Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account (for 3.8) Details »
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account (for 3.8)
Mod Version: 2.0.6, by sllik (Member) sllik is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (87 votes - 4.74 average) Installs: 805
Released: 25 Jan 2009 Last Update: 06 Sep 2009 Downloads: 7705
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations External Content  

Staff Note: Moved to Graveyard - this will never work now that the old style facebook authentication is no longer available.


Facebook Connect
This add-on allows your guests and existing users to login with their Facebook account through Facebook Connect.

There is NO NEED to upgrade or reinstall if you already installed this mod for 3.7

Upgrade to 2.0.6 so that users with the new super long IDs will be able to login.


This mod conflicts with PhotoPost vBGallery!

Quick fix:
Disable the following PhotoPost vBGallery plugins:
  • Userinfo Merge
  • Integrate Postbit Showthread

Benefits of Facebook Connect
  • Users can simply login with their Facebook account without going through the registration process.
  • Increase user interaction and your traffic through Facebook notifications and news-feeds!
Features
Facebook users will be able to receive Facebook notifications when:
  • There is a reply to their thread or a thread that they're subscribing to
  • They receive a new PM
News-Feed will be published on to the user's wall when the user:
  • Logs in for the first time
  • Replies to a thread
  • Creates a new thread
Fetch user data from Facebook
Fetch data like name, location, profile picture and use it on your forums! (NOTE: Some data may not be available for some users)

Automatically befriend user's friends
If any of the user's friends are also registered on the forum, they will automatically be friends!

Professional Install/Upgrade/Support Services
Want this mod professionally installed? It's guaranteed to work on your forum! Download the archive and see INSTALL.html/UPGRADE.html for more details!

Troubleshooting
Server Requirements:
PHP 5

If you get an error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Means that there is something wrong with your callback URL. Your callback URL must be where xd_receiver.htm is; so when you enter [callbackurl]/xd_receiver.htm into your browser you should see a blank page (not a 404 page not found error or anything else).

If you get a continues this means there is a javascript error. Make sure you've done all the template edits correctly (especially footer & navbar). Clear your cache and reload the page.

If nothing happens when you click the Facebook Connect button make sure your callback url domain is the same as you forum domain (the one set in your forum settings) - more specifically make sure that there is a www (or isn't) in both domains.


Many more features may be implemented in the future so keep checking for updates.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot1.png
Views:	4079
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	93468   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot2.png
Views:	6728
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	93469   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot3.png
Views:	7774
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	93470   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot4.png
Views:	7661
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	93471  

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot5.png
Views:	6644
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	93472   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot6.png
Views:	6765
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	93473  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Integration with vBulletin Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account sllik vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1585 29 Jun 2016 14:30

  #16  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 13:45
RedTrinity's Avatar
RedTrinity RedTrinity is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by Phaedrus View Post
It tries to. You have to tell it "no" or I think it would.

I turned off the publish stories function because the yes or no function was annoying and I had to tell it "no" on some so I couldn't just set it to "always do this"...
Thanks for clarifying

I just also read through some posts in the 3.7 version topic for this hack and noticed a few people asking for the option in the ACP to exclude certain forums completely from being published to the news feed.

I'd like to also make this request!

For the time being I'm going to keep the news feed option turned off because of the privacy issue, we have too many private forums which I don't want to risk going to the news feed - even some of the topic titles can be too personal.

But hoping to be able to let our members use it soon if a future version has this change

Thanks Sllik for such a fantastic hack, I've voted it for MOTM
__________________
http://www.theparentsanctuary.net - Australian Parents forum
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 14:05
Pip Pip is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by GamerGirl27 View Post
I'd like to also make this request!
I join that "request queue"

Thanks for that great mod - after installing it I logged out several times just to see it again and again to log in through facebook

Voted for MOTM
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 14:26
Armyqt Armyqt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Originally Posted by Loco.M View Post
installed and working great
I'm going to setup facebook connect on the wordpress blog as well
How are you going to do this? I have a wordpress blog as well as VB.

This is an awesome hack. I can't wait to install later. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 14:38
Pip Pip is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
on the ibProArcade page I only get get icon - does anybody know why? it's only on that page ...

I'll check out the navbar and footer template later today but maybe anybody has a hint to what I have to look
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 14:38
Jon_Simmonds Jon_Simmonds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
wouldnt <if condition="forumid=1"> around the template edits in newreply,newthread and showthread (for quick replies) stop the potential news feeds being posted for hidden forums?

going to setup a test board to test a few things before i put this live, and cant do that now, so maybe someone who is in a position to test this idea could?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 14:45
brockied brockied is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
When you select a nickname it keeps saying not available in red text is there a fix for this?.

Great hack
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 16:26
Phaedrus Phaedrus is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by brockied View Post
When you select a nickname it keeps saying not available in red text is there a fix for this?.

Great hack
Thanks
Pick one that isn't used.



Sorry, I couldn't resist.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 19:07
RvG2's Avatar
RvG2 RvG2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
It works . . .

Thank you so much.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 19:53
Roxie's Avatar
Roxie Roxie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Ro
Some of my members have avatars turned off, but the board still shows the avatars of members who logged in via FB connect.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 19:59
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by Jon_Simmonds View Post
wouldnt <if condition="forumid=1"> around the template edits in newreply,newthread and showthread (for quick replies) stop the potential news feeds being posted for hidden forums?

going to setup a test board to test a few things before i put this live, and cant do that now, so maybe someone who is in a position to test this idea could?
Basically yes. For a better solution the settings would have to be added to the AdminCP area, the you can have it check against an array, or bitfield in the plugin code.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 20:02
Roxie's Avatar
Roxie Roxie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Ro
The avatar issue is only when Data Mapping is enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 21:30
stonner stonner is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
How can I set up new news feeds like:
  • {*actor*} uploaded new photos. {*albumtitle*}
  • {*actor*} logged in. {*bbtitle*}
  • {*actor*} joined/created a group. {*groupname*}
  • {*actor*} created a blog. {*blogname*}
  • {*actor*} set a new highscore in the game xyz. {*ibproarcade gamename*}

That would generate Traffic!

Voted for MOTM!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 21:32
stonner stonner is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by Pip View Post
on the ibProArcade page I only get get icon - does anybody know why? it's only on that page ...

I'll check out the navbar and footer template later today but maybe anybody has a hint to what I have to look
I have the same problem..
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 21:43
brockied brockied is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by Phaedrus View Post
Pick one that isn't used.



Sorry, I couldn't resist.
haha thats very funny .

I select a name that not used but it still says the same anyone know how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 26 Jan 2009, 21:51
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by stonner View Post
Installed and it's working!

How can I translate the News-Feed-Templates? Thank you!
You need to create new ones in your language... Use the "Register New Templates" link.

Originally Posted by stonner View Post
How can I set up new news feeds like:
  • {*actor*} uploaded new photos. {*albumtitle*}
  • {*actor*} logged in. {*bbtitle*}
  • {*actor*} joined/created a group. {*groupname*}
  • {*actor*} created a blog. {*blogname*}
  • {*actor*} set a new highscore in the game xyz. {*ibproarcade gamename*}

That would generate Traffic!

Voted for MOTM!
Thanks for the vote . I might add these feeds in future release.

Originally Posted by brockied View Post
When you select a nickname it keeps saying not available in red text is there a fix for this?.

Great hack
Thanks
There is probably a js error. Make sure you have the news-feed templates registered (see the install instructions for details).

Originally Posted by Phaedrus View Post
Pick one that isn't used.



Sorry, I couldn't resist.
good one

Originally Posted by Pip View Post
on the ibProArcade page I only get get icon - does anybody know why? it's only on that page ...

I'll check out the navbar and footer template later today but maybe anybody has a hint to what I have to look
Does that page have the footer template?
__________________
Want Facebook Connect for vBulletin professionally installed on your forum? It's guaranteed to work! PM me for details!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: