Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #121  
Old 10 Apr 2009, 23:42
tomypro tomypro is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
update of whos online status

Hi,

Im using ArbuZz's code base and its working create; i am using it as well as a SSO bridge between my app and the integrated vbulletin board.

Once thing i would like to achieve is that as soon as I trigger the login call for a user through my busines logic not only the session cookie is set but that that partiular users appears as online within vbulletin as well.

Is this something that can be achieved through the Data API as well?

//Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 04 May 2009, 21:50
nessur nessur is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Thank you, and thank you! This fixed my problem.

Originally Posted by harty83 View Post
Just as a FYI, the first line (global $vbulletin) is not necessary. That was overlooked on my part. The full code that got it working is


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thanks!
Alan
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 12 May 2009, 14:33
galt galt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
WHy is this so hard??

After hours of hacking at this, I am once again stuck. I have included this code in my CMS.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


and lower down

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

When the second block of code executes, I get the error:

Database object is not an object in [path]/includes/class_dm.php on line 172

I am stumped. I tried adding the global hack referenced a few posts back, and it did nothing for me. I am spending more time trying to get VB rgistration integrated that I am writing my entire CMS!!! ARRRGGGHHH !!!!! I would gladly pay someone to do this for me if I could find them.
**********************************
Nevermind. I just wrote my own object. WAY faster and easier.

Last edited by galt; 12 May 2009 at 18:56.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 13 May 2009, 09:54
php-resource.de's Avatar
php-resource.de php-resource.de is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by galt View Post
After hours of hacking at this, I am once again stuck. I have included this code in my CMS.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


and lower down

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

When the second block of code executes, I get the error:

Database object is not an object in [path]/includes/class_dm.php on line 172

I am stumped. I tried adding the global hack referenced a few posts back, and it did nothing for me. I am spending more time trying to get VB rgistration integrated that I am writing my entire CMS!!! ARRRGGGHHH !!!!! I would gladly pay someone to do this for me if I could find them.
**********************************
Nevermind. I just wrote my own object. WAY faster and easier.
I guess you are using the global $db within your CMS.
Try the following workaround:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 13 May 2009, 10:43
galt galt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Thanks. I had already tried that, then removed it. That was my reference to "the global hack referenced a few posts back". It did not help. At this point I am creating a new user and maintaining critical fields managed with some SQL directly into the vB database. As soon as I figure out cookies and login, I am good to go. That is, until vB changes the user scheme, at which time i will have an ongoing maintenance nightmare. OTOH it took me 2-3 hours to figure out and write the custom code from scratch, and I spent many more hours than that (and got more frustrated) trying to research and utilize the VB object library.

Added -----

After more review, I see that you added lines relating to $backupdb. That may have done the trick, but dealing with vB and its programming philosophy is just a nightmare, and I am too close to done to go backwards again. Thanks for your effort though.

Last edited by galt; 13 May 2009 at 10:48.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 05 Aug 2009, 22:05
andha513 andha513 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Another one on adding users

I am porting all my users from a social networking site (Drupal CMS) to our new vBulletin forum, but having a small issue.

Since all Drupal passwords are already MD5'ed, I am simply creating vBulletin users manually by connecting to the vBulletin database and inserting the appropriate data into the user-table, the userfield-table and the usertextfield-table. (Since this is what I gather from the vBulletin registration script)
The users are created fine and working well, except that all users created with my script get the "Guest" title in their forum posts. And I just can't figure out why.
There are no users in the unregistered/guest usergroup (where people are assigned the "Guest" title), so that's not it.
We have no "Guest" user title in the User Title Manager, so that's not it either.

I'm assuming I'm missing to add some data to some table for each user. Would someone here be able to offer some help?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 07 Sep 2009, 15:22
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
Originally Posted by andha513 View Post
We have no "Guest" user title in the User Title Manager, so that's not it either.

I'm assuming I'm missing to add some data to some table for each user. Would someone here be able to offer some help?
I assume you fixed your problem by now.

If not, you have to set the usergroup id for each member:
$newuser->set('usergroupid', 2);
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 07 Sep 2009, 15:45
andha513 andha513 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by ringleader View Post
I assume you fixed your problem by now.

If not, you have to set the usergroup id for each member:
$newuser->set('usergroupid', 2);
Thanks, but I do set the usergroup id for each member (to 2).
Problem not really solved, but vBulletin's own "fix broken user profiles" feature does correct the user profiles, and I'm ok with this for now.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 07 Sep 2009, 16:01
ringleader's Avatar
ringleader ringleader is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Fran
usergroupid=2 is normally the default setting for the 'registered users' group.

Go to http://www.YourForumAddressHere.com/....php?do=modify and use whichever number for the usergroupid that you want to set for each member you're importing.

The usergroupid sets the permissions that you want the user to have on the forums.
Is that clearer for you?
__________________
Awesome. Awesome to the max.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 07 Sep 2009, 16:39
andha513 andha513 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
I appreciate the effort, but I am aware of all this. Unless there is another database table related to the usergroups, the usergroups do not seem to be the problem here.


Originally Posted by ringleader View Post
usergroupid=2 is normally the default setting for the 'registered users' group.

Go to http://www.YourForumAddressHere.com/....php?do=modify and use whichever number for the usergroupid that you want to set for each member you're importing.

The usergroupid sets the permissions that you want the user to have on the forums.
Is that clearer for you?
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 14 Sep 2009, 12:15
mikesharp mikesharp is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Is there an update on a working version of this for 3.8.x ???

thanks all

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 14 Sep 2009, 14:16
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Originally Posted by mikesharp View Post
Is there an update on a working version of this for 3.8.x ???

thanks all

Mike
No, the code is still working
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 24 Sep 2009, 14:30
webtechuser webtechuser is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I cant login from the site page using the user wich i have created according the way described above...can somebody plz help me
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 27 Sep 2009, 14:56
damianzaremba4 damianzaremba4 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I get the error
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Every time I try to run the code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any one got an idea why?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 30 Sep 2009, 17:25
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Any one got an idea why?
Yep - Variable Scope.

Booting vBulletin from non-global scope is a bit tricky.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: