Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
Disable AdminCP Login Timeout
Andreas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,863

Germany
by Andreas Andreas is offline 02 Sep 2005

Warning
Using this is a security risk, so please only use it if you know what you are doing!

You are developing vBulletin Stuff on localhost, are running in Debug mode and like me you find it damn annoying having to log in "all the Time", even though the Browser never gets closed?

Then you can use the attached Plugin to disable the Timeout.
When it is installed, you don't have to login again as long as you have the Cookie.
Attached Files
File Type: xml disabletimeout.xml (662 Bytes, 276 views)
Views: 5490
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 02 Sep 2005, 12:57
FrozenCreations FrozenCreations is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
thankyou kirby! i dident know you could do this, i was thinking about that last night!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02 Sep 2005, 21:18
Gray Matter Gray Matter is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Thanks for this. I find it quite annoying to have to log in all the time as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Sep 2005, 21:24
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Isn't there a setting for this already in the vb options?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Sep 2005, 22:13
Gray Matter Gray Matter is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by Boofo
Isn't there a setting for this already in the vb options?
You're right.

It's the second option under "Admin Control Panel Options".

Still, that option only disables the timeout for an hour. Perhaps this plugin Kirby provided disables it indefinitely.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Sep 2005, 04:50
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Yes. It disables the Timeout - until you loose the Cookie.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Oct 2005, 07:37
Primal Rage's Avatar
Primal Rage Primal Rage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
I installed this plug in, yet i still get logged out after an hour. Once i install the plugin is there a setting somewhere i need to change??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Oct 2005, 10:09
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
You are operating in debug mode?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Oct 2005, 17:06
Primal Rage's Avatar
Primal Rage Primal Rage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
You are operating in debug mode?
I assume this only applies in debug mode after re-reading your initial post. None the less i have managed to achieve what i was looking for

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 00:51
Nullifi3d Nullifi3d is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Jason
Question: Is it a huge security risk to disable admincp timeout from the option in the admincp? I'm not going to install this hack, but as of right now I am always editing templates and such in the admincp and find it very annoying when I get a login page after spending several minutes editing one template.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 00:53
TCM TCM is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 3.6.8
Originally Posted by Nullifi3d
Question: Is it a huge security risk to disable admincp timeout from the option in the admincp? I'm not going to install this hack, but as of right now I am always editing templates and such in the admincp and find it very annoying when I get a login page after spending several minutes editing one template.
If you install this hack, be even more sure than usual to log out when you're using a public computer.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 00:58
Nullifi3d Nullifi3d is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Jason
Originally Posted by TCM
If you install this hack, be even more sure than usual to log out when you're using a public computer.
I'm not going to install it. Thanks for the tip though. And I never log into the admincp from any other computer then my own.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 00:58
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
Hey nice hack...
What's the point in !is_array($vbulletin->userinfo) ??? Thanks.
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 01:03
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Well, fetch_userinfo() might be called several times from within ACP.
This check makes sure the query will only be executed if this call is the initial call to get the userinfo for the viewing user
But I guess just !$vbulletin->userinfo might work as well and cause less overhead.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06 Oct 2005, 03:02
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Is there a way to have a setting or a link to turn this on and off?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
Extended timeout for whois online without changing cookie timeout Jakeman vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 21 30 Nov 2006 03:38



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:06.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: