Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Smarty Integration With Vbulletin - BETA Details »
Smarty Integration With Vbulletin - BETA
Mod Version: 1.00, by Jafo232 (Coder) Jafo232 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (3 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 15
Released: 26 Feb 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 64
Not Supported Uses Plugins Code Changes Additional Files Is in Beta Stage  

This modification will allow you to use Smarty tags in your Vbulletin templates and even allow you to write PHP code in your templates.

I have tested this for the last 3-4 months before I posted it here and am pretty confident that it is all working properly but it should be fully tested on your site before released into production. I am still considering it BETA software.

This does require one small source code edit and there really is no way around it that I can find. There is no hook in the fetch_template() function at this time, so it is required.

After you install the modification, you can enter tags like this in your templates:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Or for PHP:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


If you find this useful, please:


Brought to you by WorldWideCreations.com.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
DigiChat Integration V3.0 BETA Pseudomizer vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 28 10 Aug 2005 09:37

Comments
  #2  
Old 26 Feb 2008, 20:02
TTG's Avatar
TTG TTG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Great news .. this could help designers produce more interesting themes / skins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 03:19
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Using smarty conditionals will definitely make things easier that is for sure..
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 18:17
Jon_Simmonds Jon_Simmonds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Have used smarty with some CMS's in the past, and they did prove usefull for some things will have a play on my test server with this
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Feb 2008, 18:44
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Yeah, I would like to get some feedback on how this is all working for you..
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Feb 2008, 01:00
goyo goyo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Smarty - to my knowledge - is the best and most flexible PHP template system. I love it.

Is there anybody who have experience with server performance when running this add-on in vB ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Feb 2008, 03:22
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
In my tests, I found it hardly noticeable. It will not improve performance as templates are still evaluated by Vbulletin. It would IMO although help performance if plugins were built around it. You would really not need the plugin system as we know it with this method as you could execute PHP right in the templates (ideally, with includes).

Also, in custom templates, you could in essence eliminate the need for bit templates as Smarty opens up loops which are not available in Vbulletin template conditionals.
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Feb 2008, 21:03
alessai alessai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
hey didnt work for me please help

what i had from the test is :
#######START CODE echo "Hello World! The timestamp for now is " . TIMENOW;
and i really need php
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Feb 2008, 21:23
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Did you edit the functions.php file as laid out in the readme?
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Feb 2008, 13:51
alessai alessai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
yes i did

the file functions.php is in this path right??? /public_html/vb/includes


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Feb 2008, 15:24
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Ok, and I assume you uploaded the files to their proper places, and set the directory permissions on the templates_c folder to 777?

Could you paste the code exactly as you put it in the template here (not the entire template please).
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29 Feb 2008, 16:04
alessai alessai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
yup uploaded templates_c and smarty inside the forum folder (vb) and i did set the permissions to 777
the code is
<%php%>
echo "Hello World! The timestamp for now is " . TIMENOW;
<%/php%>
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29 Feb 2008, 16:27
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Sorry so many questions, but you did install the product file too right? And you have plugins turned on in your vbulletin options?
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29 Feb 2008, 16:52
alessai alessai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
yes its activatied

p.s. ask as much as u want i really want the php thing works
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Feb 2008, 18:10
GCC LLC GCC LLC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Have you had any experience using this on a load balanced server setup? I have 2 web front end servers and a shared (can use either CIFS or NFS) filesystem but when I enable this plugin, the servers all seem to slow down quite a bit. Do you know if I absolutely need to have the templates_c directory shared between all web servers? It seems that when smarty compiles to a remote filesystem that is where the slowdown occurs. I know this isn't a problem related specifically to your plugin, but thought I'd ask here anyway. BTW, my link between servers is all at 100mbps so there is plenty of bandwidth there to take care of things, but I may be limited by either the NFS or the CIFS services throughput. Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:22.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: