Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
XBL GamerCard Button (Appears just like IM buttons) Details »
XBL GamerCard Button (Appears just like IM buttons)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Bluestrike2 (Member) Bluestrike2 is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.2 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 22
Released: 30 Dec 2005 Last Update: 01 Jan 2006 Downloads: 60
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files  

Everyone loves Xbox Live . Anyhow, there are a few other ways to get the gamertag into the postbit templates but wow does that look ugly!

So I figured "wouldn't it be cool if it looked like the Skype logos?" With that said I looked around and did a lot of fooling around on my test board. This is the end result:

XBL GamerCard as a IM button esque thing
1 - Step one - Create a user profile field (Admin CP => User Profile Fields => Add New

Single Line Text Box
Title: Xbox Live GamerTag
Description: Enter your Xbox Live GamerTag
Show on Member List: On
Field Searchable on Members List: On
The rest of the values are yours to mess in if you want to

2 - Take note of the field value (mine is field9)

3 - Time to edit your template (postbit/postbit_legacy) The path to do so from the Admin CP panel is : Admin CP => Styles and Templates => Template Manager => (Select 'Edit Templates' in the drop down menu for the template you wish to edit => Press [« »] beside 'Postbit Templates' => [Customize] either 'postbit' or 'postbit_legacy'

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Do NOT forget to change 'field5' to whatever field yours is. The image goes in your style's misc. folder.

That's all folk!

Credit: Stonyarc's thread here for inspiration.

Because of my Mac's TextEdit difficulties (isn't compatible for some reason but has been in the past ) I've attached the logo and a PDF of these instructions.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Animated button set (some buttons) 1nf1n1t3-1 vBulletin Button Sets 26 24 Oct 2007 02:33

  #16  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 01:40
Breath Breath is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Originally Posted by Bluestrike2
Thank you my friend. I'll change the stuff to reflect that.

No problem!

You might want to change my field5 options back to field9 so it matches up with your example. Also as you can see from my demo it works on the normal postbit too!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 02:07
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Done and done! Thanks again.

Anyhow, I've updated everything. Should be good to go! Happy gaming!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 02:20
predatorkill predatorkill is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Great hack!! Can you make it to appear when i pass the mouse over the button?That would be more easy to everyone!!

Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 02:23
pspcrazy pspcrazy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by predatorkill
Great hack!! Can you make it to appear when i pass the mouse over the button?That would be more easy to everyone!!

Thank you very much!
Kill me lol, damn fireworks, i need to learn photoshop rofl. Tranparency doesnt even work lol.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 17:00
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
psp - you quoted the wrong thing .

Anyhow, to make a transparent GIF:
  • Create New Document
  • Select 'Transparent' Background
  • Do your work
  • Save as .GIF with 'Transparency' selected

You can also use .PNG and preserve transparency .
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 17:09
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Great going guys / gals !
- hey Bluestrike2, edit the 1st post and add a check to "Additional files" (the gif upload)
__________________
http://www.szone.us |

Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01 Jan 2006, 18:16
G0F0RBR0KE's Avatar
G0F0RBR0KE G0F0RBR0KE is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: James
Good one guys. Once this hack is fully completed. Just simply PM me or i'll recheck it later on.
__________________
http://vb-spanish.com is releasing soon (help will be appericated).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02 Jan 2006, 01:32
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Forgot to do so. Anyhow, its pretty much complete it seems. While we *could* probably find a way to code the rollover effect in, it seems like it would be a PiTA. Does anyone have suggestions on how to implement that?

Zachariah - forgot to click it . Oops!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21 Jan 2006, 17:18
krümel krümel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
In my forum at the User Fukuhara (http://kuruboard.de/vB/member.php?u=70) comes no xboxlive icon in the postbit =(

help mee!! ^^

Last edited by krümel; 21 Jan 2006 at 20:51.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28 Jan 2006, 16:21
Afterlifer82 Afterlifer82 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Could someone please post revised instructions on how to get this working in 3.53, I'd greatly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 29 Jan 2006, 19:58
Noonster's Avatar
Noonster Noonster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Originally Posted by Afterlifer82
Could someone please post revised instructions on how to get this working in 3.53, I'd greatly appreciate it.
I would also appreciate this...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 29 Jan 2006, 20:21
Noonster's Avatar
Noonster Noonster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
No worried I have sorted it now...

Also noticed that if you have usernames with different colours that the code "Breath" posted what work!!! However to get it working you need to change:

[musername] to [username]

Here is all the code incase you are unsure as to what I mean!!


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Cheers
Daz
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 30 Jan 2006, 17:35
Afterlifer82 Afterlifer82 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Noonster thank you very much, you literally saved a man's sanity today.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01 Feb 2006, 02:02
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
I've got it up and running on 3.5.3 here.

What's not working specifically?

Kruemel - can you send me a link to a post with it - where its not showing up? That's to the profile. While I see not reason why it WOULDN'T work on the profile - I'm just curious as to what's not showing up. Did you upload the image to the proper directory and make sure that the link in the code points there?

Don't forget to click 'install' .
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27 Feb 2006, 15:10
A17roolz's Avatar
A17roolz A17roolz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
i get stuck here
Time to edit your template (postbit/postbit_legacy)

what file are you talking about? i am using 3.5.4

also why is the image 21 by 21 and not 23 by 23 like the other [msn, yahoo, etc] images are?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: