Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
iPod-Hacking.com's mobile skin Details »
iPod-Hacking.com's mobile skin
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by ForgotenDynasty (Member) ForgotenDynasty is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.2 Rating: (12 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 152
Released: 08 May 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1664
Not Supported Auto-Template  

iPod-Hacking.com's mobile skin V1.0.0

This is my first release of the skin that I have developing for my forum.

Live Board

The instillation for this board is a bit more elaborate due to the custom status icons.

Installation:
1) Upload the file in the folder names "put in root of fourm" to your forums root directory.
2) Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Download / Upload Styles -> Upload iPod-Hacking.com V1.0.0.xml
3) Configure the status icons*
4) Done!

Credits:
-- Status Icon's - Any Apple developers who's i used
-- Skin based off of ElForro iPhone skin
--Menu based off of Justins mobile skin
* the status icons are located in the put "in root of fourm/iPhone/statusicon" directory. All status icons are assigned by forum id.

Example
You have a forum named announcements. The forum ID to it is 12. You would Name the picture that you would like to assign to that forum 12.png

In order the find forum id look in the URL bar when inside that forum.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Notice how it end is f=104
The forum id to that forum is 104.
So in order to put a status icon next to it i would need to have a picture named 104.png in the statusicon folder

In the extras folder their are PSDs that can be used to create the status icons.
Status icons are in a 50X50 format.
The best way to achive that size is to open the rendericon.psd
Click on one of the boaders.
Resize the icon so that it fits in the boarder.
Click back on the boarder and go to Select>load section> load the boarder.
Click back on the icon and press the delete key.

That will delete any extra color around the icons making perfectly rendered icons. For best results its better to cut a little off the icons then make them to small.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0023.PNG
Views:	2235
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	98806   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0024.PNG
Views:	1651
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	98807   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0025.PNG
Views:	1808
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	98808   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0027.PNG
Views:	2310
Size:	70.0 KB
ID:	98809  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0026.PNG
Views:	2727
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	98810  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
iPhone / iPod Touch Optimized Skin ElForro vBulletin 3.7 Styles 352 16 Oct 2014 08:20
iPod Touch / iPhone Skin mac-warez Modification Graveyard 19 04 May 2009 02:32

  #46  
Old 09 Jun 2009, 16:12
TPTP's Avatar
TPTP TPTP is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
I'm noticing that Categories with subforums under them are not clickable and just show up as a bar with the Category name and nothing underneath it.
That's what I'm seeing. I just loaded your site from my iPhone, and here's a snapshot of part of the page:



The Categories that you mention are not clickable on the phone, either.


Another issue:
I just loaded this style on my test site, and unfortunately, Cyb's ChatBox and Advanced Forum Statistics do not work. Chatbox simply doesn't load, and Avdvanced Forum Statistics just sits there saying "Loading...".

Yes, it's a mobile style, but I have a number of iPhone users (myself included ), who don't care about bandwidth. Besides, ChatBox works fairly well on iPhone, but not on this style.

Any idea what's causing it? I'm running vB 3.8.2 and vBa 3.2.0.
Attached Images
File Type: png IMG_0019.PNG (44.5 KB, 765 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12 Jun 2009, 01:20
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Thanks for checking for me. I didn't want to edit the templates unless I had to.

I was under the impression that this style had been designed to exclude the chatbox and most of the hooks. Maybe I'm thinking of something else.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12 Jun 2009, 20:30
rmadeat's Avatar
rmadeat rmadeat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
cool
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 19 Jun 2009, 03:33
Jman423's Avatar
Jman423 Jman423 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Was there ever a fix for forums that are not running quick reply?

Also, I am not seeing the blue and yellow bubbles on mine, just white backgrounds on posts, I've made sure to upload the iPhone folder to the vB root, and everything else seems OK, but no bubbles and no ability to post reply without hitting the quote button.

This is a great template though, thank you for your time in developing and supporting it.

EDIT: I answered all of my own questions, for those that may be wondering the same info:
  • Since I don't run quick reply on my forum, I simply commented out the "Reply" button in my postbit template (either postbit or postbit_legacy)
  • To fix the "Post Reply" button at the top of the thread, I had to edit the SHOWTHREAD template. I replaced the URL for the "largereplybutton" with the following (I also added another button to the bottom of the SHOWTHREAD template):
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  • And for the bubbles not showing, I realized that the style only shows the bubbles in the postbit_legacy mode (in vBulletin options), so I copied everything out of that template into the postbit template and it worked like a charm.

I hope this helps someone out...

Last edited by Jman423; 19 Jun 2009 at 04:50.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 20 Jun 2009, 17:57
ForgotenDynasty ForgotenDynasty is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I purposely made the catagory bars not clickable sorry I just think the skin works better that way
sorry for not being active ive just been busy with school and since I took my site down this skin is kin of like out of site out of mind but I will most likely be updating it over the summer

and thanks for that quick list of bug fixes that will save me a lot of time when I go threw to update
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 17:02
andreamarucci's Avatar
andreamarucci andreamarucci is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Thanks for this fantastic style. However you said
I will go threw and remove the hooks for my 1.1.0 release.
And since I've some Cyb mods and other mods on the regular board, I would like to know when you think to release this version because I would not want to mess up with the templates deleting things to make mods doesn't appear in the iphone style. Your idea to remove the hooks is correct so that if anyone would like to have the mods simply put the tag inside the template, otherwise should be better to have a theme without the hooks.

Thanks again...
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 17:20
andreamarucci's Avatar
andreamarucci andreamarucci is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Another suggestion if possible. I think the the traditional method to display if the content of some forum is new or not it's better than having fixed icons like in this template. This way the user cannot see immediately if there are new post and where. Instead, with the traditional way, the user can see where the new messages are.

is there a way not to show the fixed icons and show the classic icons that are different if there are new messages or not?

thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 17:37
andreamarucci's Avatar
andreamarucci andreamarucci is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by Jman423 View Post
[*] To fix the "Post Reply" button at the top of the thread, I had to edit the SHOWTHREAD template. I replaced the URL for the "largereplybutton" with the following (I also added another button to the bottom of the SHOWTHREAD template):
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I hope this helps someone out...
It helped me. Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 19:09
andreamarucci's Avatar
andreamarucci andreamarucci is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Last question. The quickreply box is showed but there's no way to make it work. in my forum it's necessary to click on the quick reply button to activate the field but I'm unable to find the correct link to copy and paste in the postbit template. Can you help?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 28 Jun 2009, 15:12
andreamarucci's Avatar
andreamarucci andreamarucci is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Mmmhh it's just an impression or it seems that noone is hanging out here?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 15 Jul 2009, 16:40
AshleyTwo AshleyTwo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I really like how it looks but there are a few things I am wondering if anyone knows how to change;

When viewing threads is there any way to introduce a "go to first unread post" button, like on a normal scheme? My forum has some large threads and I'm sure people wouldn't want to be scrolling all the way through them.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 31 Aug 2009, 13:28
thephoneclub thephoneclub is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
How Could you disable the icon column forums?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 31 Aug 2009, 22:04
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
After uploading the files and installing the forum style, I get a zillion of these:

Warning: strpos() [function.strpos]: Offset not contained in string in [path]/includes/functions_forumlist.php(393) : eval()'d code on line 227

How can I fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 00:11
exel exel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Alfa1, you have any modifications installed?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01 Sep 2009, 17:14
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Yes, many. But after review of this style, I choose not to use it. My site is too large for it. Each forums takes up a considerable amount of space in this style. So having 350 forums does not work well with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: