Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 19:30
Bat21 Bat21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Server migration

I have just been notified by the data centre where my server resides that they are migrating me to new hardware. I have a dedicate server.

During the migration they are also changing the PHP and MySQL versions

I have 3 vBulletin sites the main one being 4.2.2

Will vBulletin 4.2.2 run on PHP: 5.5.32 and MySQL: 5.6

The other two sites are 3.7.4 and 3.8.5 will these run on the above too?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 19:44
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
None of those version are compatible with php 5.5. You'd need to upgrade to 4.2.3+ and 3.8.9+ respectively to be compatible with your new php version. The MySQL version should be fine for all three.

If they are going to migrate you to a new server you may want to ask them to install MariaDB instead of MySQL as the database. MariaDB is a drop in replacement (i.e. no changes need to be made to any software interacting with the database) and has a bunch of improvements.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 19:59
Bat21 Bat21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Thanks Squid, this has come at a very bad time for me

Upgrading to 4.2.3 shouldn't be a problem but where can I download 3.8.9 from for the other site. It seems the the oldest version I can see in the members area is 4.0.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 20:02
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Worst case you have to hire a developer to fix all deprecated things related to your PHP and vBulletin version.

I believe you should be able to download vBulletin 3 at the same members area at vBulletin.com?
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 20:02
Bat21 Bat21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
My current server is running PHP 5.3.27.

Do I upgrade this to 5.5.32 and then upgrade vb to 4.2.3 or do I need to do it the other way round, IE upgrade the vb to 4.2.3 then the PHP to 5.5.32?

I guess I need to do this on the old server so that my site will work as soon as it gets migrated to the new server.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 20:04
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
I don't think the PHP version matters that much in the upgrade/install system.
I personally would just upgrade PHP before upgrading vBulletin.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 20:04
Bat21 Bat21 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
.... I believe you should be able to download vBulletin 3 at the same members area at vBulletin.com?
Thanks Dave, found it now.

--------------- Added 06 Apr 2016 at 20:11 ---------------

Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I don't think the PHP version matters that much in the upgrade/install system.
I personally would just upgrade PHP before upgrading vBulletin.
Thank you once again Dave.

Would I be right in thinking if I upgrade the PHP before vBulletin, it will cause my 4.2.2 site to stop functioning until I then upgrade it to 4.2.3?

Last edited by Bat21; 06 Apr 2016 at 20:12.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06 Apr 2016, 21:51
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
The php version does matter when you upgrade since the upgrade script checks the php version and if you don't meet the check it won't do the upgrade.

Before upgrading to 4.2.3 make sure you take a full db and hd backup as some people have reported loosing attachments in the upgrade due to corrupt values in the db's filedata table.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08 Apr 2016, 00:39
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
What control panel do you have on your server? Many have the option to just choose the version of php you need once installed.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: