Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 27 May 2020, 17:56
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Question What type of announcement would include this?

I am working on my skin, and in template threadbit_announcementbit I found this block of code I cant seem to trigger.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have removed the if condition around it, and placed it in a comment

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But no matter how I set my announcement, I am not pulling any data in this snippet of code. Is there another announcement section I am missing? Other than announcement manager in the admincp.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is vB3 btw.
__________________
This needs to be updated
But I don't know what to put
Check Out Dirt RIF CustUmz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28 May 2020, 00:56
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
global announcements differ from forum announcements
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 May 2020, 09:00
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
global announcements differ from forum announcements
Yes, but neither are returning results on those variables... I have tried multiple variations of notifications, I have tried stacking and unstacking announcements. Yet nothing is setting those varibles...
__________________
This needs to be updated
But I don't know what to put
Check Out Dirt RIF CustUmz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 May 2020, 11:33
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz View Post
Yes, but neither are returning results on those variables... I have tried multiple variations of notifications, I have tried stacking and unstacking announcements. Yet nothing is setting those varibles...
I'd guess that something in the syntax has changed but I don't have a 3.8x installation to compare with. Is this code from 3.8.11 or an earlier version?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28 May 2020, 13:32
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
...your on to something, my master template dump was from an earlier version. Although I am running 3.8.11, i will see if this snippet is still in the template manager.

**edit** just confirmed this snippet is in 3.8.11. no change to the template at all.

keep in mind I am looking at this source on forumdisplay (i am unaware anywhere else that uses threadbit_announcement)


I have tried only having 1 announcement, 1 announcement and a global. only 2 forum announcements, only 2 global announcements, all stacked announcements, and all un stacked, and a few other ways. nothing seems to give these variables values. at this point its just bugging the hell out of me.

is there maybe somewhere else this template is rendered? I searched all templates, and see $announcebits is called in the announcements and search templates also, but I cant figure out how to search for announcements and I defiantly dont see this template being used in the announcement template
Attached Images
File Type: png 2.PNG (34.2 KB, 4 views)
File Type: png 3.PNG (50.0 KB, 4 views)
__________________
This needs to be updated
But I don't know what to put
Check Out Dirt RIF CustUmz

Last edited by Dr.CustUmz; 28 May 2020 at 13:48.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 May 2020, 14:42
lange lange is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz View Post
Is there another announcement section I am missing? Other than announcement manager in the admincp.
You also have access to the announcement_edit template.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 May 2020, 16:27
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
but threadbit_announcement is not displayed in the edit page. Im just trying to figure out what php pages I can see threadbit_announcment, and how to trigger it to show on said pages.

forumdisplay.php shows it yet doesnt return any values for the snippet. I see $announcebits (which I believe is the variable to call threadbit_announcement template) in search, and announcement. Yet I cant figure out how to get that template to actually appear on either of those pages.
__________________
This needs to be updated
But I don't know what to put
Check Out Dirt RIF CustUmz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 May 2020, 17:01
lange lange is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Post

Thanks, I understand your problem now.

I am not a coder but I can give you my opinion as a user: the announcement manager as it is now meets my needs perfectly. I ask no more. I can customize the design, give access rights by forum, by user group, etc. As you can see on the following screenshot (a responsive theme), I am using another of your products.

Last edited by lange; 26 Jun 2020 at 02:14.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 May 2020, 20:23
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Originally Posted by Wayne Luke
According to the PHP code, it should trigger on announcement.php where the forumid is greater than -1. I.E. if the announcement is within a specific forum. If it isn't triggering then there is a bug somewhere. However, since vBulletin 3.X is end of life and no longer in development, the bug will never be resolved.
Got my answer from the big man This seems to be useless code, that was either missed for removal, or never implemented. (as far as we can tell)
__________________
This needs to be updated
But I don't know what to put
Check Out Dirt RIF CustUmz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
admincp, announcement, manage


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: