Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 13 Sep 2010, 00:51
sneezyyzeens sneezyyzeens is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
layout allowing 2 widgits horizontally?

Is there an easy way to do this (2 widgits side-by-side) using the VB4 grid/layout system?



I don't want to use a 2 column grid (unless there's a way to do grids inside of grids?), because after those 2 widgits I want just the normal articles listed vertically below.

Right now I'm planning on using a single php widget that will fake the look of two separate ones, but this seems like an option that would be common enough that maybe someone else has come up with an easy way to do it?

Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13 Sep 2010, 01:07
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Flatten the grid and then modify it to do what you want.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Nov 2010, 01:29
sneezyyzeens sneezyyzeens is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
I finally had some time to figure this out, and thought I'd share in case there is someone as lost with this stuff as I am.

I figured out what "flatten the grid" meant.

Add a new grid, name it whatever you want, and pick whichever of the options is closest to what you are actually wanting. When your new grid is listed, the default action is "edit" which only gives you the options that are available when you create a grid. Instead, change the dropdown to "flatten grid"

You will then be presented with a YUI CSS template. I'm sure vBulletin gives you the information about this somewhere, but after some google searching, I found that YUI is a Yahoo standardized library which includes these template codes. The YUI information can be found at http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/

In particular, I found a basic YUI grid builder here: http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/grids/builder/ and, possibly more importantly, a cheat sheet that lets you know what things like "class=yui-b", "class="yui-t5", etc mean: http://yuiblog.com/assets/pdf/cheatsheets/css.pdf

My original post just asked about the "main" part of my layout. I actually wanted a nav section to the left (25%), main (75%) and a 240pix sidebar to the right. Inside the main part I wanted the option of 2 widget above the primary content:



Each of those blocks can be stuffed with whatever widgets you want to throw in there. It's a 100% width, 2 column(25/75) layout with 240 px sidebar, with a nested grid of one row of 2 blocks with a lower 1 column row that will have my articles.

Here's the grid code I used to achieve that layout.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by sneezyyzeens; 06 Nov 2010 at 01:37.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08 Nov 2010, 06:58
daveaite's Avatar
daveaite daveaite is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: David
Thanks for the info mate, I learned a bit here.

--------------- Added 08 Nov 2010 at 07:02 ---------------

The builder is actually quite powerful. Better than the vbulletin grid builder.
__________________

Introducing vBSocial 10

Last edited by daveaite; 08 Nov 2010 at 07:02. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08 Nov 2010, 16:33
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by sneezyyzeens View Post
I finally had some time to figure this out, and thought I'd share in case there is someone as lost with this stuff as I am.

I figured out what "flatten the grid" meant.

Add a new grid, name it whatever you want, and pick whichever of the options is closest to what you are actually wanting. When your new grid is listed, the default action is "edit" which only gives you the options that are available when you create a grid. Instead, change the dropdown to "flatten grid"

You will then be presented with a YUI CSS template. I'm sure vBulletin gives you the information about this somewhere, but after some google searching, I found that YUI is a Yahoo standardized library which includes these template codes. The YUI information can be found at http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/

In particular, I found a basic YUI grid builder here: http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/grids/builder/ and, possibly more importantly, a cheat sheet that lets you know what things like "class=yui-b", "class="yui-t5", etc mean: http://yuiblog.com/assets/pdf/cheatsheets/css.pdf

My original post just asked about the "main" part of my layout. I actually wanted a nav section to the left (25%), main (75%) and a 240pix sidebar to the right. Inside the main part I wanted the option of 2 widget above the primary content:



Each of those blocks can be stuffed with whatever widgets you want to throw in there. It's a 100% width, 2 column(25/75) layout with 240 px sidebar, with a nested grid of one row of 2 blocks with a lower 1 column row that will have my articles.

Here's the grid code I used to achieve that layout.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
You should post this up as an article .

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=184
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08 Nov 2010, 19:33
gokhansancar's Avatar
gokhansancar gokhansancar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Can you explain this little bit more detailed
i am trying to do something like that but i can't
can you help me please


--------------- Added 09 Nov 2010 at 00:53 ---------------

ok i figured out and came up something like that


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

if u like it you can use it
__________________
TechnologyHaber.com

Last edited by gokhansancar; 09 Nov 2010 at 00:53. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: