Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #31  
Old 11 Jan 2003, 22:38
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
No need to turn the board off.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11 Jan 2003, 23:05
JakeC JakeC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Thanks, I appreciate it.

JakeC
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 15 Feb 2003, 04:22
WHO WHO is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Is it normal for the backup made this way to be about half the size of the one that was downloaded via the vB admin backup? And should I be getting "Database Error" emails to my admin account every 2 seconds while backing it up? Other than that, everything seemed to have gone well.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 15 Feb 2003, 04:39
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
No and No.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 28 Feb 2003, 09:58
lioncool1589 lioncool1589 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
teck help me out i got this error

mysqldump --opt -u***** -p clan?racknine?net > /home/myback.sql


mysqldump: Got error: 1130: Host 'localhost.localdomain' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server when trying to connect
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 25 May 2003, 18:47
UND3Rburn UND3Rburn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Great Tutorial Teck! Ive been looking for a way to do this for a while.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 18 Jun 2003, 03:26
sajjid sajjid is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
i have very small board for that reason i share server with someone but dont have have shell access backing up is not a problem i use SQLyog or MySQL-Front clients backing up my database is ok but when i restore it takes ages and i mean ages. The way it backsup is it runs SQL Query on every thing like thousands for word and search they take the most time i was wondering is there a way i can just upload the whole backup file so it dosnt run Queries instead i just delete the old one and replace it with new one.
i have broadband connection so it would take long to uoload the files.
Many Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11 Jul 2003, 12:46
allan grossman allan grossman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
My backup strategy - this runs as a daily cron job.

My web root and the databases are on /usr not /var - and /usr is on a 40g IDE drive. The rest of the system is on a 10k rpm SCSI drive. No reason for the web content to be faster than my internet connection

I get one copy of the backup on each spindle and then manually copy one of the backups to a different machine once a week or so. I guess I could automate that if I wanted to.

#!/bin/sh

service httpd stop

mysqldump -uusername -ppassword -c vb_bassforum > /usr/www/archive/vb_bassforum.sql.dump
mysqldump -uusername -ppassword -c pointbeing > /usr/www/archive/pointbeing.sql.dump
mysqldump -uusername -ppassword -c hcbf > /usr/www/archive/hcbf.sql.dump

service httpd start

cp /var/spool/mail/* /usr/www/archive/mail

#change dump permissions so I can restore databases from remote with phpMyAdmin if I need to.

chown wizard /usr/www/archive/*.dump
chgrp apache /usr/www/archive/*.dump
chmod 660 /usr/www/archive/*.dump

tar cf /archive/backup.tar /usr/www/*

cp /archive/* /usr/archive

Last edited by allan grossman; 11 Jul 2003 at 13:04.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 20 Sep 2003, 21:15
centris's Avatar
centris centris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
A little hint for those who's database does not run on their webserver, i.e. where your host has a dedicated mysql server.

You must use the '-h' option to specify a mysql server

Example:

mysqldump --opt -h mysite.co.uk -u name -p dbname > /home/www.mysite.co.uk/public_html/backup/vbulletin.sql

I spent weeks trying to get my head round this, eventualy our sysadmin helped out with the above info.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 21 Sep 2003, 02:44
raxafarian raxafarian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Originally Posted by Visionray
Trying to get this to work.

When I log on to CRT, I don't get [USERNAME HOSTNAME]$ _

I get
bash-2.04*$


Anyways, when I type in the mysql bla bla, it says

"no such file or directory exists.

This is the path Im typing
home/virtual/site376/fst/var/www/html/backup/blablabla.sql

This is the exact info I was given from the info.php file.
I know the directory is there, I can see it on my server, but CRT isn't recognizing it.

Any ideas?

use: /var/www/html/backup/blablabla.sql


actually....get it out of 'web accessible' area...
/var/backup/blablabla.sql
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 21 Sep 2003, 02:50
raxafarian raxafarian is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
compress the backup as it's made:

mysqldump --opt -u_____ -p database | gzip -9 > /var/backups/blablabla.sql.gz


note: I have a small database (80mb or so), don't know if this will work on large databases or not
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 16 Oct 2003, 16:41
sabret00the's Avatar
sabret00the sabret00the is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: sabe
is there anywya to grab half or even quarter of the database at a time?
__________________
UNDER CONSTRUCTION: Confessionary Hack

Make me a Hack of The Month author: GRPS: Groups Commune
make my hacks, they'll make you famous

unless it's a security concern, please do not pm/im me for support unless you're willing to pay.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 17 Oct 2003, 08:14
daFish's Avatar
daFish daFish is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Real name: Marcus
Originally Posted by raxafarian
compress the backup as it's made:

mysqldump --opt -u_____ -p database | gzip -9 > /var/backups/blablabla.sql.gz


note: I have a small database (80mb or so), don't know if this will work on large databases or not
This is a very good syntax. Thanks for this. It's working very nice and quickly.

-Fish
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 20 Oct 2003, 04:49
alexi alexi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
I have been using:
/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqldump --opt -u____ -p____ forums | gzip > /home/mysqldumps/backup/forums.sql
for a while now and it seems to work fine although I haven't had to restore from it.
What does the -9 switch do?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12 Dec 2003, 06:55
gldtn gldtn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
How do I expand my max_allowed_packet for mysql? I'm trying to restore my backup.sql on my local machine but I got an error saying that a line #: Got a packet bigger than 'max_allowed_packet'.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Site Backup (easily backup your forum files) bairy vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 54 06 Jun 2009 17:07



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: