Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Google Analytics in the Archive (and Forum) Details »
Google Analytics in the Archive (and Forum)
Mod Version: 2.0, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 37
Released: 09 Jul 2010 Last Update: 24 May 2011 Downloads: 196
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations  

New Version 2.0
New in 2.0: New Improved Google Tracking Code, Code in forum moved to recommended location before the </head> tag.

Uninstall old versions before installing Version 2.0

You will need your Google Analytics tracking ID when installing or upgrading. (UA-XXXXXX-X)

The main purpose of this mod was originally to add your Google Analytics code to the archive. The archive traditionally gets overlooked because the standard instructions of copying your analytics code into the footer doesn't cover the archive.

You simply copy and paste your tracking ID into the mod and enable it in your forums and/or archive.

To confirm it is working go to your archive and view the source on any archive page. At the bottom directly above the VB Copyright info should be your google code.

I have tested this in 3.8.6 and 3.8.7 and it will work in all 3.8.x and probably in 3.7 and earlier as well.
For VB4.x see this version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=256325

You won't see any indication on the pages but you can demo the product at:
http://www.juot.net/forums/archive/index.php
(You will have to view source to confirm it is working.)

Please mark as installed if you use this.

Full instructions in .zip file.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 20:14
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
There seems to be an error on your archive page: http://www.upsblogit.com/newforum/archive/index.php

I see the code fine in your regular footer, not sure if it's from the mod or you manually put it in your footer.

Please see if you disable the mod on the archive if it goes away?
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 20:34
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
FYI - I made a very minor change and released version 1.13... All it changes is the output formating of the code for easier debugging in case of a problem.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:06
SnakeEaterITA SnakeEaterITA is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
There seems to be an error on your archive page: http://www.upsblogit.com/newforum/archive/index.php

I see the code fine in your regular footer, not sure if it's from the mod or you manually put it in your footer.

Please see if you disable the mod on the archive if it goes away?
Ok, i removed the code from the footer and disabled the plugin, but the error remains. I'm sending you the whole index.php : i don't understand what to do and where to find the error...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:14
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by SnakeEaterITA View Post
Ok, i removed the code from the footer and disabled the plugin, but the error remains. I'm sending you the whole index.php : i don't understand what to do and where to find the error...
It isn't an error from his modification - it's an error from another modification. You'll need to find which one and then disable it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:33
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by SnakeEaterITA View Post
Ok, i removed the code from the footer and disabled the plugin, but the error remains. I'm sending you the whole index.php : i don't understand what to do and where to find the error...
If my mod is disabled and you still get the error it's likely another mod is causing the issue. Your index.php file is perfectly fine (which you sent to me by PM) so it's definitely another mod. If you are interested in trouble shooting try disabling all your other mods and re-enabling them one by one, each time checking to see if/when the error returns.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:41
SnakeEaterITA SnakeEaterITA is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ok, I disabled each plugin, one by one, but the error is still there >

damn...I remember that, following some guides, I added the Analytics script in the footer and in another page, but I'm unable to remember WHERE...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:47
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I suggest you try disabling hooks to confirm where the problem is. There are no templates in the archive.

To disable hooks edit your config.php... add this as the second line, directly below the opening tag <?php

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then check again if you still have the archive error.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:51
SnakeEaterITA SnakeEaterITA is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Ok, no more error removing the hooks. Consider I don't even know what is a hook :'(

Now what to do? What changes if i remove hooks?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 21:57
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Disabling hooks *really* disables every single mod and plugin... You should re-enable them again but now we know for sure the problem is with a plugin, not altered vbulletin files.

Re-enable your hooks, confirm the error is back...

Then go to Admin CP -> Plugin Manager and tell me what plugins you have at the top under Product: vBulletin (if any)...
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 22:03
SnakeEaterITA SnakeEaterITA is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Sh*t, found it!

It was my fault as I looked at Products instead of Plugins... it was this one:

Name: Code in Archive
Hook Location: archive_complete
PHP Code:

$output .= "<script src=\"http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js\" type=\"text/javascript\">
</script>
<script type=\"text/javascript\">
_uacct = \"XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX\";
urchinTracker();
</script>";


<!--Paste Google Adsense Code (with slashes) Above This Line-->
';
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02 Jan 2011, 22:22
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
yeah,, good, delete that plugin, you won't need it anyway with this mod.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03 Jan 2011, 11:27
www.ch-joy.com's Avatar
www.ch-joy.com www.ch-joy.com is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
tankx :-)
__________________
منتدى الفرح المسيحي
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04 Jan 2011, 00:52
Edgespeeder06 Edgespeeder06 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
installed but google tells me that no tracking is installed?

www.NJStangers.org I don't see it on my pages neither even though its in the google anayltics product I added to the backend
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04 Jan 2011, 01:05
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
It's definitely in your archive... I see it's not on your pages though... I think it's because you have the "Branding" removed from vBulletin (branding free license)- I wasn't taking that into consideration when I tied the Analytics code to the copyright... If there's no copyright there's no analytics code.

I suggest you manually add the code to your footer template but leave the mod installed for the archive.

I'll work on fixing this.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04 Jan 2011, 01:09
Edgespeeder06 Edgespeeder06 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
ah okay that happened when we did the custom garage as well as a few other mods, that explains it. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: