Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Tag Cloud on Forumdisplay Details »
Tag Cloud on Forumdisplay
Mod Version: 0.03, by ThorstenA (Member) ThorstenA is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.2 Rating: (9 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 89
Released: 29 Jul 2008 Last Update: 24 Aug 2008 Downloads: 516
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Re-usable Code  

vbulletin 4 version




What does this product do?
It displays a tag cloud of all tags used within actual forums on top of FORUMDISPLAY. If a user clicks on tags, only threads within actual forums are displayed then.

How to install?
Just import product. Done.

Optional: To also only show threads within actual forums once a user clicks on a tag on showthread, change template tagbit to

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


How to uninstall?
Just deinstall product. Done.

How to change location of tag cloud box?
  • Replace this code from manage plugins > plugin forumdisplay_start (Forum Tags)

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

    with

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • Put $cloud_html in FORUMDISPLAY style to show tag cloud.

Details
  • no options available yet
  • uses standard tag options made in admincp > tags
  • Does not add phrases, templates.
  • It uses standard tag cloud template, but shows it on FORUMDISPLAY
  • Tag cloud is only shown in actual forum when tags were used
  • threads tagged within subforums are not shown
  • Tag cloud is automaticely placed below navbar template
  • Tag links are altered to let tags be searchable by forum
  • Tag.php has a new option forumid to only show tags from specific forums
  • If you click on a tag, only topics within actual forum are displayed
  • Tag size is dependent on how many threads are tagged only within actual forum
  • Adds 1 query to forumdisplay
Version history
  • 30.7.08 version 0.1
  • 31.7.08 version 0.2 Templates are cached
  • 24.8.08 version 0.3 Pagenav bug resolved
  • 9.1.09 New description how to change location of tag cloud box (solved bug)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.jpg
Views:	2331
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	84764  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Word Cloud: Display Most Common Words from Posts in Cloud calorie vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 38 24 Mar 2013 17:35

  #46  
Old 29 Sep 2008, 17:14
traf traf is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I would love to see an option to use the tag cloud on some forums and not on every one.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 29 Sep 2008, 17:31
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by traf View Post
I would love to see an option to use the tag cloud on some forums and not on every one.
Actually tag cloud is only shown on forums if there are any threads tagged at all. If this is requested more often, I will include this in this product.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 30 Sep 2008, 09:15
neoxi's Avatar
neoxi neoxi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Ozgur
thank you.. nice hacks
__________________
Özgür Dünya Özgürce Düşler
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04 Oct 2008, 10:03
yakusasc yakusasc is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by traf View Post
I would love to see an option to use the tag cloud on some forums and not on every one.
+1

good job !
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 24 Oct 2008, 08:39
imported_silkroad imported_silkroad is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Originally Posted by ThorstenA View Post
Actually tag cloud is only shown on forums if there are any threads tagged at all. If this is requested more often, I will include this in this product.

Please include this option, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 09:58
TurkYasam TurkYasam is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hey there,
Thanks for this usefull hack..I want to customise for just one thing and I couldn't find how..
For SEO needs,I don't want to create double url's so I want to remove tag search within actual forums..So how can I remove forum id from tag URL?

Just, http://www.mydomain.net/tags/yargi.html instead of
http://www.mydomain.net/tags/yargi.html?forumid=1133

thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 10:01
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by TurkYasam View Post
Hey there,
Thanks for this usefull hack..I want to customise for just one thing and I couldn't find how..
For SEO needs,I don't want to create double url's so I want to remove tag search within actual forums..So how can I remove forum id from tag URL?

Just, http://www.mydomain.net/tags/yargi.html instead of
http://www.mydomain.net/tags/yargi.html?forumid=1133

thanks..
There seems to be no way to do this as your SEO product most likely is not able to include forumids in tags. You can however use <a href="" rel="nofollow"> statements. This way search engines do not go after this link.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 10:06
TurkYasam TurkYasam is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Actualy, I strontly want the robots follow this but I just want remove that forum id from url.. So let me clear it out, you saying there is no way we can remove that extra line from URL that your hack adds?

regards..
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 10:08
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by TurkYasam View Post
Actualy, I strontly want the robots follow this but I just want remove that forum id from url.. So let me clear it out, you saying there is no way we can remove that extra line from URL that your hack adds?

regards..
tag script needs to know which forum it should search for. It fetches these datas from url. So url must be changed anyway. It is be possible to do replace url ?forumid=123 with something like tag/tagname/forum123.html but I do not know how to do that in SEO.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 10:18
TurkYasam TurkYasam is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I might be getting annoying but I will insist..
ThorstenA, why dont we let it fetch as it is now but in its template can't get output without that forumid url? Or can you tell me which template or plugin thats adds the URL? So, If I would add rel=nofollow which temlplate or plugin I should edit? If it is using global template, isnt that gonna add this rel=nofollow to global tags too?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 10:26
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
I can not help you further. Please note that this product is marked as not supported. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 11 Nov 2008, 10:50
TurkYasam TurkYasam is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Again ThorstenA, Thanks to you too..
I guess I got it..
For those who is wondering how here the solution I found, (Because of my very limited knowledge of PHP, it is in your own risk)

From your plug-ins find "forumdisplay_start"
and delete below code (you will find two of this)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

It worked for me, I hope same thing for you..
It is just good for solid seo..
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 23 Nov 2008, 23:59
laxyy laxyy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
awesome, is it possible to add these tags in discription
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 24 Nov 2008, 13:22
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by laxyy View Post
awesome, is it possible to add these tags in discription
How to change location of tag cloud box?
  • Delete this code from manage plugins > plugin forumdisplay_start (Forum Tags)

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • Put $cloud_html in FORUMDISPLAY style to show tag cloud.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 24 Nov 2008, 16:51
onehost onehost is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I am looking for a particlular tag cloud script where you can add certain words, and when those words appear in a post/article on the forum, then a URL will be attached to that word. I have seen this before, I assume the forum owner was using this as to advertise his url on certain tag keywords...i have even seen that you can click on a tagged word, and a box ad/url comes up, and so so on...

anyone know where i can find this mod/hack?

Thank-You
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: