Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Widget: Latest Articles In Section Details »
Widget: Latest Articles In Section
Mod Version: 1.6, by OcR Envy (Member) OcR Envy is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (9 votes - 4.78 average) Installs: 65
Released: 07 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations  

Latest Articles In Section

What is does:
vBCMS only has one option for latest articles and that is all sections and categories. This widget will allow you to display the latest articles in a specific section.

Change Log:
1.0 - Initial Release
1.1 - Updated to allow more than one section & display published date.
1.2 - Small update, no need to update unless you are using a table prefix.
1.3 - Added full page text if no previewtext row exists.
1.4 - Updated to not show unpublished articles.
1.5 - Updated read more link to look more vBulletin related.
1.6 - Small change to fix 4.0.2 [ATTACH] showing in text.

Installation:
  • Goto AdminCP-vBullietin CMS-Widgets->Create New Widget
  • Choose PHP Direct Execution as Widget's Type
  • Enter A Title IE: "Latest (Insert Your Section Name Here)"
  • Click Save
  • Click Configure
  • Remove all the default code.
  • Copy and Paste the code below first editing $section and $limit to your liking
  • Click Save
  • Goto AdminCP-vBullietin CMS-Layout Manager
  • Add the Widget to your Layout
  • Click Save
How do I find my section id?
When clicking on your section you should see something like this:
The number after ? in this case 11 is your section id.

Can I enter more than one section id?
Yes simply change $section = '11' to something like $section='11, 12, 13'

Code to copy(make sure you change $section and $limit!)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Preview:



For Category Mod See Here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=232440

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.PNG
Views:	4419
Size:	128.1 KB
ID:	112092  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #91  
Old 18 Mar 2011, 14:17
Mark4865's Avatar
Mark4865 Mark4865 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Sorry cant help I am not a coder so knowledge is very limited
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 05 Sep 2011, 11:18
peterkohar peterkohar is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
hi there,

how to make just link and publish date appear , i don't want to have half of article and images shown in the box/. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 04 Oct 2011, 12:07
MScotti MScotti is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thank you for your work, but if I want to use a horizontally widget?

Grazie.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 07 Oct 2011, 21:29
dang3rzon3's Avatar
dang3rzon3 dang3rzon3 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Andrea
This is my code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have 2 problems:
- links doesn't work because i have installed vbseo
- preview text doesn't appear. I see only title and date....

Anybody can help me?
__________________
PianetaGAY
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 15 Oct 2011, 11:30
davide91plus davide91plus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by dang3rzon3 View Post
I have 2 problems:
- links doesn't work because i have installed vbseo
- preview text doesn't appear. I see only title and date....

Anybody can help me?


I have the same problem, I used the code of the previous post, because the others don't work well, but I don't understand what is the variable that contains the preview of text, or if I do a preview function that cuts the text after a No. number of characters.

Also, how can I change the url to make it work with vbseo?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 12:25
MScotti MScotti is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hi, i change this:
// Set The Height of The Thumbnail Image
$height = '250';
// Set The Width of The Thumbnail Image
$width = '250';

with
// Set The Height of The Thumbnail Image
$height = '50%';
// Set The Width of The Thumbnail Image
$width = '50%';

and it work fine, but with chrome don't resize verticaly, any idea?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 14:34
dang3rzon3's Avatar
dang3rzon3 dang3rzon3 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Andrea
Hy MScotti and davide91plus.
Do you find how to work with vbseo?
Do you see the preview text in your script or only title and preview image?

Thanks
__________________
PianetaGAY
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 14:52
MScotti MScotti is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by dang3rzon3 View Post
Hy MScotti and davide91plus.
Do you find how to work with vbseo?
Do you see the preview text in your script or only title and preview image?

Thanks
- Non ho vbseo
- Anteprima immagine e titolo
- data pubblicazione

Last edited by MScotti; 18 Oct 2011 at 15:07.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 15:57
dang3rzon3's Avatar
dang3rzon3 dang3rzon3 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Andrea
In the code there's

$text = $articleinfo['previewtext'];

How it works?

Anybody can help us?
__________________
PianetaGAY
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 22 Oct 2011, 10:34
davide91plus davide91plus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by dang3rzon3 View Post
In the code there's

$text = $articleinfo['previewtext'];

How it works?

Anybody can help us?
Something new about that?

I'd like to be able to preview the text of articles ...
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 12 Dec 2011, 08:11
inigo inigo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
I have another important question:

How can I take the category name over all the articles listed?

For random categories (the widget title is not a solution)

Thanks!

Last edited by inigo; 12 Dec 2011 at 08:58.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 11 Feb 2012, 19:36
romaszek romaszek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Sorry, I don′t get the idea as to connect this code:


Originally Posted by XManuX View Post
Note that you can "easily" modify it to have the "best rated articles of this month"

1) Add this in the SELECTed fields :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2) Add this condition in your request to limit results to the current month (and year) :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3) Replace the ORDER part :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

4) In the While (where all variables are initialized) :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5) Add somewhere in the $output string definition:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Regards.
With this code, please for the help.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This works for 4.1.10

Very Thanks
Somebody will help?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 09 Mar 2012, 12:21
Preech Preech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
I figured out how to get the image on the left, and text on the right. It looks better if your title isn't to long.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by Preech; 10 Mar 2012 at 12:23.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 05 Jun 2012, 20:10
monoco monoco is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Previewtext not working

I had this mod working fine before the upgrade to 4.1.11 and now the widgets will not show the previewtext.

It will show title, image and if set to the pagetext.

Any idea what the problem could be ?
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 21 Jun 2012, 20:48
mmacrypt's Avatar
mmacrypt mmacrypt is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
anybody know if this would work with a Group ID, I think I'm going to give it a try but I'm running 4.2 so we shall see what happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: