrading from 4.2.3 to 4.2.5 should go smoothly. Of course, be sure to backup your site first.
Full backup or sql backup is enough for me ?
Thanks for your advance.

--------------- Added 12 Jan 2019 at 22:59 ---------------

Also when I start upgrade, the php version is important ?

My php version is 5.4 now.

Which version should I choose??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 Jan 2019, 23:16
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
You can use up to 7.1 for vbulletin itself running 4.2.5

7.1 may break a addon/product test after implementing 7.1 to verify you have no errors, you may be able to disable display_errors if any warnings popup though

5.6 should be fine for any addon currently made for 4.2.5, BUT 5.6 is EOL, so id at least run 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 06:25
tbellik tbellik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
You can use up to 7.1 for vbulletin itself running 4.2.5

7.1 may break a addon/product test after implementing 7.1 to verify you have no errors, you may be able to disable display_errors if any warnings popup though

5.6 should be fine for any addon currently made for 4.2.5, BUT 5.6 is EOL, so id at least run 7.0
I will try it, hope everythings will work.
Latest question, my root directory backup is more than 40 gb. Because there is picture upload script inside and lots of picture.

So only sql backup enougf for me, if cant make it, possible ro recovery my forum?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:06
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Back up the home dir with tar/gzip etc

Images wont be removed because you're upgrading vbulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:29
tbellik tbellik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Dear snakes, I owerwrite files and folders but when I want to start upgrade.php, it gives an error

500 Error. Internal Server Error.

Any way for solution?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:41
iA1 iA1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Check your server logs for php errors.
__________________
Get your own favorite style made responsive for vBulletin 3 and vBulletin 4.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:43
tbellik tbellik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by iA1 View Post
Check your server logs for php errors.
Where can I find logs ?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:46
iA1 iA1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Do you use cpanel or plesk? Do you have root access to your server?
__________________
Get your own favorite style made responsive for vBulletin 3 and vBulletin 4.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:47
tbellik tbellik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by iA1 View Post
Check your server logs for php errors.
Inside the error log in includes.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------- Added 13 Jan 2019 at 17:48 ---------------

Originally Posted by iA1 View Post
Do you use cpanel or plesk? Do you have root access to your server?

I have cpanel, and I have access my roort right now.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Jan 2019, 17:52
iA1 iA1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
It could be due to a plugin. Disable plugins using config.php or from admincp and run upgrade again.

--------------- Added 13 Jan 2019 at 17:58 ---------------

Make sure you have uploaded all vbulletin files properly.
./includes/functions_navigation.php is part of vbulletin and your error says it is missing.
__________________
Get your own favorite style made responsive for vBulletin 3 and vBulletin 4.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: