Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Form Hack Details »
Form Hack
Mod Version: 4.1, by Abe1 (Coder) Abe1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (76 votes - 4.51 average) Installs: 1213
Released: 15 Sep 2006 Last Update: 24 Apr 2008 Downloads: 6039
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Form Hack 4.1


Features:

Ever wanted an online form that a user can fill out, which when submitted gets:
  • Posted into a new thread in a forum of your choice
  • Create a new poll in the new thread with options of your choice
  • Posted as a reply in an existing thread of your choice
  • PMed to you or someone else
  • Emailed to an email address you specify
  • Choose to redirect to the post, thread or forum, or a custom thank you message
  • Choose to redirect to edit post
  • See a preview before they submit

Or any combination or all of the above?

Well, this is the hack for you!

You can use this for:
  • Moderator Applications
  • Quiz Submit Form which gets PMed to a moderator
  • Contact Form that goes to PM, email or thread
  • Guests to apply to be members
  • Report a Moderator form that goes as a PM to you
  • Guests can PM you for whatever reason
  • Order form to buy things
  • Donation form
  • News or Articles submissions that can go straight to a thread

Or anything you like - this hack is totally customizable via the AdminCP.

The beauty of this hack is that once you install this hack, to make a new form all you need to do is copy the main hook, rename it to whatever you want, edit the variables in the hook, and you have a totally new form!!! You do not need to touch the templates again, but can always create new ones and use different templates for different forms.

Format of the form:
  • One main input question
  • 3 Radio buttons Choice questions
  • 3 Normal text input questions
  • 1 Drop down menu
  • 3 Check boxes
  • 1 Long answer question
  • 1 VB message editor text box question
  • Upload attachments

This is customizable via the hook.

Also:
  • You can set the usergroups you want access to this form.
  • Depending on your forum permissions, if the new thread is in a public forum, members can reply to it. This hack allows a form to submit the new thread or post wherever you want it to go.
  • Force the user to answer all questions.

INSTALLATION
Easy - takes only a few minutes:
  • Import the XML into products. (admin cp -> Plug-in System -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product)
  • Edit the main plug-in - the instructions are all inside the hook itself, in the top half. Follow the instructions carefully!
  • To get to the form, go to: /newthread.php?do=form (change "form" to the name of your form if you have few)

Done!

Use this hack to make as many forms as you like!

Enjoy!

Updates:

Version 4.0: (09/15/2006)
  • Ported over for vb3.6
  • Send to multiple emails.
  • Send multiple PMs.
  • Parse emails for BBCode
  • And finally, ATTACHMENTS!

Version 4.1: (04/24/2008)
  • Fixed for vb 3.6.10
  • Small bug fixed.
  • List of the 2 quick edits are in the zip file so you don't have to start making a form from scratch.

MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL!
You will get an email when a new version is released.

Abe1 with rights from Dr Erwin Loh

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	form.JPG
Views:	21052
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	53487  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases Ajax add-on Form Hack Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 23 22 Sep 2008 21:17

  #496  
Old 16 Jun 2007, 18:14
dsotmoon dsotmoon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Originally Posted by Deepdog009 View Post
ABE1 has this at the top of the page... http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=144880

Good luck

thank you, i replied in that thread with a problem, can you help? it seems the image/font files are missing from the zip
Reply With Quote
  #497  
Old 16 Jun 2007, 21:12
StudMuffin21 StudMuffin21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Originally Posted by dirtycrow View Post
hmmm. . . what am i doing wrong?

i wanted to get rid of all the radio buttons and drop downs.
Originally Posted by |oR|Greg View Post
You have to edit the hook, and both templates in order to make it work.

Hey guys,

So I'm just getting going with understanding the design of vbulletin (just got it a few weeks ago). I'm having the same issue as Dirty Crow, but I cannot for the life of me figure out what this second template is that Greg is talking about. Can someone maybe point me in the right direction please?
Reply With Quote
  #498  
Old 17 Jun 2007, 15:49
criscokid criscokid is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by criscokid View Post
Suggestion for future version: The ability for the contents of the form to be posted as an event in the calendar.
Originally Posted by Abe1 View Post
Nice Idea. Putting on my list.
Hi Abe,

Any idea when you're likely to release a version of this mod with the form being posted as an event in the calendar?
Reply With Quote
  #499  
Old 18 Jun 2007, 18:44
Saviour's Avatar
Saviour Saviour is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Help with Additional Form

I currently have this hack installed on my forum and I'm using it for registered users to submit support requests...

This hack is freakin'awesome! Kudos!

The reason for this post is to ask for someone's assistance...

I've searched this foum for a link exchange hack and the only thing I can find is Links and Downloads Manager, which has link exchanging and other bells and whistles I just don't need. I'm also familiar with vbAdvanced, but don't want to spend the measly $35 for it. I'm a "tight-wad"!

I'm currently using LinkMachine which is PHP-based, but in order to use it, I have to create an HTML page as a template...I have to remove forum specific content, or it just doesn't work well with the board. Although the program is fairly good...it just doesn't have what I need in order to accomplish my goal.

What I'd like someone to help me with is to create a form for other sites to exchange link requests with my forum.

The form should have these fields and they should all be required:

1) Contact Name
2) Contact's E-Mail Address
3) Their Site's Title
4) Their Site's URL
5) Their Site's Description
6) URL Location of Their Reciprocal Link

I already have a hack installed that creates SEO friendly templates, so managing the link pages will not be a problem.

Once the form is submitted, it will be PM'd or e-mailed to me for review. Once I verify they are linking to my forum, I will add their info to the appropriate template page I've created.

In a perfect world, I'd like all of it to be automated, but unless I find a free program that can be incorporated into the forum, adding links, checking reciprocals, email notifications of missing links, updating links, etc., etc. will be entirely up to me.

It would also be nie if someone with enough vbulletin hack knowledge could create such a hack that would be of benefit to all users. Whoever does...definitely has my vote for BOTM!

Anyway...I hope I can get a volunteer to create the form and all other aspects of it.

Thanks, in advance for any replies and assistance.

Update...

No need for help anymore...finally figured it out and have it working, however, the addons supplied with this hack do not work. Someone might want to take a look into this. The Add-on hacks state they are supported...how does one get their hack validated and marked as supported when it doesn't even contain all the files and instructions you need to make it work.

This Form Hack 4.0 is exactly what I've been looking for and again, Kudos goes out to Abe on this one. I just want a simple CAPTCHA hack that will work with this hack.

I'm currently using vb 3.6.7 PL1.
__________________
Free Computer Help

Last edited by Saviour; 19 Jun 2007 at 14:44.
Reply With Quote
  #500  
Old 19 Jun 2007, 16:38
Sebasti1 Sebasti1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Hello with all, I installed this MOD but I do not see or to modify the form and also how to bind it to a forum? Thank you (sorry about the writing I speak French)
Reply With Quote
  #501  
Old 21 Jun 2007, 00:57
inteller2k7's Avatar
inteller2k7 inteller2k7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
this hack is pissing me oof i change the questions only and when i got to the Form place i get a
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

i go to line 287 and it is blank i have not done any template edits since i dont no what to edit some help would be nice and fast thanks
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 21 Jun 2007, 06:21
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
Originally Posted by inteller2k7 View Post
this hack is pissing me oof i change the questions only and when i got to the Form place i get a
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

i go to line 287 and it is blank i have not done any template edits since i dont no what to edit some help would be nice and fast thanks
wow - I'm not really sure who is going to want to help with an attitude like that...

and on a different note...

For some reason I'm running into an issue trying to edit one of the forms I've made for our site.

I've gone through and made the changes (or so it seems) to the product to include the new code for the new questions, I've entered the code for the answers and the code for the questions.

I've then gone into the form template and updated, then into the answers template and updates.

However, when I go to check the form, nothing has changed.

Am I missing a step somewhere perhaps?
Maybe a field needs to be rebuilt?

Last edited by RedGTiVR6; 21 Jun 2007 at 06:33.
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 22 Jun 2007, 03:58
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Hey folks please go back 2 around page 23 of this hack and read from there... U will C many ideas and helpful hints 2 assist ALL...

From pages 23 - 34 should help answer many questions, but if not I will try 2 help when time permits...

ABE1 form hack adds 2 templates and one plugin file...

Admincp -->>> goto products and install after that -->>> goto templates and find form & form_answers templates... modify as you will...

If you run into parse issues then double check your new modifications, most likely U added something wrong or forget 2 add quotes or something... Ohhh yeah the PLUGIN file has all the instructions on how 2 make changes and code stuff...

When making new forms slowly make changes and check yo form after every change 2 verify where the problems start at,,, then backtrack and C what the cause could be...

Download some of the FORM files in earlier posts 2 understand how it works...

Good Luck
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 22 Jun 2007, 16:32
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
I ended up having to create new templates (with the exact same info mind you) and change the name of the templates the hack was looking for to those templates before I could get the changes to show up...

really not sure why that was the case. All I did was copy and paste the contents of the previous template into a new template and just change the name...strange.
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 23 Jun 2007, 00:27
InTeNsE-HuMoR's Avatar
InTeNsE-HuMoR InTeNsE-HuMoR is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Hi, can anyone tell me how to remove a field that I don't want in the form? I have only been able to remove the field name and not the actual field itself, how to I completely remove a field?
__________________
Free content for your forum! IGN Movie Trailers Embed BB Code | Live Video Embed BB Code | Game Trailers BB Code
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 23 Jun 2007, 07:53
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
{Saviour} Update...

No need for help anymore...finally figured it out and have it working, however, the addons supplied with this hack do not work. Someone might want to take a look into this. The Add-on hacks state they are supported...how does one get their hack validated and marked as supported when it doesn't even contain all the files and instructions you need to make it work.

This Form Hack 4.0 is exactly what I've been looking for and again, Kudos goes out to Abe on this one. I just want a simple CAPTCHA hack that will work with this hack.

I'm currently using vb 3.6.7 PL1.
When U guys posted asking about add-ons I was out of town...
I uploaded those missing files two days ago...

Most guys dont stay glued 2 these forums everyday my friend,,, when time permits I stop by 2 help and fix issues...

At the time of release I uploaded a new file and forgot 2 add images 4 that add-on...

Good Luck
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 25 Jun 2007, 19:55
H1MendlessDark H1MendlessDark is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I was just wondering how to edit the questions below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

How do I edit the variables and stuff. I dont get it.

Last edited by H1MendlessDark; 28 Jun 2007 at 02:45.
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 28 Jun 2007, 19:14
Jeffler's Avatar
Jeffler Jeffler is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Jeff Veillette
Alright, I'm an idiot, and I've never worked with hooks before (crazy, I know).

Can someone just tell me where I have to go to edit the hook? I'll be fine then. :P
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 29 Jun 2007, 06:32
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by Jeffler View Post
Alright, I'm an idiot, and I've never worked with hooks before (crazy, I know).

Can someone just tell me where I have to go to edit the hook? I'll be fine then. :P
Plugin Hook 4 this Hack is located in Admincp, near bottom of listing under RSS FEEDS and below that is {{{Plugins & Products}}}...

Within the {Plugins & Products} menu is option Plugin Mgr...

After accessing that menu look 4 Forms Hack plugin, open and view code...

This is where U make modifications 2 create new forms or make changes 2 primary test form...


Below is start of Hooks Code 4 this Hack...

Making changes ain't easy... I suggest taking your time and study and read the setup area several times...

Eventually U will understand how it works with a little patients...

Good Luck!



// To add more then one form, copy this whole text, and creat a new plug-in with the hook location 'newthread_start'.
// After, change the form name. You can't have 2 forms with the same name.

// Name of this form
$formname = "testemp";

if ($_REQUEST['do'] == $formname)
{

// #######################################################################
// ######################## CUSTOMIZE VARIABLES ##########################
// #######################################################################

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
////// BEGIN CUSTOMIZATION BELOW////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//VARIABLES
//Study how variables are add here to add or remove any. If you add a variable to your form, you must add it to part one and part two.
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// Part 1
$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('p', array(
'normalanswer1' => TYPE_STR,
'radioanswer1' => TYPE_STR,
'radioanswer2' => TYPE_STR,
'radioanswer3' => TYPE_STR,
'radioanswer3other' => TYPE_STR,
'answer1' => TYPE_STR,
'answer2' => TYPE_STR,
'answer3' => TYPE_STR,
'dropdownanswer1' => TYPE_STR,
'checkboxanswer1_1' => TYPE_STR,
'checkboxanswer1_2' => TYPE_STR,
'checkboxanswer1_3' => TYPE_STR,
'longanswer1' => TYPE_STR
));

// Part 2
$normalanswer1 = $vbulletin->GPC['normalanswer1'];
$radioanswer1 = $vbulletin->GPC['radioanswer1'];
$radioanswer2 = $vbulletin->GPC['radioanswer2'];
$radioanswer3 = $vbulletin->GPC['radioanswer3'];
$radioanswer3other = $vbulletin->GPC['radioanswer3other'];
$answer1 = $vbulletin->GPC['answer1'];
$answer2 = $vbulletin->GPC['answer2'];
$answer3 = $vbulletin->GPC['answer3'];
$dropdownanswer1 = $vbulletin->GPC['dropdownanswer1'];
$checkboxanswer1_1 = $vbulletin->GPC['checkboxanswer1_1'];
$checkboxanswer1_2 = $vbulletin->GPC['checkboxanswer1_2'];
$checkboxanswer1_3 = $vbulletin->GPC['checkboxanswer1_3'];
$longanswer1 = $vbulletin->GPC['longanswer1'];
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 29 Jun 2007, 19:31
vFan's Avatar
vFan vFan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Post to thread and submit to db at same time

Silly question perhaps, but in addition to being posted to a thread, poll, etc., does the information submitted via the form hack automatically get stored in the database as well? If it doesn't get stored in the db then is it possible to modifiy the form to have 2 actions associated with the submit button. (You know like the ability to submit info to a db while notifying someone via email that their order has been received.) What I want is for the form data to be posted to a thread upon submission as well as storing it in the db so I can send it on to a different application it later. If if can be done, how do I do it?

(By the way, I have looked through the tables in my db and do not see any of the information that has been posted to my threads so I'm assuming that it only gets posted not stored ? Please correct me if I'm wrong)

Sorry if this is a ridiculous question but I am not a coder. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: