Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Chief First Post - Every Page - 3.6.x Details »
Chief First Post - Every Page - 3.6.x
Mod Version: 1.01, by Atakan KOC (Coder) Atakan KOC is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (46 votes - 4.72 average) Installs: 336
Released: 24 Aug 2007 Last Update: 26 Aug 2007 Downloads: 1472
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Chief First Post - Every Page
With this mod, you can convert the view of the thread in to 4 different type. Additionally you can change the view as you edit click the edit button. The 1st message of the thread will stay at top all the time even while you are checking other messages related to this subject.


Thread Type
Postbit Article
Postbit Flipped
Postbit Normal
Postbit Legacy


install

Go to your admin cp, then:
Plugin System -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product] -> Select 'product-chiefpost.xml' from your computer then press 'Import'

Modifications Info

Plugin : 12
Phrases : 3
Template : 3
Setting : 0

Versions:
v1.0 - 24 August 2007
-First release

v1.0.1 - 26 August 2007
-Rating Phrase fixed

With this mod, you can convert the view of the thread in to 4 different type. Additionally you can change the view as you edit click the edit button. The 1st message of the thread will stay at top all the time even while you are checking other messages related to this subject.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	cp_pic1.gif
Views:	5796
Size:	224.2 KB
ID:	69006   Click image for larger version

Name:	cp_pic2.gif
Views:	6215
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	69007   Click image for larger version

Name:	cp_pic3.gif
Views:	5753
Size:	150.8 KB
ID:	69008   Click image for larger version

Name:	cp_pic4.gif
Views:	2645
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	69009  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Chief First Post - Every Page [Forum Based] Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 120 07 Jul 2016 14:20
Show Thread Enhancements Chief First Post - Every Page - [Thread Based] Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 63 16 Jan 2014 10:37
Show Thread Enhancements Chief First Post - Every Page 3.7 Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 216 05 Jul 2012 11:37
Chief First Post - Every Page - 3.5.x Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 5 25 Aug 2007 19:21

  #76  
Old 24 Sep 2007, 15:55
mvigod mvigod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Anyone aware of an if condition that would allow only a usergroup to lock the first post instead of it globably applying to the entire forum?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 00:43
rapidphim rapidphim is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by Spermy View Post
For those that want just postbit for default.


1. In the postbit_select template

Default

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2. In Chief Post - Postbit Display Complete Plugin

Default

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And i added <if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, 6)"> at the begining In the postbit_select template and </if> at the end so only Admins can use this.

Hope this helps you guys using normal postbit.
How are you going to assign other groups, beside admin, to use the feature?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 15:39
m2006's Avatar
m2006 m2006 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 15:51
rapidphim rapidphim is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
On top of my question on how to allow any other group (s.mod, mod, etc...) to use this feature beside admin, I have another questions to ask experts here how to fix after I installed this mod.

Please see the screenshot. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture.jpg (46.3 KB, 74 views)
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 15:58
mvigod mvigod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by rapidphim View Post
How are you going to assign other groups, beside admin, to use the feature?
For other usergroups, just add their usergroup id to the if condition:
=
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________

Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 17:59
MaXxed MaXxed is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
works very well!

any way to add some more options to the Article template? Such as more profile fields or the add-rep button?
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 22:17
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Question

Hello Atakan KOC!!

I'm trying to Activate this Great Hack in My Forums, but when I try to see a Thread in the Forum I've designated to have this Functionality (Chief Post Show first post on every thread page? as Yes) I'm receiving an Error.

Also when I try to create a New Thread in the Forum where I've Chosen to Activate this Hack, the Create New Thead Form appears with the Four New Options (postbit Article, Flipped, Normal, and Legacy), but when I create the Thread, I receive the same Error when the Forum try to show it to me!!

What should I do to use this Hack?? What Should I Change?? Do I Have To Edit a Template??

Thank You For Your Help!!

I'm copying the Error Message:

Forum: http://inciarco.com/foros/forumdisplay.php?f=85
Thread: http://inciarco.com/foros/showthread.php?t=1909


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by inciarco; 30 Oct 2007 at 21:43.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 26 Sep 2007, 08:24
vitrag24's Avatar
vitrag24 vitrag24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I have installed it but how to enable/configure it.
By screenshots i'm confused
i think it'll show 1st post of thread on each page.
isnt it?
will it do anything else?screenshots are confusing me.
I have lots of sections.
do i have to edit and set yes in all ?there shd be option which globally set yes for all sections.

Last edited by vitrag24; 26 Sep 2007 at 08:31.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 26 Sep 2007, 11:29
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Using 3.6.8, when I enable this in a forum, and then go to view that forum, or try to make a post, I get this error:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /home/mysite/public_html/forum/includes/class_postbit.php(296) : eval()'d code on line 352
uninstalled until it can be fixed... oh well - nice idea, just needs to be fixed
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 26 Sep 2007, 16:32
elmati elmati is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
i dont know if this is a bug o just misconfiguration from me but when i use quickedit for 1st post the 1st post return to default vb postbit...

anyone have this problem too?

thx in advance
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 26 Sep 2007, 23:19
Spermy Spermy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by mvigod View Post
Anyone aware of an if condition that would allow only a usergroup to lock the first post instead of it globably applying to the entire forum?
The answered by mvigod below.

Originally Posted by mvigod View Post
For other usergroups, just add their usergroup id to the if condition:
=
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Originally Posted by MaXxed View Post
works very well!

any way to add some more options to the Article template? Such as more profile fields or the add-rep button?
For the add-rep button; In your postbit_articles template
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add before:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Originally Posted by elmati View Post
i dont know if this is a bug o just misconfiguration from me but when i use quickedit for 1st post the 1st post return to default vb postbit...

anyone have this problem too?

thx in advance
If you didn't change anything then it will stay as postbit_article, if you made the changes I posted then this is just part of it, if anything is edited, you must make sure you choose article.

Last edited by Spermy; 27 Sep 2007 at 10:50.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 27 Sep 2007, 05:54
MaXxed MaXxed is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by Spermy View Post

For the add-rep button; In your postbit_articles template
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add before:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you didn't change anything then it will stay as postbit_article, if you made the changes I posted then this is just part of it, if anything is edited, you must make sure you choose article.
Im showing an error when trying to do this.

"The conditional on line 43 appears to be missing its end tag (</if>). The template will not function properly unless this is fixed."

I think the replacement code isnt formed right?
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 27 Sep 2007, 05:56
elmati elmati is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
no.

when i create a new topic the system said i am using postbit_article but when i use quick edit for this 1st post and press F5 to reload the page the postbit change to normal postbit...

tomorrow ill make some tests

thx Spermy for your answer!
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 27 Sep 2007, 06:01
Wheezy's Avatar
Wheezy Wheezy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
This is an awesome hack! One of the best ones Ive downloaded...

I noticed though when I select the "Postbit Article" thread type, it reverts my custom signature edit (**) back to vB default. Is there a template for this Mod I can edit to fix it?

** I have a template edit in place which forces all signatures to the bottom of the post and extends the signature line across the entire length of the post.

Last edited by Wheezy; 27 Sep 2007 at 06:06.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 27 Sep 2007, 10:52
Spermy Spermy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by MaXxed View Post
Im showing an error when trying to do this.

"The conditional on line 43 appears to be missing its end tag (</if>). The template will not function properly unless this is fixed."

I think the replacement code isnt formed right?
I had that problem at first when I inserted it in the wrong place.Make sure it is right before<a

Originally Posted by elmati View Post
no.

when i create a new topic the system said i am using postbit_article but when i use quick edit for this 1st post and press F5 to reload the page the postbit change to normal postbit...

tomorrow ill make some tests

thx Spermy for your answer!
You are correct it does not work with quick edit.

Originally Posted by Wheezy View Post
This is an awesome hack! One of the best ones Ive downloaded...

I noticed though when I select the "Postbit Article" thread type, it reverts my custom signature edit (**) back to vB default. Is there a template for this Mod I can edit to fix it?

** I have a template edit in place which forces all signatures to the bottom of the post and extends the signature line across the entire length of the post.
I had that same problem, so I just took out the code for the sig in the Articles.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: