Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 10:36
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
Managing members waiting for email confirmation

due to spam problems, i have set "on" both CAPTCHA, moderation of new users and email confirmation.
Now i have to manage a 16.000 users list.
I would like to manage that in a confortable way, such erasing all the users with a specified email server and so on.
Nowaday, the best function in admin panel is "erase/move members" and i have to check every members.
I dont want to cancel everyone without checking if they are real or not..
Anyone has suggestion on a mod?
Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 11:14
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
I don't know of a mod, but I have a suggestion: create a usergroup for users to be deleted. Then use a query to move users to that group, like maybe:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(usergroupid=4 means users awaiting moderation). You'd replace the X with the usergroupid you created. You can do this multiple times if you have more than one email provider you want to exclude.

Then use Move/Prune users to delete users in usergroupid X.

The safe thing to do would be to have a backup before making any changes directly to the database.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 11:40
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
this could be great!
But please: where the query must be opened?
I mean, i have to put your code in a file?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 11:42
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
You either execute it in something such as PHPMyAdmin or at AdminCP > Maintenance > Execute SQL Query.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 11:50
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
so, i execute the query and i will find a new members group, with the members awaiting email confirmation speficied in the query?

--------------- Added 06 Feb 2015 at 11:53 ---------------

well, i need the ID of the group "users awaiting email confirmation" to tell the truth
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 11:55
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Well, you would first have to go to the usergroup manager and add a new user group. You could use "Create Usergroup Based off of Usergroup"... and select Users Awaiting Moderaton, so that the new usergroup won't have any more permissions. Then note the usergroupid of the group you create and use that in the query.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 11:58
SaN-DeeP's Avatar
SaN-DeeP SaN-DeeP is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Thanks kh99,
Yet another handy query..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 12:00
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by giaguaro View Post
well, i need the ID of the group "users awaiting email confirmation" to tell the truth
Using a query to change the database directly can be dangerous. It might be best not to use this method if you don't feel confident about it, because you don't want to accidentally delete any of your legitimate users.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 12:01
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
I did mean i dont need usergroup 4 but the id of the "users awaiting email confirmation" group

Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
(omissis)

(usergroupid=4 means users awaiting moderation). You'd replace the X with the usergroupid you created. You can do this multiple times if you have more than one email provider you want to exclude. (omissis)
--------------- Added 06 Feb 2015 at 12:02 ---------------

oh sorry i see i have the ID on the admin panel!

--------------- Added 06 Feb 2015 at 12:12 ---------------

great. My admincp says i am not allowed to launch sql query
I am superadmin, dont know why
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 12:15
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by giaguaro View Post
great. My admincp says i am not allowed to launch sql query
I am superadmin, dont know why

You need to list your userid in the config.php file as a user who can run queries. Look for this

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


and add your userid between the quotes.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 12:21
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
thanks a lot again. I am really a beginner.. and i am italian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06 Feb 2015, 17:10
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by giaguaro View Post
well, i need the ID of the group "users awaiting email confirmation" to tell the truth

I misunderstood this. "users awaiting email confirmation" is different than "users awaiting moderation". And I see you found the id in the admincp. Sorry, I thought you were confused, but it was me.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Feb 2015, 13:55
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
lol as i told you i am definitely a beginner and have a poor english.

Now:
UPDATE user SET usergroupid=eliminare WHERE usergroupid=3 AND email LIKE %sina.com%

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '%sina.com%' at line 1

what happened?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Feb 2015, 14:01
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by giaguaro View Post
lol as i told you i am definitely a beginner and have a poor english.

Now:
UPDATE user SET usergroupid=eliminare WHERE usergroupid=3 AND email LIKE %sina.com%

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '%sina.com%' at line 1

what happened?
Sorry, that's my fault. You need that in quotes, like:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But also, you can't have 'eliminare' there, because the usergroupid must be a number.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Feb 2015, 14:45
giaguaro giaguaro is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Real name: Marco
great! It worked.
Now i will want to go deeper...
Can i state something like "move all gmail.com account with more than 3 dots in the address"?

--------------- Added 07 Feb 2015 at 14:48 ---------------

or like "everything with .pl suffix"?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: