Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Global Threads for VB3 Details »
Global Threads for VB3
Mod Version: 1.00, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 24
Released: 31 Jan 2011 Last Update: Never Downloads: 155
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Is in Beta Stage  

This mod is based off a VB 3.6 mod by randominity here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=129626
He gave me permission to further develop this mod.

It is ESSENTIAL if you upgrade to this version from the original 1.0.1 version you UNINSTALL the old one first. This isn't a suggestion, this is a REQUIREMENT.

This mod allows you to display "global threads" in your forums. Global Threads are threads that show up in every forum (or forums you specify) as opposed to just a single forum.

This is perfect for important site news, forum wide polls, and anything worthwhile to be displayed forum wide.

I know you could make an announcement but people ignore announcements, and you can't reply to them like threads. These are real threads and if you don't take away permission people can reply to it like any other thread. Replies in any forum show up in all forums.

Same thread in multiple forums:
http://www.juot.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48
http://www.juot.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43
http://www.juot.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20
(It's under the sticky threads.)

This mod requires a little work on your side- you must first create a "global forum." I suggest calling it "Global Forum" and in the forum manager when creating it, choose to "Set Active" set to "No" so it won't show up in your forum lists but will be accessible directly by you to post new threads in.

I have greatly increased the number of options over the original mod and believe I have implemented all the good suggestions ever made for the original mod.

This version will work on vB 3.8.x and should work on 3.7.x too.

I have marked this as BETA as there is 1 unresolved minor bug- it has been a bug since this mod came out but no one seems to have noticed or cared. When showing global threads the small arrow indicating if you had posts in the global thread won't snow.

See screenshots for a Global Thread example. The Global Thread globe icon is optional.

Full instructions in zip file.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	gtvb31.jpg
Views:	678
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	126302   Click image for larger version

Name:	gtsettings.jpg
Views:	326
Size:	329.7 KB
ID:	126303  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Global phpinfo with admin cp on/off switch (vb3 backport) Brad vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 6 18 Jul 2003 16:34

Comments
  #2  
Old 31 Jan 2011, 20:30
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Reserved.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Feb 2011, 23:07
Kaelon's Avatar
Kaelon Kaelon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
This looks really interesting. What is the performance impact? Can you tell us a bit about the queries you used?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Feb 2011, 23:22
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
There is 1 additional query on each page view of forumdisplay.php.

The query is identical to the query that pulls all the threads for the specific forum you are viewing.. basically vbulletin queries the database for all threads in forum X (the forum you're viewing) LIMIT by the number of threads per page. The after vBulletin pulls its threads, this mod goes ahead and pulls all threads from forum Y (the global forum) LIMIT the number you set in options.

The 1 query adds no noticeable performance loss IMO.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Feb 2011, 03:51
Hellmaster Hellmaster is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Does it work as a global announcement? But this is a Thread which can be replied?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Feb 2011, 14:21
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Basically it's like a global announcement that can be replied to... But it's listed as a thread (either above or below stickies) not listed as an announcement.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Feb 2011, 12:23
MagicThemeParks's Avatar
MagicThemeParks MagicThemeParks is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Looks very cool. I may have to use this one too Joe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 13:32
blackberry's Avatar
blackberry blackberry is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Sheem
its giving me following database error

Database error in vBulletin 3.8.4:

Invalid SQL:

SELECT
IF(votenum >= 1, votenum, 0) AS votenum,
IF(votenum >= 1 AND votenum > 0, votetotal / votenum, 0) AS voteavg,
post.pagetext AS preview,
thread.threadid, thread.title AS threadtitle, thread.forumid, pollid, open, replycount, postusername, postuserid, thread.iconid AS threadiconid,
thread.lastpost, thread.lastposter, thread.lastpostid, thread.replycount, IF(thread.views<=thread.replycount, thread.replycount+1, thread.views) AS views, thread.dateline, IF(views<=replycount, replycount+1, views) AS views, notes, thread.visible, sticky, votetotal, thread.attach,
hiddencount, deletedcount

, deletionlog.userid AS del_userid, deletionlog.username AS del_username, deletionlog.reason AS del_reason
, threadread.readtime AS threadread
, threadredirect.expires
, post_user.displaygroupid AS post_user_displaygid, post_user.usergroupid AS post_user_usergid, last_post_user.displaygroupid AS last_post_user_displaygid, last_post_user.usergroupid AS last_post_user_usergid
FROM thread AS thread
LEFT JOIN deletionlog AS deletionlog ON(thread.threadid = deletionlog.primaryid AND deletionlog.type = 'thread')

LEFT JOIN threadread AS threadread ON (threadread.threadid = thread.threadid AND threadread.userid = 2)
LEFT JOIN post AS post ON(post.postid = thread.firstpostid)

LEFT JOIN threadredirect AS threadredirect ON(thread.open = 10 AND thread.threadid = threadredirect.threadid)
WHERE thread.forumid = 4
ORDER BY lastpost DESC
LIMIT 5;

MySQL Error : Unknown column 'post_user.displaygroupid' in 'field list'
Error Number : 1054
Request Date : Saturday, July 2nd 2011 @ 07:28:58 AM
Error Date : Saturday, July 2nd 2011 @ 07:28:58 AM
Script : http://+++++.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=92
Referrer : http://+++++.com/forum/index.php
IP Address : 94.172.151.125
Username :
Classname : vB_Database
MySQL Version : 5.0.92-community-log
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 14:37
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Do you have access to phpmyadmin?

I've seen on rare occasion people who don't have the field displaygroupid in their user table before.

Please go to phpmyadmin, browse to your database, and view the user table.

See if you have the column called displaygroupid.

If not you should go to STRUCTURE -> Add 1 filed after membergroupids and call it displaygroupid type smallint(5).

It is of course good practice to backup your database before changing it.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 15:36
blackberry's Avatar
blackberry blackberry is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Sheem
I have both membergroupids and displaygroupid field both their values are 0 ?
Image attached
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled-1.png (7.7 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 17:01
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I re-checked this mod and "displaygroupid" is never queried by this mod so I'm thinking there is probably a conflict with another mod you may be running.

There might be an easy fix...

If you go to your Admin CP -> Plugin Manager -> Edit the Plugin Query Global Threads

Find the code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and just delete it.

Let me know if you still get the error and if not does it look like everything is working- this change will only affect global threads.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 18:41
blackberry's Avatar
blackberry blackberry is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Sheem
yep working fine now thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24 Sep 2011, 11:11
home9000 home9000 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Dear BirdOPrey5

any one he in the coventry list will get database error
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24 Sep 2011, 16:23
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by home9000 View Post
Dear BirdOPrey5

any one he in the coventry list will get database error
Indeed it does.

For a quick fix go to your Admin CP -> Plugin Manager find the plugin Query Global Threads and edit it.

Find the 3 instances of "replycount" (no quotes) and replace them all with "thread.replycount" (also no quotes.)

That will fix the database error. I will incorporate the fix into the next release. Thank you for letting me know.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24 Sep 2011, 16:49
home9000 home9000 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Indeed it does.

For a quick fix go to your Admin CP -> Plugin Manager find the plugin Query Global Threads and edit it.

Find the 3 instances of "replycount" (no quotes) and replace them all with "thread.replycount" (also no quotes.)

That will fix the database error. I will incorporate the fix into the next release. Thank you for letting me know.
Your are the best
Thanks too much it's working fine now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: