Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Google Maps - Hot Spots - Events for vbaCMPS Details »
Google Maps - Hot Spots - Events for vbaCMPS
Mod Version: 1.00, by KevNJ (Member) KevNJ is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.1 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 11
Released: 26 Mar 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 21
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes  

This is my first contribute to everyone here so if you could click install so that i further add to this.


Here is a LIVE working demo.
minus the added pictures and colored markers which is an addiontal install. Insutructions listed below.

http://www.jerseyparties.com/index.php?page=googlemap

Im using this with vb 3.5.1 and vbadvanced cmps 2.1

Google Maps with Hot Spots - Events for CMPS

******** You will need your own Google API Map Key for this to work. You can get it by going here:http://www.google.com/apis/maps/signup.html

***Install: Add a module as you normally would, and copy the below into the template content.

To create a module
vBa CMPS > add module > template > then give it any title you want and display order
Then give it a name I called my "googlemaps" so the name is now "adv_portal_googlemaps"

******** note google maps do slow down load times *********

Copy the below and place it into the template content.


After you have your Google API Map Key enter it where it says "Enter_Your_Key_Here " Should be around line 7 or so.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Convert an Address to Latitude & Longitude
Ive been using this site to convert an address to the proper latitude and longitude.
http://stevemorse.org/jcal/latlon.php - for US locations
http://www.geocoder.ca/ - for Canadian locations


Adding Different color markers.

If you want to add different color markers, line 10 should read:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Under that add
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change the number for each different marker you want. So the more different marks you want youll have to add that line and change the number as well as the coded below.

Then after you have added that you will need to add this: This will have to be added for each marker you add.

Add this right below the first marker. Should be around line 46 or so.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now see where it says "large_yellow_marker.png" and "large_yellow_marker_shadow.png" You will need to input your own markers there, full url if needed.

Each time you want to use a different marker you have to call to that variable/marker. So in the example I have:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You would chang the icon0 to icon1 so it would read like this.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Adding Images to the pop up windows.

You can add image to the pop up windows as well. See picture attached.
In a call to variable where it says:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Right after

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and before
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can edit that as if you were doing a regular html page.

To add this to its own CMPS Page
Follow these directions and skip number 7, because I set this up as a template file and not a php file.
http://www.vbadvanced.com/membersare...tid=4&pageid=6

Then whatever you called your page in the immediate above directions from vbA under "page identified" ( i used googlemap ) edit your navbar and inclue
to a link to that page.
Mine is

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

replace googlemap with whatever you called your page under page identifier.



*** added screen shots ***
First shows the installed look.
Second picture shows the popup window when a marker is clicked
Third shows the addiontal useage of colored markers. Code is listed above but not in the orginal install.
Fourth Picture shows the popup window with added images. How to is listed above but not in the orginal install.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	map_screenshot.jpg
Views:	484
Size:	219.3 KB
ID:	44822   Click image for larger version

Name:	mapscreenshot.jpg
Views:	294
Size:	214.7 KB
ID:	44823   Click image for larger version

Name:	mapshot.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	231.7 KB
ID:	44824   Click image for larger version

Name:	webshot2.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	215.9 KB
ID:	44826  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 27 Mar 2006, 14:08
KevNJ KevNJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by kall
Dang... first install? You guys should really click install if you are using this. While it doesn't allow people to add theit own markers like the other Googlemap mod, the author deserves your support.
I didnt build upon his because of his little user agreement stating
"Attribution. You must give the original author credit.
Non-Commercial. You may not use this work for commercial purposes.
Share Alike. If you alter, transform, or build upon this work, you may distribute the resulting work only under a licence identical to this one. "
Only credit I would like is for people to click install when they use this mod.

And secondly he has in my opinion abandoned that mod/hack/plugin. He was working on it for a future release ( the hot spots ) yet hasnt updated it in months and hasnt even commented in the thread in weeks.

Thirdly - I used his mod on my forums, but I didnt want the users to be able to put in events and locations. I wanted it seperate so this can work seperately. If someone else wants to join the two together thats fine with me. But I dont see a use on my forums any longer to have the users put there house or locations in.

Enjoy.
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27 Mar 2006, 15:17
KevNJ KevNJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Added the site I use to convert an address into the lat and long.
http://stevemorse.org/jcal/latlon.php
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27 Mar 2006, 18:35
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Kev.. all I was saying was that people should click install.

__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27 Mar 2006, 18:58
KevNJ KevNJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by kall
Kev.. all I was saying was that people should click install.


Thats what I figure, was just stating why I didnt add to his, incase it comes up in the future.

Did you have any problems with the install ? Do you add the markers, or images, and able to add it as a module ?

Any problems so I know what to fix?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27 Mar 2006, 23:58
zooman zooman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I have put it on a board I am building. Very Happy as I could not get my head round the Google talk and you have saved me the job.

http://www.beermad.com/view_beer-map.htm

Last edited by zooman; 07 Apr 2006 at 22:09.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 28 Mar 2006, 12:50
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Lovely hack!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28 Mar 2006, 14:03
KevNJ KevNJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by Aftermath
Lovely hack!

Thanks! Any problems installing? did you add the other color markers, and the images inthe popups? Any feedback would be helpful to the install so I know if I need to add or change something.

Also if you could click install.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 30 Mar 2006, 23:33
drewclark drewclark is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
for whatever reason I'm unable to get the popups to work. I even just copy/pasted your original code (with my api key) to the thing and it doesn't Pop. Seen this?

http://www.saltwaterbastards.com/ (bottom of main page for now)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 30 Mar 2006, 23:35
DementedMindz DementedMindz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
i see the pop up click on the red dot

Austins Restaurant/ Junkyard Nightclub
352 West Passaic Street
Rochelle Park, NJ 07662
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 30 Mar 2006, 23:35
drewclark drewclark is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Hmm...so it's my PC. Lame!

Edit: It gets better, it's just my IE.

Could this be made into a plugin very easily? Super useful....
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02 Apr 2006, 16:39
KevNJ KevNJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by drewclark
Hmm...so it's my PC. Lame!

Edit: It gets better, it's just my IE.

Could this be made into a plugin very easily? Super useful....

Sometimes you have to close all your browsers for them to work. Its weird. Still having problems with it ? As for the plugin, not sure how to do those. Should just be a quick copy and paste.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04 Apr 2006, 22:45
LICryptkeeper LICryptkeeper is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
ah, they are hardcoded into the page I was hoping I could use this for upcoming events, ie: user submits address of event, and if an event is scedualed at that location within the week, it would show up as a marker.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07 Apr 2006, 22:03
KevNJ KevNJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by LICryptkeeper
ah, they are hardcoded into the page I was hoping I could use this for upcoming events, ie: user submits address of event, and if an event is scedualed at that location within the week, it would show up as a marker.
I dont know to much about the backend of VB. I believe stoneyarch is back to modifing his. I htink he had plans for along the lines of what your looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11 Apr 2006, 04:09
FROGGYJ FROGGYJ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
are there any other easier ways to get the lat and long of locations? I can see them on the google map, but I can't seem to get the lat + long to make some marker points.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11 Apr 2006, 09:07
Mathiau's Avatar
Mathiau Mathiau is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Mathiau
how do I install these cool maps on VBB 3.5.3 ? Dont see anything called Add modules
__________________
Life isn't short, your just dead for too long
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: