Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Mar 2013, 14:31
sOliver sOliver is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Vbulletin 5 Link BBCode Messed Up / BUG?

The Vbulletin 5 editor is flawed

When adding a link in "Normal view" and then toggling to "Advanced editor and adding a link
it will add [URL]link[/URL=link]

Basically it's adding the link twice and removing it won't help - try it out, it's really bugged / annoying

How can I make the advanced editor the default choice and disable the other one?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Mar 2013, 14:50
sOliver sOliver is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
This is totally bugged on fresh install

Go to "advanced" editor then insert a link and then click the link "Toggle Advanced Editor" and the link will disappear!

Imagine how annoyed a user would be after carefully inserting a link?

--------------- Added 01 Mar 2013 at 14:53 ---------------

I also was under the impression VB5 was a stable version, sorry about that

Looking forward to an upgrade!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Mar 2013, 13:01
Luis's Avatar
Luis Luis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Originally Posted by sOliver View Post
The Vbulletin 5 editor is flawed

When adding a link in "Normal view" and then toggling to "Advanced editor and adding a link
it will add [URL]link[/URL=link]

Basically it's adding the link twice and removing it won't help - try it out, it's really bugged / annoying

How can I make the advanced editor the default choice and disable the other one?
i have the same problem, any1 have fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Mar 2013, 14:59
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
It's a bug, at least it was happening on vb.com as well the last time I checked (a few weeks ago)
I'd say wait for the update for it to get fixed
Originally Posted by sOliver View Post
I also was under the impression VB5 was a stable version, sorry about that
sorry, not even close
many features are missing, the pages are very slow.
We've all been told they'll be fixed soon(tm) so those who actually installed it will need to wait.
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26 Apr 2013, 21:05
bestfirearmdeal bestfirearmdeal is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Thumbnail image causing server error

When posting a link in VB5 I am getting an internal server error for every link that I try to post with a thumbnail preview. Has anyone else had this issue and if so is there a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Apr 2013, 00:55
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I've never seen that unless a server has mod_security or suhosin on it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Apr 2013, 20:07
Zyniker Zyniker is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
It would seem that vB5 is hilariously buggy. I've just had the pleasure of encountering this why-not-insert-the-URL-twice bug myself. What's more, I attempted to fix the affected post by pasting it into BBEdit and then using grep to remove the extraneous URLs, which worked, naturally, but when the corrected post text was pasted back into the vBulletin editor and submitted, the editor decided to insert several dozen returns that were not in the original text. I have absolutely no idea why.

Maybe there's a good reason this site is still running 3.6.12…
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Jan 2015, 22:58
Talk Hard Talk Hard is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I want advanced toggle editor on by default. Can you do this? Members arent going to know to click an A
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Jan 2015, 23:03
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
No, there is currently no way to toggle it on by default. Other than:

The first time you click it, while logged in, it should save that state every time you click back into the editor. The bar should reappear once you click in the editor to start typing.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: