Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #136  
Old 11 Nov 2009, 19:37
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by php-resource.de View Post
I guess you are using the global $db within your CMS.
Try the following workaround:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


I just wanted to say that I was implementing this article with Wordpress and kept getting errors about functions_databuild.php on line 1685. So I added "global $vbulletin" and started having the issue of class_dm.php on line 177 about Registry Object. The above code worked for me.

So here's my function (A combination of those in this article for wordpress)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and I called it on wp-login.php in the register_new_user function. I added it right after the User Password Generation so I could pass it to vB.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That should help some people if you come across this :P
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 27 Nov 2009, 07:51
yappa.be yappa.be is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Hello,


A few weeks ago, we launched a website with a custom registration in stead of register.php to add new users. With the help of this forum, we succeeded without any problems.

Since last monday, the register was down. The php-code did not change so we have no clue what so ever what could be the problem.

Error code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

After doing some searching, we found that the error is generated in the function build_options in includes/adminfunctions.php. This function is called in includes/class_core.php in the function check_options.

Does anybody have an idea what could be the problem. It seems that because of some changes in the settings (or something like that), we lost our database-object but didn't change anything to the code itself.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 27 Nov 2009, 20:56
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I just happen to pass by here looking for something else and I saw your response.

Did you add a profile field, maybe?

Just a thought. If you get it figured out, please post the solution
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 01 Dec 2009, 11:09
bianca_roma bianca_roma is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by andha513 View Post
I am porting all my users from a social networking site (Drupal CMS) to our new vBulletin forum, but having a small issue.

Since all Drupal passwords are already MD5'ed, I am simply creating vBulletin users manually by connecting to the vBulletin database and inserting the appropriate data into the user-table, the userfield-table and the usertextfield-table. (Since this is what I gather from the vBulletin registration script)
The users are created fine and working well, except that all users created with my script get the "Guest" title in their forum posts. And I just can't figure out why.
There are no users in the unregistered/guest usergroup (where people are assigned the "Guest" title), so that's not it.
We have no "Guest" user title in the User Title Manager, so that's not it either.

I'm assuming I'm missing to add some data to some table for each user. Would someone here be able to offer some help?

Thanks in advance.
I have the same problem...Did you manage to resolve this issue? i'm desperate...
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 06 Jan 2010, 16:27
Iron Star's Avatar
Iron Star Iron Star is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Unfortunately, I obtain this:

Fatal error: Call to a member function do_db_fetch() on a non-object in vb_forum/includes/init.php on line 308

An idea?


Originally Posted by Crimm View Post
I just wanted to say that I was implementing this article with Wordpress and kept getting errors about functions_databuild.php on line 1685. So I added "global $vbulletin" and started having the issue of class_dm.php on line 177 about Registry Object. The above code worked for me.

So here's my function (A combination of those in this article for wordpress)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and I called it on wp-login.php in the register_new_user function. I added it right after the User Password Generation so I could pass it to vB.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That should help some people if you come across this :P
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 07 Jan 2010, 17:49
F5-MVH F5-MVH is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Read in a text file?

Using the class ForumOps (which by the way is brilliant)...... I am trying to figure out how to pass a delimited txt file of user information to it. Any help would be appreciated.

To elaborate - We have a corporate text file with the following
'user name','email address'

I need to generate new VBulletin accounts for all them.

Cheers!
Dave

Last edited by F5-MVH; 07 Jan 2010 at 22:28.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 03 Feb 2010, 16:08
lanzeym lanzeym is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Hi,

I am now able to programmatically add user by modifying script above but I have a problem when I tried to insert user from our existing database that has more than 25 character. I’m getting an error “Username cannot be longer than 25 characters”. Can you guide me on how can I disable the maximum characters allowed for username?

I have basic knowledge in php and I look through the following included files but I can't see the function for validation the maximum length.

require_once('./global.php');
require_once('./includes/class_dm.php');
require_once('./includes/class_dm_user.php');

Anybody have done this before?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 03 Feb 2010, 16:50
bigtime bigtime is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
lanzeym, sounds like you may need to make your existing database field for username larger than 25 characters.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 03 Feb 2010, 17:09
lanzeym lanzeym is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
hi bigtime!

The save() methods uses vBulletin "user" table that has varchar(100) length, so there's no need for changing field lenght. There should be a hard coded "maxlength" that I don't know where it is.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 03 Feb 2010, 17:37
bigtime bigtime is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Oops, I misunderstood. I thought you were inserting users into your existing database...
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 17:12
lanzeym lanzeym is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
here's how to remove the validation.

AdminCP > vBulletin Options > User Registration Options > Maximum Username Length
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 29 May 2010, 14:30
Tibald Tibald is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Anybody can help with code example for manual users registration and login for vb 4 ?
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 13 Jul 2010, 13:59
ilbianconiglio ilbianconiglio is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I'm trying to add a new user with VB 4.0.

I'm using the latest snippet of code but when I do $newuser->save(); it saves the record to the db but return to a Database error page ( of VB ).

What can I do?

--------------- Added 13 Jul 2010 at 14:03 ---------------

Ok maybe I solved.

For VB 4 you need to add this:

$newuser->pre_save();

before save() or checking errors

Last edited by ilbianconiglio; 13 Jul 2010 at 14:03. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 20 Jul 2010, 09:09
calwebsnc calwebsnc is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hi,
I am trying to do something similar.
I wrote a class inside a file in the main directory of my forum.
This is the code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I receive this error:
Fatal error: Call to a member function do_db_fetch() on a non-object in /var/www/cyberludus.com/system/forum/includes/init.php on line 308

Where I do wrong?
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 23 Nov 2010, 14:32
epolitica epolitica is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The code seems to be working, but when in debug mode a lot of notices show up. I`d rather they shouldn`t:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Then I got a question, is it possibile to add an user in an inactive state, and only after a third party email validation, enable him/her? I couldn`t find any column in the vb_user table that indicates this active/inactive state, any help?

Last edited by epolitica; 23 Nov 2010 at 14:53.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: