Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11 May 2011, 01:10
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
MySQL Error

HELP!!! Could someone help me please.

I get 4-10 of these errors daily. It got so bad one day that my site crashed. Any advice? I contact my service provider and they told me that it has to do with viewing permissions. I have no idea what to do. Anything would be of help.


Database error in vBulletin :

mysql_pconnect() [<a href='function.mysql-pconnect'>function.mysql-pconnect</a>]: Can't connect to MySQL server on '205.178.146.86' (4)
/data/17/1/119/19/1608182/user/1733015/htdocs/fhc/includes/class_core.php on line 314

MySQL Error :
Error Number :
Request Date : Tuesday, May 10th 2011 @ 12:56:28 PM
Error Date : Tuesday, May 10th 2011 @ 12:57:29 PM
Script : http://www.fantasyhockeycoach.com/cr...and=1305046463
Referrer : http://fantasyhockeycoach.com/
IP Address : 209.121.214.47
Username :
Classname : vB_Database
MySQL Version :
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12 May 2011, 09:25
LeventX's Avatar
LeventX LeventX is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Real name: Levent
What is the host service you are using? root or reseller hosting..

host of the web address from the control panel

phpmyadmin , select the repair database tables.

If you enter the following command from the ssh server authority.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and last.. mysql root password enter...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I hope that is helpful
__________________
bilgisayar forum
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 May 2011, 17:36
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Where would I enter that code? What does that do? How often should I repair or optimize the tables? Sorry still new to mysql

--------------- Added 12 May 2011 at 17:38 ---------------

I am using 50 of 300 MB is that enough or do I need more disk space?

Last edited by fanhockeycoach; 12 May 2011 at 17:38. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 May 2011, 18:05
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
You have enough disc space. When did this start to happen for the first time? Did you install any mod or did any other modifications to your forum before the error popped up?
__________________
My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 May 2011, 19:42
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
it started 6 or 7 months ago. i don't think i install or did any other modifications
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 May 2011, 23:12
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I got this reply from my host:

The error you are reporting is due to too many active connections to your MySQL database. If you are using mysql_pconnect(), this type of connection never closes. It is a persistent connection that stays open for later use. This can easily cause you to have too many active connections depending on how many people visit the website. We suggest you change it to mysql_connect() instead if you are using this. If you are using mysql_connect(), you may not be closing the database connection at the end of a query, please check that all connections are closed after use.

Does that make sense? Where do I make those changes? Is this something I change on the config.php file?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 May 2011, 23:22
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
What is this set to in your config.php file?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 May 2011, 23:36
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I have it set at 0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 May 2011, 02:42
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Who is your hosting company?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 May 2011, 18:49
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
network solutions
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15 May 2011, 19:05
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Ask then what you max db connections is set to.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 May 2011, 17:16
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
thanks for all your help so far. I have two more questions:

1. In the config.php file under master database server name, what is the difference if I put in the servername compared to IP address? Does it change anything if I use one or the other?

2. What is a slave database?

--------------- Added 17 May 2011 at 17:18 ---------------

Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Ask then what you max db connections is set to.
What should it be set too?

Last edited by fanhockeycoach; 17 May 2011 at 17:18. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17 May 2011, 17:29
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by fanhockeycoach View Post
thanks for all your help so far. I have two more questions:

1. In the config.php file under master database server name, what is the difference if I put in the servername compared to IP address? Does it change anything if I use one or the other?

2. What is a slave database?

What should it be set too?
It should look like this:

// ****** MASTER DATABASE SERVER NAME AND PORT ******
// This is the hostname or IP address and port of the database server.
// If you are unsure of what to put here, leave the default values.
$config['MasterServer']['servername'] = 'localhost';
$config['MasterServer']['port'] = 3306;
You don't have a slave database as that would be on another server, IIRC.

My max_connections are set to 300, but I am on a VPS, and that is probably overkill. Hostagator has their shared accounts set to 25, IIRC.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 May 2011, 22:17
fanhockeycoach fanhockeycoach is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Ask then what you max db connections is set to.

My max is 10. So what does that mean?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 May 2011, 00:01
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
It means you need to get a new host. If you get very many users on at the same time, you will keep having those kinds of errors.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: