Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Show Profile Fields In Postbit, Zero Query & Template Edit! Details »
Show Profile Fields In Postbit, Zero Query & Template Edit!
Mod Version: 2.0.2, by Milad (Coder) Milad is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.0 Rating: (15 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 185
Released: 17 Apr 2008 Last Update: 23 May 2008 Downloads: 877
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Brought to you by Syrian Medical Society & Milado

Introduction & Description:
This product allows you to choose which profile fields you want to show in the postbit / postbit_legacy, and adds them automatically without any query or any template edit.

Features:
  • Zero Query!
  • Zero Template Edit!
  • Set it once, and forget it.
  • Choose which profile fields to show by entering their names (ex: field1) in the option (Profile Fields To Show In Postbit).
  • Set the display order in the option (Profile Fields To Show In Postbit).
  • Choose to show titles for profile fields or not.
    • If not, profile fields' values will be separated by dash - and shown in one line Attachment 78860.
    • Otherwise every profile field will be shown in its own line (in the format title: value) Attachment 78861.
  • Choose to show the profile fields in one of current three supported locations:

How comes you don't use any query or any template edit even?
When you set your options, a template will be modified to suit your new options, and will be cached, eval()ed and used to show the profile fields.

Installation & Upgrade: 3.7.0 at least is required.
  • Import the product file product-profile_fields_in_postbit.xml and you're done.
  • Choose yes to overwrite for upgrading.
  • Now modify the settings in (Thread Display Options (showthread)) according to your needs.
  • When you upgrade, make sure you hit the save button in the Thread Display Options (showthread) page.

Settings:
See the screen shot Attachment 78859, settings explain themselves.

Change log:
  • 2.0.0 first public release, on April, 17 2008
  • 2.0.1 released on May, 17 2008
    • Performance optimized: I don't create a template on the fly anymore, the template will be updated once upon saving the Thread Display Options (showthread) options.
  • 2.0.2 released on May, 24 2008
    • Bug fixed: Profile fields' titles aren't shown in quick replies, announcements and PMS. 1, 2 and 3.
    • Experimental fix for this bug
    • uncached template had been fixed.

Click install to receive support & updates.

You like it? nominate it.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	2765
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	78859   Click image for larger version

Name:	title_off_under_username.jpg
Views:	2668
Size:	12.4 KB
ID:	78860   Click image for larger version

Name:	title_on_under_posts.jpg
Views:	2904
Size:	12.6 KB
ID:	78861  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Showing Custom Profile Fields On Postbit And Postbit Legacy Attila M. vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 21 21 Jan 2013 19:47

  #16  
Old 17 Apr 2008, 16:36
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
Originally Posted by marcossalazar View Post
So does this mean almost no stress on the server? Also, if it is creating a fake template on the fly, will this be a problem with say, over 3000 users at once?
My forum has about 50-80 users at once. and everything is OK.

Anyway, after releasing it. I thought it would be better If I use a real template which will be updated once on changing the settings. This is the next version.

Try it and tell me if it has any impact on your forum's performance. If it affects the performance I don't think it would be so much.

Best regards

Last edited by Milad; 17 Apr 2008 at 16:43.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17 Apr 2008, 16:49
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
Originally Posted by marcossalazar View Post
This is a simple, but kick ass mod! Thanks so much for creating this...I am nominating it for MOM!
It's not simple, but it's clever. Thank for nomination!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17 Apr 2008, 17:32
KatieG's Avatar
KatieG KatieG is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Would it be possible to have another section, so that you can add extra info.
Like the red text in the pic below
Attached Images
File Type: jpg profile.jpg (25.6 KB, 113 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17 Apr 2008, 17:42
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Real name: Christian
OK, i'm back after new tests ... it runs corectly ... superb mod!!!!

INSTALLED AND NOMINATED!!!!

edit: Milad can you provide a new feature for the ibproarcade? it wants this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by KURTZ; 17 Apr 2008 at 17:49.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18 Apr 2008, 00:06
FleaBag's Avatar
FleaBag FleaBag is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Another masterpiece Milad! You are very kind with your releases here. This pulls off a headache of a job with little effort for the admin, and for that I am greatful!

When I have enough money saved for vB custom work, there is one name on my list!

شكرا جزيلاا

I hope I got that right.
__________________
AndroidETC.com :: Android, and other stuff.

Last edited by FleaBag; 18 Apr 2008 at 01:26.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 18 Apr 2008, 05:43
Jasem's Avatar
Jasem Jasem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: www.menokia.com
Thank You
__________________
games
Forum Nokia
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 03:26
1quick1 1quick1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
My site is a bodybuilding/fitness site and this is EXACTLY what I needed. It allows me to have users add their height and weight right where I wanted it. Thanks and marked as installed.

Also I installed it on a a 3.7.0 gold version and it works perfectly so far.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 19:25
threat threat is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Mine does not work, do I have to run the maintenance to get them updated? I wonder if its the skin I'm using.

My field6 is Bike that I want to show their bikes in their postbit under their names.

Note: I should type exactly field6 in the box correct?


Note: It only works when I put the option for the field to be under the post count and it does not show up inside the table in the profile. Pic enclosed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg field6.JPG (5.8 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by threat; 30 Apr 2008 at 19:35.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 21:32
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
You use custom style, it's most likely to be the reason!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01 May 2008, 01:09
cavyspirit cavyspirit is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Originally Posted by KatieG View Post
Would it be possible to have another section, so that you can add extra info.
Like the red text in the pic below
I agree this would be a great addition.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05 May 2008, 00:06
klees klees is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
It doesn't work in postbit legacy.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05 May 2008, 03:45
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
revert your template.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05 May 2008, 03:56
Amenadiel's Avatar
Amenadiel Amenadiel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Is it possible to add the option of displaying the custom fields in a floating div?

I use this "My PC" custom fields and it's too much information to show explicitly

http://img521.imageshack.us/my.php?image=looknc8.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05 May 2008, 09:12
klees klees is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
I don't want to revert it
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05 May 2008, 13:29
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
Originally Posted by klees View Post
I don't want to revert it
It depends on template hooks to show fields, without those hooks, my hack won't work.

Sorry!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: